L.A. Colors • 12 palette e/s in traditional • Eye Shadow

rated 4.0(84 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hayleyelwick on 12/15/2014 10:33:00 PM more reviews by hayleyelwick

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I picked this up at family dollar, and while checking out, my phone was stolen. I can't hold that to the palettes account, but still, looking at this thing is a little bittersweet.

I mean seriously....

L.A colors palette- $1.50
Replacement phone- $150

That was the price I paid to attain this little plastic container of mediocre eyeshadows. What a sick joke.

Anyway, I picked this up especially to write a review about! This is for one reason, and one reason only- they reformulated, and repackaged!!

Lately L.A. colors has been upping their makeup game. I feel like they are moving up in the cosmetic industry, however their products still remain hit and miss. This palette is unfortunately a miss....but come on, it's like a dollar, so I can't really complain that much.

The new packaging is nothing special, just a little smaller and thinner. Nothing spectacular, but still somewhat better. The new formulation however, leaves a lot to be desired!

Don't get me wrong, some shades are really great, but they all have a sheen or shimmer. In the old palette, there were some satin mattes, which were a great addition. In this new palette, every single shade has a noticable sheen. It's not a huge deal I guess, but if you want to create a look with this one palette, a couple mattes will definitely be necessary, so I always have to add a couple shades in from other palettes. This is a downside for me, because with 12 different shades, you should be able to create a look with the one palette and nothing else.

Another thing is the pigmentation- or should I say the lack thereof. And yes, I KNOW they are only a dollar, so it wouldn't be that big of a deal, but the fact is, the old formula had better pigmentation. The fact that this new formula is a downgrade is such a dissapointment. I had really great hopes, I mean they have those fabulous new eyeshadow pencils, and the trios are so good, and the old version of this was pretty good, so I figured it would just get better. Oh well..

Anyway I have attached some photos of the pallete itself and swatches. Keep in mind, some of these I went over the swatches twice so you could see them. Hopefully this helped you, because I paid $151.50 to write this review for you people, technically.

If you want to see the swatches, just click the "continued" link down below :)




2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AndiSaysHi on 12/7/2014 10:54:00 AM more reviews by AndiSaysHi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

So what if this isn't in glamorous packaging, and is dirt cheap! This has a wide variety of neutrals, which is what I wear daily, and the best part, is that these are matte! Matte shadows look more natural and don't enhance fine lines like shimmery shadows do. The pigmentation is average, and the texture is slightly chalky, but this doesn't crease, flake, or fade like some other shadows do. Thank you to the reviewer below who gave me the idea of using this as a brow powder too, I don't know why I didn't think of that! I got mine at Dollar General, and I think it was only $1! That's just crazy for a 12 pan of e/s!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 860Diamond on 11/9/2014 6:55:00 PM more reviews by 860Diamond

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great eyeshadow palette. The colors are nice and neutral and they have good pigmentation. I use one of the shadows as a brow powder, another as an eyeshadow and a third as an eyeliner with a wet brush.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 skylalavigne on 11/5/2014 6:13:00 PM more reviews by skylalavigne

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

packaging is great, price is even better, but the eyeshadows are meh. they have medium-ish pigmentation, but are build-able. colors are great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* andToto2 on 9/26/2014 8:28:00 PM more reviews by andToto2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I picked up two of these palettes at Dollar Tree. I figured they had to be junk, but was in a mood to try something new, and for a buck a piece? Why not? I'm really quite shocked at how much I actually like them. This one is a great mix of brown tones. Decent amount of pigmentation, go on pretty smoothly, look very pretty on. I have extremely oily lids, so primer is a must with any shadow. Is this the highest quality shadow? No, but it's surprisingly good for the price, and especially with the other palettes, a good way to have some fun and try some different colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valmont32677 on 4/17/2014 7:53:00 PM more reviews by valmont32677

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

49 cents at walgreens on sale!! I didn't know that walgreens carried LA Colors, as I think these may be left over Xmas stock. I basically will only wear brown or white eyeshadow (once in awhile other colors like black but neutral browns are my go-to), so these colors are totally in my wheelhouse & I actually didn't have much for duplicates as these shades aren't frosty or glittery & that's mostly what I have. This is a really good palette. The colors have good staying power, I wear them over LA Colors eyelid primer. Are they UD, Clinique, EL, VS, etc quality? NO! But very nice for DS makeup, I will def repurchase. I wear each shade by itself mostly. They are quite pigmented & I am a big LA Colors fan in general. For a buck I don't think ppl will be disappointed. You could wear these day or night any occasion really. I wear them w black liquid eyeliner & black mascara. (Short story) My father bought me my 1st Traditional palette, used up, replaced on a whim but glad I did replace because my father has good taste in makeup colors! So sentimental value here. But YES go get this palette! I wouldn't bother with the other palettes because I thought the other colors were garish. But i will always keep one of this palette around.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gennycool on 4/5/2014 9:25:00 PM more reviews by Gennycool

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I like it but really need a good primer under as i have oily skin. I got the supernatural palette with greenish grey shades. Those are the only kind of colours i wear so i like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Primpology on 10/2/2013 4:40:00 PM more reviews by Primpology

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

You simply cannot beat the price. I paid under $1 for this and after shoving it in a drawer for the summer I pulled it out to use the colors for base colors for my lid. They blend well, go great with the shadows that I have in my collection and have saved me a bunch of money on individual shades that I would need for lids and transition colors to make the perfect smokey eye with what I already own.

Just a ton of fun for under a buck!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissRaffix3 on 4/12/2013 11:41:00 PM more reviews by MissRaffix3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Great product! The shadows are far more pigmented than I expected. They last on the lid quite well also, even without a primer underneath. The colors in this palette range from peaches to dark browns. They are mostly matte, but some have shimmer. Perfect for every day looks as well as more dramatic evening looks.
For only $1, this is an excellent buy! I definitely recommend this!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rikki1290 on 3/26/2013 12:30:00 AM more reviews by Rikki1290

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I really do like these eyeshadows. They show up nicely and it is only $1!! I took a lippie off because each shadow is small so they run our fast :/ But I would highly suggest going out and getting as many different colts of these as you can :D

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L.A. Colors products

More Eye Shadow products