Kiehl's Yerba Mate Tea Cleanser

3.4

20 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/30/2013 10:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Love this face wash. I use it in the morning just to freshen up and it leaves my skin radiant and soft. The best part is it is non drying. I wouldn't recommend this for end of day makeup removal cleansing and it shouldn't be used as such anyways; it doesn't state it's used for makeup removal. It is a bit pricey, think I paid $68nzd but for the amount you get totally worth it. Only thing that is a slight negative is the bottle design one you get through most of the product have to give it a good shake to get the rest out. Will definitely repurchase but I have the kiehls rare earth pore cleanser sitting in the cupboard!



on 4/29/2013 6:46:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

First of all, it is a very good thing that Kiehl's allows you to try their product first before buying the actual thing by occasionally letting walk-in clients get a hold of some free samples. Hence, I tried mine as a sample. Since my skin is the combination-oily type, I got even oilier skin after around three washes so it was a no-no for me. Another downside is that the smell kind of reminded me of dishwashing liquid so I wasn't exactly that excited to use it that much. Anyways, thanks to Kiehl's for letting me try this first. I ain't buying the big one but I'm still a fan of their other products.


on 1/1/2013 12:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

A gel like consistency. Didn't dry out and cleansed also the eye make well. I want my cleanser to take everything off and don't want to use many different products to remove the make up. The scent was mild but at first i thought it was a bit weird. I got used to it after using it few times. It was really nice cleanser and there's nothing wrong with it but it wasn't spectacular and also there are good ones that doesn't cost this much. I like to try different things out so that is why i bought this.


on 11/6/2010 8:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I'm on my second round of this cleanser. I have combination skin with an oily T-zone. I tried the sample given to me a couple of years ago and I loved how smooth and soft my skin felt afterwards.
I love the smell and consistency. My only issue is that it doesn't control my breakouts so I may have to change cleanser after it runs out. Also, the flip-top on my first bottle broke and it spilt all over my luggage (the toner did the same), so I'm being very careful with my current one.
Overall, a good cleanser for when my skin isn't acting up as it makes my skin glow and feel baby soft.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/3/2010 6:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I use both Yerba Mate cleanser and Yerba Mate toner. I really like both. The cleanser has a gel like texture and has a mild yet very pleasant tea scent. It does a great job removing my makeup. It never broke out my skin and yes, I do have acne prone skin. It is a very gentle cleanser which is perfect if you have sensitive skin. Highly recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/25/2010 11:16:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this cleanser, the kind of cleanser i always look for. I'm south east asian woman with combination skin and prone to whiteheads, acne, rashes sometime, quite sensitive skin i have. This cleanser really leave my skin cleans and doesn't have a feeling that we have a squeaky layer on top of skin after wash. Just feeling clean and ready for toner, serum, or misturizer. A bit expensive though.


on 3/10/2010 8:19:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this cleanser hoping it was going to be perfect for my skin (combination, oily in some dry in others). However after just using this cleanser once I developed a rough, dry, bumpy patch on my face. It looked like what resembled a rash. I wanted to like it so much that i used it again that night and next morning but nope it just made the area more irritated. So I am afraid it is going back to the store. However the smell is lovely and the consistency is nice and the price really isn't that bad for the size because you really only need a little amount for the whole of your face. If only it didn't give my face a red rash..


BD

on 2/9/2010 11:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

General info: I have very dry, very sensitive skin,with a tendency to get blackheads on my nose and sometimes on my chin, too (even though I get dry patches on them!)

I bought this Yerba Mate Tea cleanser February 2009, so that's the first thing I can say about it: it lasts a long time: I still have a little less than a bottle left. The good thing aboutthis cleanser is that it doesn't prompt any allergic reaction: my skin is "selective", I have no idea why it sometimes reacts to some products, even if they're hypoallergenic. It's a good cleanser and does what it says it does: gently remove excess oil and residue. This cleanser is also supposed to "help reveal skin's natural radiance" and promote skin vivacity...and it does, more or less. I mean, my skin *does* looks clearer and brighter than before, but nothing dramatic either. It doesn't work miracles and my skin definitely doesn't glow as I thought it would.
On the down side, I find this a bit on the drying side. At first it was perfect, because I used it in themorning and cleansed with a micellar lotion in the night, but using the Yerba mate tea cleanser both in the morning and the night has rather dried out my skin. It's now summer where I live and even with the hot and dry weather and my skin getting slightly oiler it feels tight and uncomfortable. Then again it might be the moisturizer I'm using.
So 3 lippies, it's an ok quality-price ratio, a very lasting cleanser, but I think I'll try with creamier stuff for me.


on 4/6/2009 3:51:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This cleanser does a good job on my oily skin. It cleans well and has a light scent. I did not find it drying or irritating to my rosacea. I gave it a 3 as its about $20 US for 8 oz. and at that price point I want more "wow". But overall a good basic cleanser.


on 2/8/2009 6:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Pretty good no frills cleanser. I was looking to try a new morning cleanser and decided to get some advice from the Kiehls sales person. I wanted something that lathers up and she suggested this because my skin is sensitive. This does lather up nicely and it is non-irritating - it rinses off cleanly without making my skin dry. I like the light scent - reminds me of green tea. I have also tried using this to clean off makeup in the evenings and it's quite effective for taking off even my eye makeup. I am not a fan of the flip top lid - I wish it had a pump for ease of use. I've been using this cleanser daily for about 4 months and I still have half of the bottle left. For $28 Cdn, the 250ml bottle is quite affordable.


Back to Top