Montale Chocolate Greedy

3.2

16 reviews

37% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/26/2015 11:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I was so excited to get my sample in the mail....only to be disappointed. It smells dead on like Cocoa Pebbles cereal and oranges on me. Just that and nothing more. I've been wearing it for maybe twenty minutes and I'm already developing a headache. Just too cloying for me. So sad!



on 7/2/2014 6:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Smells like chocolate chip cookies. It's fantastic. Many people comment on how lovely the scent in and the bonus is you can spritz yourself as much as you like as it's not cloying.
The fragrance has staying power too.
Bottle looks utilitarian in it's silver colour.
The designers made this little release the reminds me of a grenade release. So it's like a "scent bomb", cheeky humour.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/23/2013 1:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is seriously disappointing as it loses its oomph rapidly. With multiple generous spritzes I first get an inviting dark chocolate, or buttery dark chocolate biscuits with some hazelnut. It's a seductive gourmand (seducing either you the gourmand lover or the gourmand lover's partner who likes yummy things). It smells of chocolate; unashamed, unabashed and even chic (to the degree the idea applies to a chocolate gourmand of course). However, be ready to be betrayed and left out in the cold because if you do not have the right chemistry, it will first start to smell somehow flat and weak like Sephora's super affordable milk chocolate note (that unfortuately disappears very quickly). Then there's a phase of vanillic nothingness. I expect more than this at this price range, so it's a no buy for me. The search for 'the' chocolate continues...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

In the first 10 or 15 minutes, Chocolate Greedy smells rich, warm and dark chocolate. I get a lot of coco and nutty notes. I would have rated it 5 stars if it stayed like that. After 15 minutes, it turns into a synthetic mess. I feel cheated, as if a piece of mouth-watering praline from my favorite chef turned out to be just some mass-market junk food made of poor ingredients.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Notes: coffee, cacao, tonka bean, bitter orange, vanilla and dried fruits.

This fragrance opens with a delicious gourmand accord. Notes of milk chocolate, roasted hazelnuts, vanilla and sugared cream create the mouth-watering olfactory illusion of praline. As the notes bloom on my skin, the hazelnuts supersede the chocolate and the praline aroma transforms into the Christmassy smell of sugar-coated roasted almonds. The ousted milk chocolate note returns during the last stage of the scentís development, making for nutty, vaguely chocolaty dry-down. Although the scent is quite strong at first, it becomes progressively quieter, staying close to the skin. Lasts eight hours on my skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/16/2011 8:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Notes: moka bean, bitter orange, cacao cream, vanilla from Madagascar

I'm not a giant chocolate lover, but I do love vanilla and comfort scents. I couldn't resist the reviews that described this as a dead ringer for cocoa puffs or Palmer's cocoa butter, since I love both scents.

The best part of this fragrance is the first minute of wear: It's a boozy, dark chocolate and coffee bean scent, rich and smooth and lovely, but not too sweet at all. This is the only stage of the scent in which it's overtly gourmand, yet not kitsch or too literal.

As the booziness and coffee quality fades (far too quickly!!), I'm left with the scent of straight-up dark chocolate, rich but very dark and slightly stale. If you like the scent of pure dark chocolate, you'll enjoy this fragrance, but I like softer scents--milk chocolate, let's say, and for me the "chocolate bar" scent is far too literal. I feel like there's ways to evoke the smooth, comforting, delicious smell of chocolate without smelling like you actually smeered a dark chocolate bar on your arm.

The drydown, after hours and hours of wear, is also quite lovely. It's a faint chocolate and vanilla, but of course I would like more vanilla and find the chocolate bar quality too overwhelming.

Overall, I never got chocolate cereal or Palmer's from this, but rather a rich, dark chocolate bar that I enjoy but don't particularly want in a fragrance.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/29/2010 1:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Black

This is pretty good. I don't think i'm a big fan of cocoa/chocolate scents persay, even though im a huge gourmand fan. I'd rather just eat the real thing :) This fragrance is a dead ringer for cocoa puffs cereal and cocoa pebbles cereal. I can really smell the bitter orange and cream come through..yummy. I can also detect some type of floral also.
It's not a fake cocoa scent at all, to me. Very authentic and has some depth, which makes it more.."mature", unlike alot of other chocolate fragrances out there. It's also not over the top sweet, which is good, if you like your gourmands milder. (I love Montale :). Chocolate Greedy, though good, i wish it were a bit more potent..stronger..sweeter..more smoldering lol. Call me crazy, but i think i'd much more prefer Serendipitious as my go to chocolate fragrance over this. It's sweeter (which i like) than CG, but CG is also a very good quality chocolate choice. I think i might have to buy a full bottle of this...it's kind of addicting :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/12/2010 1:57:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Other

I'm puzzled by the poor reviews for this fragrance. It's a lovely cocoa scent rounded off with a buttery, egg-like note that is reminiscent of chocolate custard. Perhaps it's the egg custard vibe that throws people for a loop.

As far as chocolate scents go, I prefer Guerlain Gourmand Coquin over this one, but this is a close second for deliciousness.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/18/2009 1:17:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I can smell a little orange at the start and then it morphs into a sweet floral mix, with no chocolate or cocoa. The powdery floral starts to fade after a couple of hours but still not much cocoa or chocolate its smells very sweet like a packet of vanilla cake mix with a hint of cocoa butter and an occasional whiff of lilies that have been sitting in a vase for too long. Its not what I was expecting and I don't think i will repurchase when my sample runs out!


on 8/2/2008 1:16:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I should love this for it's name alone. I am a true chocolate connoisseur and only wear gourmand fragrances, so naturally I was excited when this first came out. That excitement came to a screeching halt after I received a sample from Luckyscent. The bottle itself is quite unique looking and the name suggests an endless dance with ribbons of pure silky chocolate. I was ready to be swept away by the scent of chocolate, but instead I got something completely unexpected. This was nothing more than a tootsie roll from start to finish. (dead on in fact). It smells exactly like a tootsie roll with the faint scent of whatever oil they use in the background (much like CSP's fragrances where the oil base always seems to interfere somewhat with the notes themselves). I expected so much more from this scent (at the very least some chocolate). I got absolutely no chocolate whatsoever. It's not that it's an unpleasant scent, however it is a disappointment nonetheless. This also has no depth, no staying power and very little life. I'll stick with my beloved Copponeur Eau De Cacao, though I will always be on the lookout for a true chocolate scent should it ever materialize in the form of anything other than just a great name. The only thing "greedy" here is what Montale charges for a fragrance that smells like a cheap tootsie roll.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
139 Reviews
No.5
No.5
943 Reviews
Si
Si
44 Reviews
Back to Top