Badger • SPF 30 • Sunscreen

rated 2.8(48 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.37%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 Jaded81 on 10/10/2013 10:13:00 AM more reviews by Jaded81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a review for the Badger Broad Spectrum SPF30 Aloe Sunscreen in the green tube.

Pros: Contains a high percentage of Zinc Oxide (provides full protection from UVA & UVB rays). Uses all natural and mostly organic ingredients.

Cons: Dry texture, making it a little difficult to apply. Patchy, leaves a noticeable white cast and slight film. A stronger cleanser or even make up remover is required for removal. Friction can cause sunscreen to rub off (which is ironic as it is pretty difficult to cleanse off).

Actives: Uncoated, Non-Nano Zinc Oxide 12%

Others: *Aloe Barbadensis (Organic Aloe) Juice, *Helianthus Annuus (Organic Sunflower) Oil, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Oleosomes, *Sucrose Cocoate (from Organic Coconut), Water, Microcrystalline Cellulose, Citric Acid (from Non-GMO Corn), Leuconostoc Ferment Filtrate (from Radish), *Glycerin (from Sustainable Organic Palm), *Aloe Barbadensis (Organic Aloe) Extract, Tocopherol (Sunflower Vitamin E), Gluconolactone (from Non-GMO Corn), Xanthan Gum, *Lecithin (from Organic Soybean), Cellulose Gum. * = Certified Organic

Update:
I have been using this daily on my body. I find that mixing a couple of drops of oil (I use Jojoba) to the sunscreen helps with the spreadability, makes application more even and sunscreen easier to remove.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bellasera973 on 8/30/2013 2:40:00 AM more reviews by bellasera973

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This sunscreen was horrible. It was incredibly thick, and white, and hard to rub in. But MORE IMPORTANTLY: it did NOT work. My fiance used it today while outside at his job, and applied it twice, and came home completely beat red. He's burnt as if he never wore any sunblock at all. So disappointing, considering the reason we bought this brand was because it was considered safe and had low toxicity. But if it doesn't protect your skin from the sun, it's freaking useless.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 iamommy on 5/24/2013 10:24:00 PM more reviews by iamommy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I'm torn when it comes to this sunscreen. I bought it to use on my 2 year old because it lacks a lot of the usual chemicals so that's definitely awesome. I quickly realized this was not going to work for myson because it's so thick and greasy and trying to apply anything to his skin is like a race. This just takes too long to really rub in well to where I feel it would be effective.

I have very dry skin so I decided to try this on myself and switched him to trukid natural sunscreen. Anyway, this is definitely hydrating and doesn't have that weird sunscreen smell that others do, but I felt like my face was melting after awhile. If I go very light and sort of pat on a thin layer and work it in, I can use it on my face and without breakouts.

It's one I would repurchase for winter when my skin is really dry and I want some sun protection for face and neck, but there are better brands of natural sunscreen for summer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AJ6488 on 5/1/2013 4:26:00 PM more reviews by AJ6488

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This review is for the new Badger's daily sunscreen spf 30 in a green tube (claims to be non comedogenic and can be worn under makeup).

I have to agree with others, I hated this product at first I got it. I wanted this product for so long but it was hard to find a retailer in Canada. I attempted to purchase it online but it always seems to be out of stock. And finally, I found this with a few other Badger sunscreens retailed in London Drugs. I was sooo... excited like I had found the gold mine. However, working with it had been extremely hard for me, it was impossible to apply it evenly, and it always ended up small white pieces so I had to wash it off my face and tried to apply again. The new formula feels super dry also, even it claims can be worn under makeup, it makes my foundation appear cakey on my face. In one point I was almost going to return it, but this is such a wonderful natural gem to me that I wouldn't give it up unless I tried my best. Then I saw the review on MUA and learned that I need to warm it up in my palms then gentlely put my hands over my face and letting the heat melts the product into my skin. Wow, it really works, now it even can be applied on top of makeup nicely so I won't have problem to reapply it when I'm outside. Also I always wait till my moisturiser absorbs completely at first then apply the sunscreen, and make sure just use a small amount.

I love my badger sunscreen now, sure you can't compare it with all other sunscreens in the market for easy application, fast absorbing, etc, but which sunscreen can compare with badger when it comes to caring for our health, our animal and our environment? I'm sure they are still working hard on innovating the formula to do a better job. But so far, this is what natural can provide to us. I don't care about all the sunscreen benefits made from all kinds of chemicals (seriously, read the ingredient label on the sunscreens out there HE or drugstore, I doubt it that you still want to put it on your skin), as long as Badger is still making sunscreen, I will keep supporting and repurchasing.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glitteralex on 1/3/2013 2:57:00 AM more reviews by glitteralex

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Let me start out by saying I hated this product for a good 6 months....all the usual complaints; must knead the tube to get product out, product gooey and thick, skin white, pet hair sticks to face, ruins dark clothes, etc. However, I stuck it out because I had bought a case of the Baby formula with chamomile and it is very natural and PC. So....fast forward 6 months to noticeably smoother skin. Here is the protocol:

1) Wash face and keep hair off face and clothes away from face

2) Apply antioxidant serum of choice. Let it absorb.

3) Put a pea-sized amount of Badger in hands and warm product up until all the bumps are melted.

4) Pat and gently smooth all over face, neck & eye area.

5) Let dry for at least 10 minutes before letting clothing touch face or applying foundation over it, which I do. It works very well as a primer with my La Mer foundation.

Another few notes: This works excellent on dry skin, in dry climates, and in the cold weather. If you are acne-prone or live in melting hot weather, likely this will be too gooey for you.

Also, I am a fan of laser treatments and peels. This sunblock is brilliant for post-peel use, as the chamomile soothes and the natural ingredients do not irritate the skin. In this case, melt the product really well in your hand and pat on- no rubbing until skin is healed.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jellyblob on 1/1/2013 2:44:00 PM more reviews by Jellyblob

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love the concept, hate the execution. I know this is one of the safest sunscreens out there but it is too greasy and tacky to feel comfortable wearing it. And I am dry/combination! I can see it working if your skin is ultra dry and you don't ever need to wear any makeup on your face cos with an oily base like that, your foundation will break up regardless of what primer you use. So will your mascara, your eye shadow and so on. Melting face = not a good look.


I tried to use the rest of the tube on my arms and legs but it smeared on to my clothes when they brushed against my skin and I ended up with sticky skin and clothes! If they reformulate this, I'll be in the first in line to buy it because I support companies that are ethical with regards to people, animals and the environment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lady_muimui on 9/18/2012 10:31:00 AM more reviews by lady_muimui

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I would like to say this is a great product, but I can't. I LOVE that it's natural, but I HATE that it makes your face white. I'm a pretty sun-killed Asian, so this really didn't work well on my complexion. It almost made me look gray. I had to "water" it down with jojoba oil or some other type of oil to lessen the white overcast, but it just made my already oily face super shiny.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rhody on 8/17/2012 10:43:00 AM more reviews by rhody

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Completely hideous. There is not much to add to the other negative reviews: this is shockingly greasy, smelly, heavy, occlusive, and leaves a white cast. Also, despite the good safety ratings this receives, I got a LOT of colour while wearing this.

Adding insult to injury, this sunscreen completely ruined a gorgeous new bathing suit by staining it with oil. I have tried to get the stains out but the suit (an expensive one from J Crew) is ruined. That should give you an indication of how oily this stuff is.

I don't think I have ever hated a sunscreen as much as this one, and I am no stranger to natural products. There are WAY better natural sunscreens out there. All Terrain Aqua sunscreen is mineral-based and does not leave any greasy finish.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SkinCareAficionado on 8/5/2012 4:32:00 PM more reviews by SkinCareAficionado

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a review for the Badger SPF 30 Unscented Sunscreen, although all of their sunscreen products are virtually the same.

About the product: (see their website also) This sunscreen is labeled as PA+++ (Asian rating) UVA 4/5 (European Rating) SPF 30. It uses Non-nano (but micronized) Uncoated Zinc Oxide at 18.75% as the sun screen and should retain this after 40 minutes of sweat or swimming.

Not tested on animals, certified by the natural products association and recycled packaging. The other ingredients are organic: Olive Oil, Beeswax, (the same as their balms which means it is gloopy and heavy - shouldn't they have have selected a base of ingredients which would be lighter?) Jojoba Oil, Cocoa butter (may be pore clogging) Shea butter, Tocopherol and Seabuckthorn (great antioxidants).

Price: It cost 12 for a 87ml tube quite expensive even to other mineral sunscreens.

It comes in a soft, squeezy tube with Badger's typical lovely artwork, you will have to spend a lot of time kneeding before each use otherwise you will get rough Shea butter particles and separated Olive Oil. It is quite white and shiny (as expected due to the zinc) although a nuisance you can rub in to make it disappear a certain amount but this may be reassuring for those who want to see their protection from the zinc and slippyness helps it to be water resistant, although I didn't try it in the sun I bought it for everyday use so I don't know how well it would work for hot sunshine preventing sunburn. I stopped using it as makeup will slip off after using it (although I didn't experience any balling up) you will look greasy, and fluff or dirt will stick into the areas where you have applied it unfortunately - I can't use it near wool let alone near sand. TERRIBLE for acne. I have never got spots on my neck after using this for 2 days I notice painful small bumps and milia appearing not only my face but on my spot free neck, this took 2 months (too long!) to go and never came back.

In summary** I wouldn't recommend this, they should have used a different combination of ingredients instead of basically making a balm with zinc in it, who wants to apply a balm anywhere except their lips and cuticles? Nice philosophy and attempt but terrible execution.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kokolani on 5/19/2012 3:09:00 PM more reviews by kokolani

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I just got this for my young son, i would never put these ingredients near my face in 100 years. it is sooo white and greasy. it was rubbing off on our clothes and not even staying on it was so slippery. i don't even see how this could protect since it rubs off so easily. i doubt i'll be using this because, though it is rated highly for safety, i dont trust it is protecting him after my 1st look at it and now since reading the reviews, i am returning this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Badger products

More Sunscreen products