GHD • IV Styler (all sizes) • Hair Styling Tools

rated 4.6(254 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Mummykel25 on 1/1/2014 8:26:00 AM more reviews by Mummykel25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've used ghd for as long as I can remember so I didn't think I'd have a problem when I had to finally replace my old ones, I went for this styler instead of the original that I use to have and it's the worst thing I ever did! What happened ghd? the original styler was perfect my hair was smooth and frizz free, the IV styler tugs on my hair and leaves frizz that I never usually have a problem with. Not worth the buying at all, when I have the money ill be going back to the original and hoping these haven't been changed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* satin828 on 9/27/2013 8:20:00 AM more reviews by satin828

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I bought the GHD IV Styler thanks to all the great reviews on MUA and am really glad I did! What initially attracted me to GHD was the dual voltage system. I travel between Europe and North America frequently and need something that works with both voltages. I bought my GHD from Amazon UK for 90£, pretty good price compared to what people pay for in North America I guess. It is a British brand after all. The packaging is beautiful - a nice black box with gold lettering.

I have waist-length, naturally straight hair and mainly bought this flat iron for curling my hair. Sometimes I use this to smooth out the kink in my hair from hair ties. It heats up really quickly (15 seconds max) and straightens really well. I run it through the kink twice and it's gone. There is no temperature control, but I find the one temperature sufficient for my hair. The tricky part is curling as my hair doesn't hold curls at all. The GHD doesn't curl instantly for me. I have to glide the flat iron down my hair very slowly for the curls to form, but the curls do last overnight. The next morning, I still have nice loose curls, which can be touched up a bit. I bought the heat protecting spray to use with the flat iron but haven't really noticed a difference with the spray.

I haven't tried other salon brand flat irons for comparison, but if you are willing to invest in a great flat iron that works on both voltages, go for the GHD.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 THEqu33nb on 9/6/2013 3:13:00 PM more reviews by THEqu33nb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am on the 3rd GHD 1" Flat iron so far within a 2 year period.. and NOT FOR POSITIVE reasons... the very first one I purchased was a hot pink Limited Edition product; it was $205+taxes=$223.45. I take it home and the next morning decide to put it to use, product did not even switch on, I was stunned that a $200 flat iron would be defective brand new out of the box. I bring it to Sephora the same day and the man didn't believe me, and I said "Go ahead and test it yourself" so he did, and he was in disbelief as well, he said "this is weird" and so I swapped it out with the sane version... a year later.. Might I add, I only use this 3x a month. Which means I used it a total of 36x before it malfunctioned.. IT DID NOT switch on.. AGAIN! So I take it back, and the lady tells me.."Well usually we never have problems with this product ever" so I said.."Well this particular style has given me issues 2x now, I thought since I was paying $200+ for a higher end flat iron It wouldn't give me any issues..I was wrong!! so anyway.. I payed an extra $30 for the Limited edition Pink Diamond version that came with a Paddle brush.. So far I have used it once, but the new sound and look of the device looks much more modern and has much improved since the pink one I first purchased. LET'S hope this doesn't fail on me again! This time, I am going to keep the packaging and receipt. B/C you never know with this product.. BUT I will NOT be purchasing this again.. The main reason why I continue to use this is b/c of Sephora great return/exchange policy. If I was NOT able to exchange the flat iron I would most likely purchase a CHI for $80-$100 at ULTA.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* krsn89 on 6/6/2013 12:58:00 PM more reviews by krsn89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Here's a little background: I have been fighting with my hair since I hit puberty. My thick, pin straight, frizz-free childhood hair had turned into a wavy, curly, thick, frizzy nightmare. I didn't know what to do with it. I tried every sort of smoothing/defrizzing product on the planet, different shampoos and conditioners, and even products that claimed to make your hair straight (yeah right). Nothing worked. When I was 13, I begged my mom to buy me a straightener. She ended up buying me a Conair straightener that had a little bubble you filled with water to help it steam (!) your hair straight. I had to spend 2 HOURS doing my hair with this thing, only to go outside and have my hair ruined by even the slightest humidity. I tested out even more straighteners after that, from Hot Tools, to Revlon, and different Conair ones. I was so discouraged because my hair was so difficult. I felt like these cheap irons weren't hot enough to have an effect on my hair. I gave up after a while and started wearing my hair in a bun, but I was never comfortable with it. When I got a part time job in highschool, I ended up trying one from Sally's thinking it was more expensive, therefore it must work better. Wrong. Returned it and then I started ironing my hair. With an iron. Yes, a clothes iron. This was the ONLY thing that I straightened my hair with for years. I would press it over my hair with a rolled up t-shirt underneath it. Can you say desperate? As you can imagine, my hair was fried after years of abuse. Finally gave that up when I received a CHI iron as a gift. I was happy with it at the time, but it always snagged my hair and still took forever to straighten. As time went on, I had tried Cortex, Babyliss, Solia and Sedu irons... all somewhat of an improvement, but still took too much time and weren't hot enough. I kept hearing all the hype about the ghd and took the plunge. Of course it was expensive, but I figured if it didn't work, I could always return it. And I had already tried and spent so much over the years anyways!


I purchased the 1 inch ghd MK4 styler at Sephora in 2008. I'm not sure what I paid then for it, but it is listed on their website currently at $225 (CAD, before tax). It came in a sleek black box with a DVD on some styling techniques. It is super sleek. The barrel is black and rounded with curved golden plates (I believe they're aluminum, but with ceramic heaters), and has a nice, long swivel cord. It has an on and off switch with a little light, but no temperature controls. It heats up in less than 30 seconds and beeps to tell you that it's ready. It also has an auto shut off, which I appreciate because I am SO paranoid about leaving stuff on. The first time I tried it, I had no real expectations. I thought that because it didn't have a temperature dial, that there was no way this would be hot enough. This absolutely blew me away. My frizzy, wavy/curly, incredibly coarse and uncooperative head of hair was transformed into a sleek, smooth, STRAIGHT head of hair that looked like it was professionally blowdried. Seriously. The way the ghd is designed, with the curved barrel, it is very easy to flick or curl the ends of your hair in or out for a more natural look. It also makes it easy for you to add some volume to your roots. The styler itself is so thin that you can get right to the roots, so no crimp marks here! Also, unlike most straighteners, this has never, ever snagged or caught my hair in the plates. This styler is also AWESOME for curling or waving your hair. I don't even use curling irons anymore because this is way easier and faster. Using the ghd, it takes me less than 10 minutes to straighten my hair in the morning. After spending at least 45 minutes or more with every other straightener, this is a huge improvement. I was in love with it immediately, and have been in love with it for the past 5 or so years! Whenever I happen to mention that I flat iron my hair to a friend or coworker, they always ask "why would you straighten your hair if it's already straight?" Little do they know that without this baby, my hair looks nothing like it does when it's straightened. You obviously have to have a good hair routine in place if you're using hot tools. I make sure to get trims regularly, do deep treatments and use a good conditioner, and use a heat protectant EVERY TIME. Your hair WILL be dry and get split ends etc if you don't take care of your hair! It *is* a hot flat iron after all.

I highly, highly recommend this straightener. HG for sure. I would buy it in a heartbeat if I ever lost it and if it ever dies, but it has been at least 5 years and it's still going strong. If you have difficult hair, or have been struggling with your hair like I was, this is for you!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BellaVespa on 5/25/2013 8:17:00 AM more reviews by BellaVespa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My partner bought me my first GHD 4 years ago and after 2 years it started to make a crackling noise and the heat wasn't as hot as it use to be. I decided to keep using it because it was still doing the job until one day one of the plates gave out. I was kinda bummed that my friends had theirs for much longer and mine just died within that 2 years and i knew i wouldn't be able to rush out and get a new one straight away and i didn't want to use another brand because i felt like nothing else was good enough. Just a couple of weeks later i got a new one, a red one... at first i was excited to have another GHD in my hands, but soon i realised i didn't like it as much as the original. It seemed to be slimmer and not as hot... i don't know what it is exactly but it just doesn't keep my hair dead straight in humid weather and also in wet weather. I miss the original GHD and after this red one dies i'll be getting the original one again. Its the only choice for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vandenbergnikita on 5/19/2013 9:19:00 PM more reviews by vandenbergnikita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE my GHD! I will never use a different flat iron, no matter what praises I hear. I have tried a few before my GHD, and they just do NOT do the job that the GHD does. At first I thought, it's just a hair straightener, what so great? It's anything but JUST a hair straightener. I have extremely curly, textured hair that frizzes just at the mere mention of the word "humidity". With the GHD and a bit of serum that is not an issue at all!
Yes, it is expensive, but I honestly think it is worth the price, and you will get a lot of use out of it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mellouise on 4/11/2013 1:15:00 PM more reviews by mellouise

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

These are the only straighteners I've ever owned - for about 10 years now. I only use them once a week, as my hair is naturally fairly straight. They're fantastic and I would immediately repurchase if anything happened to them. They leave my hair shiny, heat up in about 30 secs (great as I sometimes run late) and the effects last until I next wash my hair. They even stop my hair frizzing in the rain.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 repercussionist on 1/23/2013 12:58:00 PM more reviews by repercussionist

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Best hair irons ever. I have the 1-inch and 2-inch and plan to buy the 1/2-inch. They are pricey, but hair irons are not the place to try and save money, because you will end up wasting it every time. These irons work, even when I had my stubborn curls, and the hair stayed straight so long as I put a little lock-in product on and don't expose my hair to too much moisture (i.e., rain). I also use these irons to finish my hair now that I've had it chemically straightened. Cannot recommend this brand of irons highly enough.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CG1981 on 10/4/2012 1:37:00 AM more reviews by CG1981

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Pricey, but awesome if you use a hair iron often. I have thick, long, dry hair. I have keratined my naturally curly hair and currently have about 5 inches re growth. I flat iron almost daily (damage heaven) no iron will prevent damage if you use it often no matter what. This is no different. There is no magical- no -damage iron. This will reduce damage only in that you only need one pass. No snags on hair. It heats up super quick. Has no settings. I considered this for a while and finally got it on a flash sale site so it was about 140$ for the 2 inch. Best iron i have out of chi, sedu, maxiglide and some other over years cant remember. The others arent bad and i still use the 1 inch Sedu very rarely, but this is the best for sure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MarthaStevensen on 9/4/2012 7:43:00 AM more reviews by MarthaStevensen

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have a love-hate relationship with this flat iron. It's a hair salon standard flat iron, but you really should be careful of not buying a counterfeit as the market is flooded with these. The counterfeit models are of really poor quality, but cheap. The original GHD which you can verify on the official website is heaven-sent, but it will cost you around $200 which i.m.o. is a bit expensive. Try and find a good deal at Sephora, Folica or Amazon for under $150 and it's a no-brainer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More GHD products

More Hair Styling Tools products