NYX • Snow White • Lipstick

rated 4.5(80 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 fairbrownblue on 9/28/2014 4:37:00 PM more reviews by fairbrownblue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is the definition of a killer lipstick. It's not for the faint of heart and is not something I wear every day. (Although kudos to the woman who would! I am more of an MLBB kind of girl myself for everyday). This is a Saturday night, show-stopping, wow-you're-wearing-red-lipstick color. It is perfect for cool-toned, fair skin.

I can't imagine going through the whole tube any time soon, or else I would buy a back up. There's a very generous amount of product and it can last for hours and hours. A great color, great price and great addition to my collection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ashleym04 on 7/2/2014 12:13:00 PM more reviews by ashleym04

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The PERFECT PINUP RED! I have porcelain skin and blue eyes so this is the ultimate red lipstick for me. This shade is a cult favorite for that retro style. Itís a true cool blue based darker red and doesnít have orange or pink tones. If you are looking for a cherry or fire engine red Ė this is not it. I love how it has a slight sheen but it is still very opaque in coverage. What more could you want for around $5?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 diepset1 on 6/29/2014 9:38:00 PM more reviews by diepset1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Anyone looking for a HG red lipstick? Well, this is it. It's the perfect shade of red with blue undertones, so it will make your teeth look whiter. It goes on smoothly and looks great with lip liner, without, or with lip gloss on top. The price is excellent and it's cruelty free! So, turn up the sexy with this red lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heyjoni on 6/3/2014 12:42:00 AM more reviews by heyjoni

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Finally! This - THIS - is the red I've been looking for. Much as the name Snow White would suggest, I'd consider this the perfect red for very fair skin and dark hair. (I'm sure almost anyone could pull this color off though.) A lot of standard reds either end up looking fairly bright or even orange-y on me, but this one pulls a bit darker, more ruby, leaning toward vamp territory. Application is creamy and smooth, but it goes on so easy that careful application is key. I'm not really a fan of the somewhat soapy scent it has during application, but it seems to fade fairly quickly and there doesn't seem to be a funky taste. The formula isn't too drying, but I always use a light layer of lip balm before applying any lipstick. Awesome price point + cruelty-free = can't go wrong.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TheHipsterlicious on 5/18/2014 6:40:00 PM more reviews by TheHipsterlicious

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This lipstick is great! I was a little hesitant because of the bad reputation where lasting power is concerned, but honestly I think it is fine. Its not quite as good as a Revlon cream lipstick, but I didn't have really any problems out of it. I became interested in this color as it is a perfect dupe for Dubonnet by MAC (which I had been lusting over). I bought it at my local Ulta for about $5, and NYX's matching deep red lipliner as I heard this lipstick was bad to bleed. I have worn this lipstick over the lipliner (which brings out the brown tones) and by itself and in my experience it hardly bleeds or fades. The scent is somewhat soapy, or maybe like a sharpie marker. I found it somewhat odd but it doesnt last too long. The pigmentation is fantastic and I will be trying more colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dterrob on 5/4/2014 11:04:00 AM more reviews by dterrob

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is one of the best red lipsticks you could find. Very opaque blood-red. It doesn't have strong cool or warm tones. Most red lipsticks (especially from NYX) tend to look hot pink on my lips, but not this one. This is a very intense true red and I can't get enough of it. This borders on being a bold statement red, and not something I'd wear to my office job. I don't know if I necessarily like this lipstick on its own because it's a little too bright. I think it looks lovelier toned down.I like to wear it over or under NARS Fire Down Below matte lipstick for the most intense blood red possible. My only other issue is that this, like other NYX creamy round lipsticks, cannot stay put. It bleeds outside of my lips and has too much slip. Like most people, I prefer it when my lipstick can set. I don't like worrying about checking my lipstick constantly (ain't no one got time for that!), this one requires a bit more maintenance than something like NARS semi matte lipsticks. I do overall recommend this, especially for its price. Aside from formula issues, it's a great product and color. If you want to channel your inner pin-up girl or feel like experimenting with red, give this one a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 4/6/2014 12:48:00 AM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is not a true red. It is definitely more darker and brown based, but very flattering on my skintone. It goes on slightly matte and has very good staying power and pigmentation. It doesn't fade well unfortunately (fades into a fuscia on my lips), but it is not too much of a problem for me. It is still one of my favorite shades of red in my lipstick collection. My local CVS now carries the NYX line and so I was lucky to score this shade since it was the last one on display. It cost me $4.19 plus tax.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 AB188 on 2/21/2014 4:59:00 AM more reviews by AB188

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Too dark and too brown. I like to wear minimal eye makeup with red lipstick but with this my face looks out of balance. Dark lipstick instantly ages my face. Not something i want now im over 40. Will stick to orangey reds from now on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jsnowden0001 on 2/20/2014 7:29:00 PM more reviews by jsnowden0001

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Deep crimson, neutral red. It is just creamy enough to apply nicely, and the price is right- I paid $3.99 at CVS.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sylveirettes on 2/8/2014 1:48:00 AM more reviews by sylveirettes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This shade isn't available in my country so I ordered with the help of an online store. I was so obsessed with dark vampy lips couple of months ago and I had owned several plums and dark reds but still wanted something much more red, but still dark. Like the color of fresh blood. Fresh, not dried.

I got this today and I was disappointed because the color isn't like what I imagined before. I read and saw tons of reviews + swatches online from various beauty bloggers and for some reason they always looked really red to me. Dark, yes, but still very red.

Not so much on me, though.

When I tried this on my lips, it looked quite dark. Maroon, I'd say. I thought this wouldn't look too dark on me since I'm very yellow, around NC25-30, but for some reason it's just dark...? Quite disappointing really. I thought I'd find my HG red but oh well, the search continues.

I gave this four stars, still. Though the color isn't what I imagined before, the formula is really lovely. The finish is even and smooth, satiny, not over the top creamy but still pleasant on my lips (which is not the quality I find in every NYX round lipstick; some colors like Rea and Tea Rose tend to be a little too creamy for my liking and it disappears within an hour) it covers my lips with awesome pigmentation in one swipe (my lips are very pigmented, for reference), and it stains (can be a turnoff for some people but for me it's a plus).

Pros:
- Great pigmentation
- Great price
- Good formula
- Satin finish, which I prefer
- Staining
- Even, smooth finish
- Lovely color (very dark, brownish red on Asian with NC25-30 skin)

Cons:
- Smells funny (usually I don't really care for scents in makeup products but this one bothers me a bit)
- Packaging. Not like it looks veeery cheap or something but it's not my cup of tea.

Overall, great price, good formula, good pigmentation. Just not the color I've been searching for.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lipstick products