Miss Jessie's • Curl pudding • Styling Products

rated 2.0(13 reviews)

Average Rating.2.0
Would buy this product again.30%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 EBEB on 9/2/2013 3:04:00 PM more reviews by EBEB

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This gave a decent hold for my twistouts, but my hair felt dry even though I applied it over a moisturizing leave-in conditioner. The sweet scent didn't bother me. I wouldn't recommend Curly Pudding if you're looking for moisture, shine, softness, smoothness or elongation - for that I recommend Silk Elements Liquid Styling Gel from Sally's, Fantasia IC Styling Gel or Kinky-Curly Curling Custard.

Curly Pudding is thick and doesn't spread well when you rub it between your hands. It feels sort of sticky. Normally I can easily run a comb or brush through my wet/damp hair to distribute a styling product that I just applied, but not Curly Pudding. It felt like my comb and brush were tugging, so I had to put more leave-in on top of the Curly Pudding if I wanted to comb/brush my hair without pulling.

The Curly Pudding turned into little white balls/clumps in my wet hair when I applied it on top of most leave-ins that I use under other styling products without a problem. I found that it does blend with Giovanni Direct Leave-In though.

Original/Scented Curly Pudding Ingredients: Water, Paraffinum Liquidum, Glycerin, Fragrance, Triethanolamine, Carbomer, PEG-12 Dimethicone, Dipropylene Glycol, Silk Amino Acids, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Avocado Oil, Shea Butter, Sweet Almond Oil, Jojoba Seed Oil, Macadamia Seed Oil, Oleth-5, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Disodium EDTA, DMDM Hydantoin, Ext. Violet 2.

Unscented Curly Pudding Ingredients: Water, Paraffinum Liquidum, Glycerin, Dipropylene Glycol, Ordenoneª Triethanolamine, Carbomer, PEG-12 Dimethicone, Wheat Amino Acids, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Avocado Oil, Shea Butter, Sweet Almond Oil, Jojoba Seed Oil, Macadamia Ternifola Seed Oil, Oleth-5, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Disodium EDTA, DMDM Hydantoin, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Chelseaaaa on 7/26/2013 11:36:00 PM more reviews by Chelseaaaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This price is pretty steep, especially for a product which the only use is to smell good. It didnt define my curls or do anything special but it did make my hair smell amazing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TopNote on 5/26/2012 8:56:00 PM more reviews by TopNote

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've used $5 curl products that worked so much better than this. Dulling and no real curl definition. Out of all of the products I've tried similar to this, and I've tried a LOT, this one is one of the worst and the most expensive. Returned this and got my money back.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CHLee916 on 2/26/2012 4:51:00 PM more reviews by CHLee916

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Used Miss Jessie's years ago on my daughter's natural hair and it was gorgeous. I had locs at the time and couldn't use it. I cut my locs last year and have tried every product imaginable. When I saw her products in Target I said "what the heck" and bought the curly pudding. Everything was awful! The product looked like it curdled up in my wet hair. I never attained any type of curl and had to shampoo the product out. I talked to another natural friend of mine and we wonder if she changed her formula. It simply does not work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StarsnRocketsES on 11/18/2011 12:09:00 AM more reviews by StarsnRocketsES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

While this product is expensive, it really does a great job on my hair. I use it for bantu knots, braids, and twists. The products helps to eliminate frizz, and has a light-weight, non-sticky hold which I love. I would repurchase in the future. The only negative is the smell OMG, it makes me nauseous. The scent is not noticeable once my hair dries. I only need a small amount on each section of my hair, and it does not leave any residue, or product built up once my hair is dry. My hair is short, so a 2 oz jar, allows me five uses.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jowork on 5/21/2010 4:15:00 PM more reviews by jowork

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used this product on my biracial (black/white) 3b-3c hair. It did a poor job of setting and defining curl. It left my hair tacky, dull, and dry. I'll continue to use the combination I found that works best for my hair: Carol's Daughter Healthy Hair Butter and Fantasia IC Gel with Sparkelites.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ppbcup on 1/18/2010 6:23:00 PM more reviews by ppbcup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product made my hair crunchy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nitha on 10/19/2009 1:40:00 AM more reviews by nitha

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have very thick "4b" hair. Having worn dreadlocks for 7 years, I shaved off my hair last year and kept it very very very short for nearly a year.
I am now growing out my hair. It is about 2.5 inches long.

Because my hair is quite thick I did a "dry twist- out" on my hair. After blowdrying I applied the product and made little twists all around my head. I applied quite a lot of product, then sat under the dryer for 45 mins.

The results were pretty good. My hair did not dry out (I was afraid of that). Also, the twists have lasted much longer than I had thought they would.

HOWEVER- the product does not dry well, and you end up with lots of flaking and clumps that stick in your twists/curls.
This is the reason I am giving the product a low mark. The clumps are pretty disgusting, they kind of look like dirty build up- Not nice.

I had to wash out the top and sides of my hair and do another twist out at the front without any product to avoid looking like I haven't bathed in a year!

Having said that, when I did the twist out without any product in the front the results were poor, which is a testament to how well this product curls your hair.

So I'm very hot and cold. I will buy it again-because I do not know of any other product that works so well on thick 4b hair. Perhaps next time I will use much less product and hope that the flaking/clumping is not as noticeable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MAChostage on 8/14/2008 1:45:00 PM more reviews by MAChostage

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

(Actually, I did a review on the unscented version of this in April 2008. See: Styling Products • Unlisted Brand • Miss Jessie's - Unscented Curly Pudding) Anyway, THUMBS DOWN! No curl elongation, nothing. This product plain sucked. Expensive *and* overrated.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 thlewis on 8/14/2008 8:16:00 AM more reviews by thlewis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I saved up...yes, saved up for this product as it is sooo expensive. Boy was I disappointed, although in part it was my own fault. I thought a product named Curl Pudding would define my curls but after trying it and sending it back, I read the description which says the product is used to elongate the curl. Which explains why it took my naturally curly hair and made it straight! My hair looked like a sorta straight, sorta curly jerri curl....not the look I was going for. Since my curls aren't super tight or coarse, maybe that was the problem. It just didn't work for my type of hair. BUT...I will say that the customer service at Miss Jessie's rocks! I was able to talk to someone on the phone and got a prompt refund.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Miss Jessie's products

More Styling Products products