Unlisted Brand • biehl parfumkunstwerke - mb02 • Fragrances

rated 4.1(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 rpolisk on 8/18/2010 11:07:00 PM more reviews by rpolisk

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

There are days when I want no drama. I just want to smell clean, perfumed in a very simple but completely inoffensive and subtle way that barely registers on others. mb02 would fit the bill perfectly for such days.
I was tempted by Paschat's beautiful review into obtaining a sample from Luckyscent. My own overblown expectations were, sadly, disapointed. The first impression is of a clean, slightly powdery accord (neroli?) overlying a rather bland, very generic lemony base. One hour into the drydown, the initial sweetness fades and is replaced by a much more mature and dry accord. Something begins to tug at my scent memory: Grey Flanel! There it is. Not as glorious or as sexy as I remember it on my friend Tom in Connecticut preppy garb, but there in its smooth lavender meets iris and ?violet leaf quality just the same. Imagine Grey Flanel toned down and with all the edges blended out. Blended is indeed where the genius of this fragrance lies. Something luminescent is clearly present in the heart (carnation perhaps) and every once in a while a little sparkling note catches my nose, but nothing escapes the homogeneity of the whole and overall it remains a sanitized "sport water" without any facets to it. Sophisticated? Yes, but EL White Linen would serve the same purpose in a much more imaginative way. For those of us who like our scents with a lot more Sauvage to them this is a letdown indeed. Overall, this creation is very smooth, clean, and relaxed and judging from the add copy and Luckyscent's description, that was the aim.
However,it's a bit too yawn-inducing to warrant a full bottle, especially at its price point.
Lovers of uber clean Prada Infusion d'Iris, FM Angeliques sous La Pluie, or even Grey Flanel may well love this one.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Noddi on 7/31/2010 3:01:00 PM more reviews by Noddi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

this is my first testing of mb02 but it has me so intoxicated! the smoothest, warmest iris with sandalwood embers continually breathing life into this work of art. my favorite biehl by far!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PeeShee on 12/11/2009 7:15:00 AM more reviews by PeeShee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is a beautiful fragrance. It's unisex but a little more on the feminine side. It's very sexy. Makes me feel great and I always get complimets when I wear it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jemimagold on 8/12/2008 5:59:00 PM more reviews by jemimagold

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Mb 02 is another ethereal scent created by Mark Buxton for the biehl parfumkunstwerke line. Whereas mb01 is all floral gorgeousness, mb 02 is a little more sporty but still very elegant. Mb 02 has Mark Buxton’s trademark etherealness and is very much in keeping with his style of creating perfumes that stay close to the skin. From the top note I get lovely warm notes of bergamot and neroli which are charmingly leavened with violet. The violet then goes on to work very nicely with the fir balm to create a cheerful yet calming scent. I am not much of an iris fan but the small amount added is just enough to give the perfume gravity without launching a rooty “ashtray” accord that can sometimes accompany iris. In fact, mb 02 reminds me a bit of Armani Prive’s delicately exquisite iris masterpiece, Pierre de Lune.


However, the best comparison I can think of is that mb 02 is to mb 01, what Diorella is to Diorama. And those of you who know those Dior classics will know exactly what I mean. Well done, Mark Buxton!


Here are the notes of biehl parfumkunstwerke’s mb 02, courtesy of The Perfumed Court: violet, bergamot, tagetes, basil, carnation, violet, iris, labdanum, sandalwood, musk, fir balm, benzoe siam.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 5/12/2008 8:52:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Citrus and basil start off sharpy and fade only slightly. In the end, it's a bright, green flower petal with wood notes and citrus overtones, but it also fades to nearly nothing very very fast. It stays at nearly nothing for a long time, but it's so ephemeral it's hard to remember you're even wearing it. I like violet mixes, but this doesn't give me any violet at all, and the citrus is just too much in the end. It's a citrus/floral scent on me. Glad to try it, but while it's nice enough, it's nothing I would ever hunt out or FB buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lisa_67 on 1/12/2008 12:01:00 PM more reviews by lisa_67

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Mb02 is one of the better Biehl releases. As others have noted, the topnotes are softly green and fresh, with the violet, violet leaves, carnation, and basil prominent for me. The opening is not, however, herbal or grassy or even powdery in any way. The fragrance deepens over time, and though the soft violet persists, it's joined by a light and silvery iris, a gentle musk, and a very creamy sandalwood. The last traces reveal the tiniest resin from the benzoe Siam. I find this to be a lovely and very comforting fragrance.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarakat on 1/11/2008 7:33:00 PM more reviews by sarakat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a beautiful green violet. Not as sweet as they usually come, grounded in just a tad of wood and spice. Wonderfully balanced, delicate, slightly soapy in the dry down.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* veruska on 7/20/2007 3:27:00 AM more reviews by veruska

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Faysparrow already said that this is very smooth and elegant,and i have also to add very light and discreet.So much that i had to use the whole sample and still feel that i could'nt trasspass the abstract nature of this,like looking to a work of art that puzzles you with his beauty but you can't actually feel.Let's say that it's a perfume that captures your intelligence but don't actually captivates your senses.It starts with an unusual bittersweet fruit befere the airy and eathy sweet iris throws her distinguished scent like a glowing streak in the canvas.As with many iris it's rather elusive and plays hide and sheek with my nostrils for the next hour.After that comes the drydown the best part of the perfume in MHO.It gets deeper and resinous and stays for 2 more hrs.I didn't get leather but maybe it's a thing of personal chemistry.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Unlisted Brand products

More Fragrances products