Cover Girl • loose powder • Loose Powders

rated 3.2(102 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautifuldreamer324 on 12/20/2014 9:48:00 PM more reviews by beautifuldreamer324

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Gets the job done. Affordable. Only issue is that it doesn't last all day. I need to touch up my t zone (I'm not super oily either.) For the price, it works fine with my maybelline dream liquid mousse. Used this as a young teen as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 princessmeowmeow on 11/21/2014 4:08:00 PM more reviews by princessmeowmeow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Well... it helped my foundation from greasing up. Only because it was so thick and cakey, though. The packaging was hard to use and as the klutz I am, i dropped it a few times and the flimsy plastic cracked and the loose powder would continually leak out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thatfabulousgirl on 1/7/2014 10:59:00 PM more reviews by thatfabulousgirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Hi! I absolutely love this powder. It's inexpensive, and for me lasts awhile. I personally do not like compacted powders because they tend to get broken inside the compact and they don't seem to last long to me. So, I use loose powder. I love how this is not expensive, it lasts, and it leaves a matte finish.
There are only two cons. One is that some people probably would not like the smell.I love it, it reminds me of my grandma. (:
The other is how it can easily spill everywhere. What I do is I pour some of it into a tighter container when I take it to go.
I love this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shescrafty72 on 10/11/2013 9:33:00 AM more reviews by shescrafty72

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a rediscovered oldie but goodie. This powder has been around for years and I used it when I was a teenager first wearing makeup. For Oily skin this is a great mattifying powder with that familiar and nostalgic Noxema scent, which i personally love. It smells "clean" to me. Being oily and acne prone, I've always searched for a great loose powder to set my foundation with and decided to give this one a try again. Believing that my makeup skill and expectations have increased over the years, I was interested in trying this again to see what I thought. Still impressed! Although it comes with a puff, I apply it with a fluffy powder blush as a setting powder and it keeps me matte all day. IF you're interested in an inexpensive (I never say cheap as I think this word implicates a lack of quality) loose powder I recommend giving this one a try. I use translucent light (for reference I am NC30-NC35 in MAC, Ivory Beige in ELDW, Warm Golden in Revlon CS) and it is undetectable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sdelory on 7/17/2013 6:29:00 PM more reviews by sdelory

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm surprised that the low rating; I love this. I live in Toronto and it is so hot and humid this week; feels like 44 degrees Celsius and this powder really came through. Keeps my face from looking shiny for hours and goes on smooth and light with a nice touch of coverage. Oh and the kicker; it was $8.99 at Shoppers!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ohtea on 4/5/2013 6:33:00 PM more reviews by ohtea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This loose powder by Cover Girl is not the worst but I wouldn't say it is the greatest. It's one of those products that are on the fence and just gets the job done. I really like that it doesn't flake up my skin and leaves it pretty smooth and soft. It keeps my foundation in tack and my super oily skin at bay.

Packaging could use some reinventing. There is a sifter included but it's not a closed sifter, so if you tumble the container your powder will be spilling inside and it can get pretty messy. I like that it comes with a powder puff which is cute and convenient but it surely needs some sort of strap or handle.

And yes, just like the other reviewers have mentioned the scent is quite strong. It doesn't bother me because I'm not too sensitive to the smell but damn it's pretty sharp when you first apply it to your skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wendycoco on 1/10/2013 10:22:00 PM more reviews by wendycoco

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Normally I do not wear anything covergirl don't get me wrong I love drugstore I just find the other drugstore brands are far superior now a days. Anyways I saw a beauty guru use this in her foundation routine video and swears by it. She also has similar skin like me which is a little oily. The way she uses this is by pushing the puff onto the skin packing it in sort of like stippling. So since I love trying what she does I purchased this and applied exactly how she did and love it. Normally I use rimmel matte powder but this stuff does exact thing and leaves a less powder finish. It looses a mark for the scent it does have a strong noxzema scent which tends to linger. I still am not a fan of covergirl but I definitely like this product. Check out the beauty vaults video on her current foundation routine to see how she applies it may help! www.thebeautyvault.ca she's amazing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thesarahmichellee on 1/7/2013 1:56:00 PM more reviews by thesarahmichellee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I've used this product several times. I use it everyday that I don't want to use liquid foundation. it makes my face so soft. I always tell my boyfriend 'Oh please feel my face! It's so soo so so soft !!!!! it's a great turn on for guys too so. That's a plus!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 inkiwisative on 12/1/2012 9:16:00 PM more reviews by inkiwisative

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I hate this powder. I can't rate it's performance as a setting powder, because I couldn't get it passed my nose to try it. The smell is so strong, and it's not pleasant. I am extremely sensitive to fragrance, and I swear, as soon as I took this out of the packaging - my eyes started to water and my lips began to sting (strange, I know) - that was before I'd even taken the cap off. I wish I had spent my $18 on something worth while. DO NOT TRY if you are sensitive to fragrance, it's a complete waste of money!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 EozS on 11/1/2012 9:52:00 AM more reviews by EozS

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

For the price, this product is excellent.
------------------
Pros:
Long-lasting
Maintains matte appearance
Doesn't collect in creases
Evens skin tone
Cheap
------
Cons:
Scent - I like the scent, but I would prefer it unscented or less strong
Format - I wish there was a way to get a small amount of powder up - I either get too much and make a mess, or not enough

-------------

I use a brush, and not the pad that is included in the jar. Someone below me said there is glitter in it but there isn't any glitter in mine...

I recently had the opportunity to blow some $$ on makeup and my first upgrade was powder. I tried CoverFX and I tried Stila, both over $30. I returned them both and went back to CG. I literally put CoverFX or Stila on one half of my face, CG on the other, and asked my husband to tell me which looked better. Both times he picked CG (and I agreed).

Give it a try - if you don't like it, you're only out $6!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Loose Powders products