Clinique • Acne Solutions Clearing Moisturizer Oil-Free • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.4(129 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* evanlami on 11/19/2014 10:48:00 PM more reviews by evanlami

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Bleh. If I'm going to be honest, this product is a dud. I rated it as only 1 lippie for two reasons:

1) This product is not a moisturizer. I repeat: NOT a moisturizer. I bought this in hopes that it would round out my skin care routine and that it would really help moisturize my skin after using the rest of the somewhat underwhelming line of Acne Solutions products. Nope. If anything, this product is actually *drying*.

2) This product has done nothing to help me with my acne. Nothing. I really wanted to love this and I wanted it to work. But alas, it didn't. I've had a million times better luck using clay and tea tree oil as spot treatments.

I know 1 lippie is harsh, but I am so disappointed in this product that I can't lie. 1 lippie is all it deserves.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Skytenshi on 10/4/2014 2:44:00 AM more reviews by Skytenshi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product has been renamed to "Acne Solutions All-Over Clearing Treatment", possibly because Clinique has also come to realise that this is not much of a moisturiser but is more of an acne treatment. For the avoidance of doubt, I am reviewing the US version of this product, which contains benzoyl peroxide and not salicylic acid as its active ingredient.

I'm pleased to say that I have finally found my HG acne product!

Ever since I came off the birth control pill in April 2011, I have been suffering from persistent chin acne. Apart from Accutane, which has potentially severe side effects that would outweigh its benefits for non-severe acne such as mine, I have tried almost every drug store / prescription product available. When it comes to an acne cure, I don't hesitate to spend money on it and as a result, I have accumulated a drawer full of acne products.

I always avoided this Clinique product for 2 reasons - firstly, this product with benzoyl peroxide as its active ingredient is only available in the US, and I don't live in the US; and secondly, I tried the 2.5% benzoyl peroxide formulations from Neutrogena and Acne.org and both irritated my skin and turned my chin bright red.

I had been using the European version of this product (containing salicylic acid as its active ingredient) as well as a range of other salicyclic acid products with little luck, so I thought, perhaps it is time to revisit benzoyl peroxide. After reading reviews on various benzoyl peroxide products on this website, I finally bought the US version of this product through a parallel importer on Japanese Amazon (I live in Japan).

This has been nothing but a miracle. I use it twice a day and unlike the other benzoyl peroxide products that I have tried to date, it doesn't irritate my skin or turn it burning red. Obviously, I can't avoid the usual drying of the skin and minor peeling, both of which are side effects of using benzoyl peroxide, but they are nothing intolerable.

I must say the US and European versions of this product are very different. The European version is very much like a moisturiser, whereas the US version is more an acne treatment. I understand that companies like Clinique don't use benzoyl peroxide as an active ingredient in its cosmetics outside of the US because of more stringent pharmaceutical regulations in other countries. This is unfortunate because for many people, salicylic acid simply does not work as well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Sue90114 on 9/24/2014 12:39:00 PM more reviews by Sue90114

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I don't feel this product really worked wonders for my acne at all, it even got to a stage where it started to irritate my skin as it gets very sensitive to breakouts and redness. My experience of using creams and products to put onto my skin to be quite honest has been a major disappointment, and I've recently switched to using supplements that I take from the inside. I'm trying products like biocorrex which I have to say It has really made a big difference to my skin, and has really helped to clear up my acne and give me a smoother complexion. So far I'm really pleased with the results!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 audybear on 9/18/2014 2:16:00 AM more reviews by audybear

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

Terrible product. Bought it after talking to the lady at the clinque counter of how I use the Clinque Acne solutions makeup and wanted to try one of their moisturizers. I SPECIFICALLY told her I have very sensitive skin and she recommended the product. I got home and put the product on before I went to bed... woke up with itchy bright red skin that had blotchy red spots and a burning feeling. I've had bad reactions to products, but NOTHING like this. Can't believe the lady at the counter recommended this after knowing I had sensitive skin, especially when I wanted to try another moisturizer in the first place from them. Now I'm recovering, wondering how long this will take to heal completely!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 IMalfa on 7/25/2014 2:29:00 AM more reviews by IMalfa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using it for years. I usually use this in the morning and evening to prevent a major breakout or when I see the first stages of one. It works best when I wash my face shortly before applying (but that's probably because my skin is oily) works pretty well on its own. My only problem is that you definitely cannot put this on right before bed if you have colored sheets/pillowcases because IT WILL cause bleaching. I found a way around that (a white towel over the pillows) also the product does solidify around the opening of the tube which is a bit annoying. But overall it's good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 OrangeMintPop on 7/23/2014 11:45:00 PM more reviews by OrangeMintPop

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This moisturizer was part of my 3 step acne solutions kit. I used this system for 5 weeks and in my video I posted before and after pictures as well as 5 weeks worth of progress pictures. I hope you can check it out. I have combination skin (oily and normal) and have mild acne. The active ingredient in these products is salicylic acid.It kept my skin moisturized without clogging my pores. But honestly it was nothing special. Overall this system did clear up my skin but the problem that I have with this system is that it does not prevent new pimples from forming on my skin. It helped clear up the acne that I already had but new pimples kept forming. I hope this review helps.





    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SunnySoFla on 1/15/2014 11:53:00 PM more reviews by SunnySoFla

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is my everyday, every night lotion. I still breakout occasionally, but nothing like if I quit using it or run out. This doesn't dry my skin out and doesn't make it an oil slick either. I may be a little biased when It comes to this product because I had the worst experience on my "perfect moisturizer quest". Everything made me break out! When I came across this and didn't breakout after a week and my acne was actually improving, I was hooked and never tried another product out of fear that I would have severe breakouts again. I only wish it had SPF.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Angel70 on 12/29/2013 4:45:00 PM more reviews by Angel70

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am a "cosmetic-counter skeptic" on steroids usually, but in an effort to get my skin nice before I celebrate my 25th wedding anniversary at 43, I thought "why not?" So I've been diligently using this moisturizer every night and morning along with Neutrogena's Anti-Wrinkle/Anti-Blemish treatment and Neutrogena's Rapid Wrinkle Repair Serum. I have had some promising results at the 2-week mark here. I am usually very oily and blemish-prone. This is the best moisturizer as it provides a protective barrier against acne-causing bacteria. I have tried so many treatments and ended it with little to no effects. I am very happy and will be continuing this for some long time to come. I think I can ditch the foundation now!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 catletter on 11/26/2013 5:31:00 PM more reviews by catletter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

Well, I cannot say it was terrible. It moisturized my skin well and left a clean and soft feeling on my face.But, the problem is that it doesn't control oil in long term, the balance does not last long. I mean even in 30-45 minutes again I start to shine. One cannot imagine makeup over this moisturizer. For example, a foundation would easily melt. Another thing is that it gives an undertaking about treating acnes, but it is not successful in reducing them. As a final disadvantage it is really expensive. This was my main reason for giving up using this product. There may be other beneficial products, which is at the same price or even cheaper. And there are products which is worth buying rather than this. Since I had found a cheaper, dermo cosmetic and more successful product, I stopped using this when I ran out. It wasn't helpful for my oily skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pipinko550 on 11/26/2013 4:29:00 PM more reviews by pipinko550

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Best acne treatment / moisturizer I ever tried. It totally changed my face, I use it under the makeup and in the evening, too. No itchy / burning feelings, smells amazing and doesn't make me dry, even in winter time. I would repurchase this and recommend for all the people who needs product that really works. BUT I live in Europe and I have a version WITHOUT BENZOYL PEROXIDE.

INGREDIENTS (Europe version): water, cyclopentasiloxane, ppg-14 butyl ether, hamamelis virginiana water, sucrose, steareth-21, acrylamide/sodium acryloyldimethyltaurate copolymer, acetyl glucosamine, camellia sinensis leaf extract, algae extract, avena sativa extract, glycyne, anthemis nobilis, matricaria, hinokitiol, menthol, salicylic acid, isohexadecane, caffeine, steareth-2, glycerin, quaternium-22, butylene glycol, polysorbate 80, phytosphingosine, pentylene glycol, disodium edta, phenoxyethanol, benzalkonium chloride

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Treatments (Face) products