MAC Satin - Haux

4.4

150 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is an unassuming color. I bought it after I realized the ever popular Satin Taupe made me look bruised, too frosty, too silver. This is the most lovely matte plummy brown. On my brown eyes and with my C4/5 skin, it looks lovely. I tried it with Samoa Silk and I know it would look great with Stars n Rockets, or Woodwinked. In fact, I think it's the perfect neutral for my coloring and with any shadow, even blues and greens. Nearly as good as Soft Brown. I don't know why it doesn't get more press.



on 9/14/2014 11:35:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this a few days ago and cannot stop wearing it! It's a gorgeous dusty plum slightly brown shade that looks amazing on my warm and yellow undertoned nc45 skin! Absolute must buy! I love the satin feel it's so perfect! It lasts so long and it's just such a gorgeous color! I'm so obsessed! Lol just go try it and you'll see!


on 5/17/2014 11:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

This is a warm, plummy, with a slight leaning undertone of brownish senses. Does that make any sense at all? I don't notice it until I actually apply it onto my eyelids. It isn't the exact carbon copy of the shade in pan.

It's understandable how this could be a shade that people stray from. Using it alone gives you the "sickly, hollowed out, zombie, 'hi I'm Dane Dehaan'" look. Not many people want to look like a zombie, I suppose.

But used in conjunction with other shades (especially warm browns/oranges) such as blending it out with Soft Brown or Wedge or Rule, you end up with a beautifully dynamic look that is purely matte.

Adding it with other colors, such as metallic shades [Anything really, bronze, star violet, coppering] also works, and I've been enjoying encorporating Haux into my nearly everyday routine.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/6/2014 6:52:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is my new favorite eyeshadow. I added it to an online order on a whim. I have a lot of MAC shadows that I love, but this one if perfect for me. It applies smoothly, works well on the lid and in the crease, and makes my blue-green (primarily green) eyes sparkle. I've been wearing it everyday for a week. This actually could be an eye shadow that I will run out of someday.

as for packaging, I bought this in the pan form

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/8/2014 3:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I really like this shade. Very unique rosy brown, a bit brick, colored. No drugstore dupe. Brings out eye color on my blue green eyes. I use in crease with mac expensive pink or vex. Also nice with club. I lile the color as easy neutral with wet n wild shadow trio in knock on wood. The pink or the cranberry shade particularly. I find this shade flattereing. I could see how it could make eyes look tired or bloodshot if too much is used with no other shadow color to make it look Done. Great neutral, better used with a liner or at least a highlight color rather than fill lid wash, though it does bring out light eye colors nicely. Just go heavy with mascara so there isn't too much red around eyes. I like it right now in crease with any taupe shade on lid and mascara. Good for work.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 7/26/2013 7:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Haux is one of those colors from MAC that you don't hear many people talking about. In the pan, it looks bleh. It looks like a matte brown-rosey color with a pink undertone that would make one's eyes look tired and red. That is true, if this color is used incorrectly. However, when used for the right purposes this eyeshadow looks BEAUTIFUL. I use this color solely as a transition/crease shadow. It adds a subtle warmth to the eyes that soften any look. It can be worn used in both cool-toned or warm-toned looks. Definitely a MAC neutral that should not be overlooked!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm in search of the perfect crease color and have vey dark eyes so the MA offered this as a suggestion and I took her word for it. This color is very different and I thought it would be a dupe to UD color tease but this color is very different when swatched. Anyways, as nice as it all looks when swatched, when I put it on my crease or any other part of my eye it looks like someone hit me in the face. It is the most unflattering eyeshadow on me =( For reference I am NC 30. I guess I can only somehow work this as a transition color but other then that I would not repurchase ..Boo


on 5/13/2013 1:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was very sceptical of this eyeshadow, I don't live near a MAC, so I have to buy online. Most warm tones eyeshadows look horrible on me because I'm so fair and cool toned, and I thought this one would be the same because it was a redish brown. But I was wrong and this eyeshadow blew me away, I wear it in my crease and it looks beautiful on me! So don't be discouraged if your very cool toned, it could still work wonderfully for you.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/4/2013 2:22:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Well this eyeshadow.. is a meeh.. for me. I did not hate it but i didn't love it either... It's a satin mauve-brown-warm color which I mostly use on my crease. I will not buy this again probably.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/23/2013 5:38:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I've been looking at this shadow for a week and in the past I've avoided mauve brown shades. It's one of those shadows that looks interesting as a crease color (and mixed with other shades), but all over the lid it might look like a bruised eye. If you mix it with something like Scene or Copperplate, it gives a very romantic look. Perfect for wedding, which has been mentioned before in reviews. I think the Inglot dupe for this is 344, and it's probably more pigmented--as most Inglot shadows are. I'd use 344 and 339 together.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top