MAC • Satin - Haux • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(148 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Heechul on 5/17/2014 11:19:00 PM more reviews by Heechul

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This is a warm, plummy, with a slight leaning undertone of brownish senses. Does that make any sense at all? I don't notice it until I actually apply it onto my eyelids. It isn't the exact carbon copy of the shade in pan.

It's understandable how this could be a shade that people stray from. Using it alone gives you the "sickly, hollowed out, zombie, 'hi I'm Dane Dehaan'" look. Not many people want to look like a zombie, I suppose.

But used in conjunction with other shades (especially warm browns/oranges) such as blending it out with Soft Brown or Wedge or Rule, you end up with a beautifully dynamic look that is purely matte.

Adding it with other colors, such as metallic shades [Anything really, bronze, star violet, coppering] also works, and I've been enjoying encorporating Haux into my nearly everyday routine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mehays on 5/6/2014 6:52:00 PM more reviews by mehays

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is my new favorite eyeshadow. I added it to an online order on a whim. I have a lot of MAC shadows that I love, but this one if perfect for me. It applies smoothly, works well on the lid and in the crease, and makes my blue-green (primarily green) eyes sparkle. I've been wearing it everyday for a week. This actually could be an eye shadow that I will run out of someday.

as for packaging, I bought this in the pan form

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shortii53 on 1/8/2014 3:12:00 PM more reviews by shortii53

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this shade. Very unique rosy brown, a bit brick, colored. No drugstore dupe. Brings out eye color on my blue green eyes. I use in crease with mac expensive pink or vex. Also nice with club. I lile the color as easy neutral with wet n wild shadow trio in knock on wood. The pink or the cranberry shade particularly. I find this shade flattereing. I could see how it could make eyes look tired or bloodshot if too much is used with no other shadow color to make it look Done. Great neutral, better used with a liner or at least a highlight color rather than fill lid wash, though it does bring out light eye colors nicely. Just go heavy with mascara so there isn't too much red around eyes. I like it right now in crease with any taupe shade on lid and mascara. Good for work.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xsaraboo on 7/26/2013 7:37:00 PM more reviews by xsaraboo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Haux is one of those colors from MAC that you don't hear many people talking about. In the pan, it looks bleh. It looks like a matte brown-rosey color with a pink undertone that would make one's eyes look tired and red. That is true, if this color is used incorrectly. However, when used for the right purposes this eyeshadow looks BEAUTIFUL. I use this color solely as a transition/crease shadow. It adds a subtle warmth to the eyes that soften any look. It can be worn used in both cool-toned or warm-toned looks. Definitely a MAC neutral that should not be overlooked!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Sabzzluvzzmakeup on 5/29/2013 11:49:00 AM more reviews by Sabzzluvzzmakeup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I'm in search of the perfect crease color and have vey dark eyes so the MA offered this as a suggestion and I took her word for it. This color is very different and I thought it would be a dupe to UD color tease but this color is very different when swatched. Anyways, as nice as it all looks when swatched, when I put it on my crease or any other part of my eye it looks like someone hit me in the face. It is the most unflattering eyeshadow on me =( For reference I am NC 30. I guess I can only somehow work this as a transition color but other then that I would not repurchase ..Boo

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xokatiie on 5/13/2013 1:21:00 AM more reviews by xokatiie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I was very sceptical of this eyeshadow, I don't live near a MAC, so I have to buy online. Most warm tones eyeshadows look horrible on me because I'm so fair and cool toned, and I thought this one would be the same because it was a redish brown. But I was wrong and this eyeshadow blew me away, I wear it in my crease and it looks beautiful on me! So don't be discouraged if your very cool toned, it could still work wonderfully for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AeraMarS on 5/4/2013 2:22:00 PM more reviews by AeraMarS

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Well this eyeshadow.. is a meeh.. for me. I did not hate it but i didn't love it either... It's a satin mauve-brown-warm color which I mostly use on my crease. I will not buy this again probably.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 2/23/2013 5:38:00 AM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've been looking at this shadow for a week and in the past I've avoided mauve brown shades. It's one of those shadows that looks interesting as a crease color (and mixed with other shades), but all over the lid it might look like a bruised eye. If you mix it with something like Scene or Copperplate, it gives a very romantic look. Perfect for wedding, which has been mentioned before in reviews. I think the Inglot dupe for this is 344, and it's probably more pigmented--as most Inglot shadows are. I'd use 344 and 339 together.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cgw1 on 2/1/2013 1:15:00 AM more reviews by cgw1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I still can't believe I had never heard of this e/s until I swatched in store...haux must be underhyped because this e/s is incredible. At first I wasn't sure because it is pretty ugly in the pan and by itself on my lids it makes me look sickly (NC20 brown eyes). However, I don't feel like my look is pulled together until I use haux. I only use it as a crease transition shade and underneath my lashline. I use it to blur any harsh lines. I do a smokey eye everyday and haux, a beautiful rosey-brown makes my brown eyes pop and blurs my smokey eyes into perfection. I didn't think it would do anything for my brown eyes but it makes them more vibrant. I don't have a lot of neutrals in my stash, but now that I have haux I don't really want any more.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetascocoa on 1/16/2013 3:26:00 AM more reviews by sweetascocoa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got this eyeshadow the other day, and when I initially saw it I wasn't all that impressed. I swatched it on my hand, and the pigmentation seemed kinda meh. Also, I'm NC50 and I didn't think that the eyeshadow would really show up on my lids without a paint pot to help the pigmentation out.
But, I was super wrong. I applied this shadow over my UDPP, and it was such a pretty brown with a slight mauve color. I can put this on my lid and a darker brown (like Brown Down or Ground Brown) in my crease and have a great everyday look. It's a great neutral to have in my collection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products