Unlisted Brand • CRS Cell Rejuvenation Serum w/ Growth Factor (Citrix by Topix brand) • Skincare - Face

rated 4.6(7 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Madwilso on 9/13/2012 12:43:00 PM more reviews by Madwilso

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been holding off on doing a review of this product because I wanted to have an accurate timeframe of how long the bottle lasted. So far, it has been 3.5 months of 1x day, every other day and I have not run out yet. I will update once I switch to a new bottle.
UPDATE 11/16/12: My first bottle of 15% finally ran out. It lasted 6 months with every other day usage.
I am 26 with acne-prone skin (lame) and I decided to focus on that in conjunction with anti-aging. I started tretinoin cream 6 months ago for both of those issues. I also wanted to focus on cell repair and anti-oxidants, the fact that Vitamin C is also helpful for PIH is a major plus. Finding a Vitamin C serum can be majorly overwhelming! Percentage, Vitamin C formula, pH, delivery system, oxidation, and price are all important factors. I purchased this serum in the 15% based on the recommendation of Dr. Bailey's blog. I truly believe that Topix products are top quality and completely unappreciated by the masses!
This serum is a pH of 3 (great!) with L-Ascorbic acid (most effective, but can be irritating and the hardest form to stabilize) and is in an airless pump (so perfect!). The delivery system is filled with silicones, that is to ensure that the L-Ascorbic acid is not exposed to air and prevents oxidation. Because of the airless pump and silicones, this product does not need to be kept in the fridge and does not need to be stabilized with ferulic acid or vitamin E. No offense to those ingredients, but it's my understanding that the Vitamin E isn't even effective at the same pH of Vitamin C. I have not once smelled oxidation (the raw meat, metal kind of smell) when I have pumped it out, but there is a slight orange tinge to the remnant product around the nozzle, which indicates to me that it is an active serum. The "serum" is not the usual gel like consistency that would generally come to mind with that word. It is an opaque white paste, kind of like a very thick primer. Which is pretty comparable to the effect it has on the skin. It is completely mattifying, which oily skins will love, but it may accentuate dry patches if moisturizer isn't applied on top. I personally like to wash my face, apply my toner and while it's still damp I rub my 1 pump/pea sized amount of C/R/S onto my skin. I feel that it spreads better that way. I wait about 45 secs - minute and then apply lotion. I feel a "tingle" every time that I apply it, but that term should not be confused with "burning sensation", the tingle is not painful and short lived. But I feel like something is happening to my skin every time I apply it, which is reassuring when you drop so much money on a product.
Vitamin C is immediately absorbed into the skin when applied topically, and is stored for up to 72 hours. This is partially why I only apply it 3 times a week. The other reasons are that my skin is on the sensitive side due to tretinoin use, and that it's expensive and if it's still effective with less usage and can last longer, then why not?!
How does my skin look after using this product? My skin f*cking glows! Dark marks are fading faster and my tone overall is more even. That's probably partly due to the tretinoin, but I believe it's also the C/R/S serum. Which is why I have already ordered my second bottle, but the 20% concentration. I will report back if there's a noticeable difference, besides price. I did not notice that the silicones had any negative effect on my acne or pore clogging.
Packaging - Great. It's a sturdy container with a pump that accurately dispenses a perfect amount. I store it on its side, and I haven't had any issues with it. It's super effective at keeping the air away from the product, which is wonderful and adds to the shelf life.
Price - Expensive, for a product, but not compared to other Vitamin C serums that go rancid half way through the bottle due to the poor packaging and stabilization. I got mine for $81, if it lasts 4 months then it's $20.25 per month. Not too shabby.
If you purchase it from essentialdermcare.com and use code CTX25, you get 25% off and sample (I got a huge sample of the Replenix eye repair serum which I also heart) and free shipping.
If you purchase from dermstore.com, add to your favorites list for 10% off and free shipping.

Absolutely give this product a try, it's superb.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* felgoj on 12/7/2011 7:52:00 PM more reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My new favorite product!


I did like Lancome Genifique (used 2 sample bottles) but I won't pay the price for a full size, so I switched to L'Oreal Youth Code which costs less & is supposed to be virtually the same product (frankly, I like Genifique better). I use this after cleansing @ night.


In the morning only, I put on CRS Citrix (10% strength was all I could currently afford) on a bare face & spread the rest into my hands. I LOVE the texture - kind of a dry looking paste that squeezes out of an airless pump dispenser but applies to skin smooth as silk but matte - thanks to silicones, like an anti-aging makeup primer. My face nowadays isn't so oily as it was just 5 yrs ago, but it's still shiny looking & this product both targets accumulated skin damage & mattifies my face @ the same time - fantastic! No separate powder needed on top, which I love b/c I don't bother w/daily makeup anymore.


Aside from being loaded w/silicones, the wonderful ingredients that are working to renew my face & smooth out my wrinkles+pores are: vitamin C (ascorbic acid), squalane (moisture) & TGF (growth factor). I used to use CellexC yrs ago but was also very costly & the watery liquid was both tricky to apply & would go rancid in the bottle too quickly. I love that this product is packaged in an airless container to keep it fresh & pumps just the right amount for each application - about a pea size dollop. Smoothes easily over my face & sinks in nicely, leaving my skin feeling velvety but not greasy or coated at all.


On my hands after an hour I can smell the vitamin C developing that well-known oxidized scent in my skin, which lets me know the vit C is doing its beneficial work within my skin. It's exactly 2 wks now that I've been using it & I love it already! Will continue to use this product(hopefully can move up to 15% or 20% next time).


3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amonavis on 10/27/2010 11:46:00 PM more reviews by amonavis

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product has definately increased collagen production in my skin. My skin seems a lot firmer and more radiant. It is the only Vitamin C serum I have used that does not irritate my very sensitive, often red skin with mild rosacea. I have used Obagi and Skinceuticals Vitamin C serums and this one works better than those other ones. I like that it is very stable and does not become discolored or oxidize. I use the 15% concentration of this product. I highly recommend this product despite the fact that it is very pricey. The product does last quite a while as you only need a pea size amount once a day. I apply this, wait 15 minutes, then moisturizer, wait 5 minutes, then sunscreen.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* suzi2qs on 8/22/2009 10:47:00 AM more reviews by suzi2qs

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this for over a month now, I have the 20% strength. As stated by prior reviewers, this does tingle upon application and does mattify the skin. It absorbs very quickly and my skin does look good after applying and is making a difference for me. I am 46 with dry/combo skin with a few wrinkles and I use Restylane in the nasalabial folds. This is helping to make my skin look much younger (in combination with other products) and hopefully it will increase the time between Restylane injections which have given me 10 years back but cost dearly. I try to limit what I spend on anti-aging products because nothing works quite as well as the Restylane, but I know I must care for my skin the best I can. This is a high dollar item, but I think I will repurchase when I run out. I use Vitamin C serums, Niacin products and Retin-A plus a simple moisturizer. Seems to be working. Edit: Added a lippie, this stuff makes my skin glowy and healthy. Is now a staple.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BelleFlower on 8/1/2008 10:54:00 PM more reviews by BelleFlower

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm giving this one 3 lippies. It works, but I like to be conservative in assessments rather than over-hype a product. The things I didn't like about it were: very mattifying (I have extremely dry dry skin and I could smear crisco on my face and not get a pimple), the thickness of the product (really not serum-like at all, plus i put products on a damp face because of my dryness and it is hard to spread because of the texture), and the packaging (hate the pump).

What I did like was that it made me glow nicely. It felt tingly going on and I like feeling my product work. However, my face responds really really well to vit C, so I'm not sure if you'll notice anything if you don't normally respond well to C. If the texture of the product was different (more serum-like) and it didn't mattify, I'd buy this loyally.

I'm 37 with fair very dry skin, slight rosacea, fine texture, look younger (people guess I'm 28-29).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Dagne7 on 6/11/2008 12:28:00 PM more reviews by Dagne7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a nice vitamin C serum that is more like a cream. I like the pump that it comes in. It really tingles upon application, especially on a freshly washed face. It's mostly cones so it has that primer feel and it will ball up if over-applied. It does seem to plump up the skin and make it brighter. No breakouts, either. I use the 10% right now.

Ingredients:
Cyclomethicone
L-Ascorbic Acid
Silicone Polymer
Dimethicone
Purified Water
Dimethicone Crosspolymer
Phospholipids
TGF-beta-1
Cimicifuga Racemosa Root Extract
Phenoxyethanol

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kateecakes on 7/8/2007 7:58:00 PM more reviews by kateecakes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is wonderful. This product has litterally slowed my early signs of aging and done a bit of time erasing too. :) It feels a bit tingly (which is a little odd). If you have sensitive skin, like me, it may make your face look a little flush for a few minutes, but that subsides. I have acne prone skin and this did not lead to further break-outs! (Thank God)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Unlisted Brand products

More Skincare - Face products