MAC Shirelle

4.2

13 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/8/2013 5:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Shirelle is a true tomato red. I love Mac's cream nail polish formula, and this one is no exception. It is thin enough to be easy to work with, but is not sheer or streaky at all. In fact, you can totally get away with just a single coat, the colour just won't look as deep. Use a good base and top coat, or else tip wear will show very quickly.



on 10/26/2012 1:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

If you're looking for a true red polish, this is it. This is very pigmented and two coats is all you need and it looks flawless. The polish itself applies really really nice and smooth with no streaking. Average dry time as well. Wears for about 4-6 days for me with a decent top coat.


on 9/15/2012 7:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have finally found my red!!! Being a ruddy strawberry blonde of Scottish descent, I NEVER wear red-no red clothes, no red, lipstick, no red nail polish. The closest I could come is red shoes or purse. But this red polish is stunning on me!!! I'm older, too, and have age spots that luckily pass for freckles on my hands, and I'm pale (NW15). THIS POLISH MAKES THE SKIN ON MY HANDS GLOW! (sorry to yell), but this polish makes my hands so beautiful. The bright color detracts from imperfections.

Red polish always made my hands look odd. But this polish is bright and warm, I think, but not orange-y. I think the color is "clean" and sophisticated, and can be worn year-round. I tested it and ended up doing one whole hand. One coat would be enough!!! It doesn't dry particularly shiny, so I would do 2 coats and a topcoat IRL.

I read that it chips easily, but I still give it 5 stars b/c it is such a flattering color and very good for older hands.


on 1/15/2011 7:31:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Love the colour, kind of a retro fire engine glossy red. Quite opaque, applies smoothly, but chips super easy. Even with a top coat applied I still find I have to wear this polish with caution to avoid accidental chipping.


on 9/13/2009 3:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This nail polish caught my eye during one of my previous MAC store visits. A lovely full colour..just had to have it..so I bought it.

I love the way it applies, not too thick, not too thin/runny, nice and creamy. Probably my fave nail polih when it comes to applying.

Looks real fancy while on..

But..it takes a long time til it has really dried. So many times I have accidently chipped my nails while getting ready for a party, though the two coats had already been applied over 30 minutes ago.

And the big bummer about this product: It doesn't last long AT ALL. Here in Germany MAC products are pretty cashy, and the fact that some nail's coatings are already peeling off after a few hours..not good..not good at all.

To sum things up: Lovely colour, more fun and punk than classy though, but if you want something that lasts..buy something else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/22/2009 8:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my go-to red. It's bold and eyecatching, but it's not too old, if that makes sense. If you're like me, and find that most of the reds you try on your nail have pink or black undertones, when you really just want a red, then this is for you. Totally pigmented, retro nautical red. Almost only needs one coat, but do two to achieve a high gloss finish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The color is good, almost like what I would call Superman Red but the formula is horrible. Honestly I under coated, over coated, slept, took a shower, went to one class. Half the nail polish had chipped off. Try revlon red, easily lasts 4 days with top and under coat. Same basic color for half the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/8/2008 8:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This color is really pretty, it's sort of a matte red. In my opinion it looks really fun and retro, I wouldn't consider this color as serious nor sophisticated. I would also say that it lasts quite a lot on my toes, almost an entire week or so, I don't know if it would on my hands because I barely use nail polish on them. But overall, I really like this product a lot and I would suggest anyone to use it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/13/2008 4:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I definitely wouldn't call this deep. When I think of deep red, I think of a more saturated red . MAC's Shirelle is just BRIGHT! On my hand, it actually looked kind of flat, a fire engine red bordering on coral. I was hoping for a 50's pinup kind of look, but felt like it was too bright/light/coral to achieve that. It didn't suit me or look good with anything I normally wear. I just felt like it must have been catching everyone's attention, and not in a good way.

I can see how this can be a fun color, but not for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This red is a deep,true red.Very glamourous,retro,hot,sexy all in one! Love @ 1st sight :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
136 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
359 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
346 Reviews


Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top