Max Factor Volume Couture Waterproof

4.1

114 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Petroleum Distillates, Polyethylene, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Copernicia Cerifera Wax (Carnauba), Trihydroxystearin, Propylene Carbonate, Pentaerythrityl Hydrogenated Rosinate, Tall Oil Glycerides, Panthenol, Propylparaben, Tocopheryl Acetate, Phenoxyethanol, Tocopherol, May Contain ( /-): Iron Oxides, Ultramarines, Titanium Dioxide


on 7/14/2011 10:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my current favorite Mascara. I buy brown black and it is the most natural looking Mascara I have found. It holds the curl, doesn't clump even with a ton of coats, and doesn't flake.
The two drawbacks are that it smudges a little by the end of the day, and I don't like the tube.



on 5/3/2011 4:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I LOVE the skinny wand. It made applying in the inner corners and lower lashes super easy and didn't get all over my skin. It also holds my lashes pretty well which is a huge deal for me. It held the curl pretty much throughout the day. Also, it had pretty good lengthening as well.

However, the only thing that was a downslide was that it didn't have much volume. It's not THAT big of a deal to me but it would've been nice if it was a bit more volumnizing. This being said, this mascara gives me the "natural" eyelashes look. I ended up pairing this with another mascara that had good volume to get the volume I desired .. which worked out pretty well.

Overall, I do love this mascara and it's a shame that it's discontinued. If I saw this in a store, I'd probably repurchase it again but I wouldn't go out of my way and order it online since there's better mascaras I can easily get my hands on at stores.


on 7/12/2010 4:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

When I first got this I found the plastic brush difficult, stiff and pokey and the formula thin and watery. I didn't use it for a month, just letting it sit and picked it up again recently and the formula must have dried a little and now it works perfectly. It gets me good volume and a little length with minimal clumping unlike some other volume building mascaras. However, I still want something that gives me a bit more length.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/17/2010 6:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

PROs:
- Didn't leave major clumps
- Slightly lengthened lashes
- Affordably priced
CONs:
- Not really waterproof. At the end of the day, the mascara had left raccoon marks.
- Hard to get off. You need an oil-based makeup remover to get this off.
- Some clumping.

For a mascara so high on the MUA Top Picks list, I was pretty unimpressed. Because I was so underwhelmed, I purchased it 3 times thinking that I was missing out on that special something. However, I finally realized that this mascara definitely wasn't stellar, though it did its job adequately. In conclusion, "meh."

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/10/2010 10:31:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Love this mascara. Never clumps, never flakes and never leaves me with raccoon eyes - my test for a holy grail! Too bad Max Factor is no longer being sold in the US. *sigh*


on 10/22/2009 7:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think this mascara does give you some length, but not as much as I was hoping for. I would never buy it again though because it is to hard to get off my eyes. I have never had such a hard time getting mascara off my eyes as I have with this one. By the time I am finished wiping my eyes, they burn no matter if I use oil free eyemakeup remover, or ponds makeup remover which has oil it


on 10/18/2009 9:41:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I USE THIS ON MY EYEBROWS -- in the Brown color.

There are many Eyebrow gels and I have probably tried all of them... but trust me, for thin eyebrows, or someone needing a boost of color, this is THE product.

It is waterproof. It does not smudge or move once applied. It is not wet and gloppy (which many gels for eyebrows are)... granted some of the colors may not suit all hair colors i.e. Anastasia, Bobbi Brown, Lancome have sophisticated colors-- but the quality of the product warrants the use of this mascara as a thickener/builder for brows.

Since my eyebrows are thin I pencil them in, use a powder eyebrow powder on top of this vs. wax, and then I comb them out with one, sometimes two coats of mascara (the first one is always MF), after that I lightly brush with my spoolie and after powdering my whole face, re-apply a brow mascara such as BB or Anastasia or Lancome. It does not look heavy or overdone.

This is the only way I have found to make my brows look thicker, color tuned to my hair and suitable to my face.

love this and already have a few backups in my stash. The price is unbeatable.

p.s. the Auburn color is fantastic for anyone with Strawberry, Auburn, or Red hair... I sometimes use the two instead of the BB et. al. .. this product works!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/28/2009 10:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

This can be my HG if it can give me thicker lashes - my lashes don't seem to look as dense when I'm using Lancome Hypnose WP. But then, I can't deny that this is a good and cheaper alternative that will give me length and some volume. Great for everyday use or if you're afetr a polished look and don't want anything dramatic. I'm not sure about the not-enough-lash-thickening issue is because of the formula or the shade I have - mine is in black brown from a swap.

It's such a pain that I can't find it here in Asia. Otherwise, I will surely buy the one in black to compare.

Although this claimed to be waterproof, it isn't that waterproof when compared to Majolica Majorca's mascaras - those are a pain to remove completely even with cleansing oil without losing my poor lashes. Well, at least, I won't get racoon eyes with this even it's hot and humid here. Not too bad and well-worth the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/20/2009 9:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I honestly love this mascara. I use it daily just for some definition to my lashes since I'm asain. It holds a curl very well, it doesn't smudge on me, and it doesn't flake either. Even after taking a nap with it on, it still won't move! I agree with some of the previous reviews saying how it doesn't really give a lot of volume, but it does lengthen and separate pretty well. Plus, it's pretty buildable so it's not that big of a problem. I highly recommend this product :)


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i was using max factor 2000 calories forever but then they changed the brush and now its all big and clumsy so i bought the volume couture thinking it would be comparable with a more precise brush but NOOOOOOOOPE!! dude it is no bueno. it did the exact opposite of what it was supposed to do...GIVE ME VOLUME!! it made me look like i had about 5 lashes on each eye...it was horrible. i wish that the brush from volume couture fit inside the new 2000 calorie (but it doesnt, i tried) so i dont know what to do. ooh well...if you want actual volume...dont buy this mascara...if you want definition...im assuming it would work well for that. for me...YUCK!!


Popular Mascaras


Miss Manga
430 Reviews
Roller Lash
106 Reviews
They're Real
2013 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Product Wars - Episode 3 by fionaman



Top Rated Max Factor Products

image

Masterpiece Max

238 reviews
Back to Top