Alba Botanica • Very Emollient Body Lotion - Unscented Original • Lotions/ Creams

rated 3.8(48 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 an0uck on 1/8/2014 1:29:00 AM more reviews by an0uck

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Bought this off iHerb for approx $12-13 AU. Wasn't packed properly, so leaked a bit, but 9/10 of it still there. Easily enough to have been using it for a month and get an idea of how it feels.

Really really great moisturiser. I have dry skin, and it actually makes my skin feel very soft the next day. It would not be good for "very" dry skin (for that you would need certain other ingredients that help heal the skin). But as a daily moisturiser for anyone with dry skin, this is fantastic.

It isn't greasy, soaks in well, doesn't leave stickiness on clothes. Pump bottle is study, and pump is hygienic and simple. Smell is slightly off, but I have made a personal choice to avoid fragranced products (as per Paula's Choice recommendations), and I am happy that I did. So just a very average scent, but obviously this makes it suitable for sentitive skin, by not having irritating fragrances.

It is very good value to me, even though I don't get a full range/many Alba Botanica products where I live. So I would order this again. It is a very generous size (nearly a kg!), meaning that it is ridiculously good value for the type of product it is (that "natural" product market) - with or without shipping. It would be 1 lippie on price, but I added another, just because it is not as easily available to me.


Overall, great moisturiser, nothing to irritate my skin, literally makes my skin feel soft (a rare experience for a moisturiser!), average scent, awesome value, good pump packaging. Try it out if you have normal or dry skin (but not very dry).

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 leiraloveall on 1/3/2014 9:39:00 PM more reviews by leiraloveall

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I will never buy this again. Ever. Within seconds of applying this lotion my arm started to swell, leaving me with a painful bright red welt. Like other reviews my arm was hot to the touch and looked like a bad sunburn. I hope this is not a lotion that will be available much longer, especially with claims of being for sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Andee on 11/12/2013 5:19:00 AM more reviews by Andee

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a great paraben free body moisturizer with no scent that I can detect. It is thick, but my skin drinks it up quickly yet leaves my skin very well moisturized. It works equally well for me as a hand lotion, better than expensive hand treatments I've tried from La Mer and Darphin. I like that there is no scent to conflict with my fragrance. It is very economical. I buy the 32 oz size if it is on special at Whole Foods. For some reason that makes no sense, it was only $10.99 a few weeks ago, the same price as the 12 oz. I like it as much if not more than Whole Foods brand Moisture Lotion which is also paraben free and the Alba Botanica is even more economical.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jdbly11 on 8/24/2013 12:00:00 PM more reviews by jdbly11

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I found this lotion to be very thick and definitely offered a lot of moisture. I do not know why some people are saying it did not offer much moisture. I don't really like how this feels on my skin. It feels really heavy and is very greasy. It leaves a film on my skin. I much prefer Olay therapeutic lotion, which is not at all greasy or filmy, though it would be nice if that product was a little more moisturizing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chihuaualover on 5/23/2013 4:12:00 PM more reviews by chihuaualover

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lotion! I buy the giant bottle for around $15, which is not bad because it lasts me a really long time even when I use it everyday. Unscented, which I love! Gentle, does not break me out, and most important soaks in super fast without greasy residue. I am a "morning showerer" so I need a lotion that soaks in without leaving a grease residue, fast! I cannot be putting my clothes on and getting lotion stains on me.

Non-comedeogenic, Cruelty free, No parabens, Sulfates, or Phthalaltes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Zoaie on 5/23/2013 11:04:00 AM more reviews by Zoaie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My hands, elbows, and sometimes my arms get really dry. I purchased this lotion, because the price was good for the size, it's unscented- so it won't clash at all with any of the perfumes that I wear, and it says that it's good for sensitive skin.

Well, I have been using this lotion for the last several months, and while I can say that the bottle has lasted me a very long time, I can't say that the reasons for that are all good. This lotion seemed to be okay to use during the Summer, when my skin was naturally a little oily from the heat; but during the Fall and Winter seasons, this lotion just didn't cut it for me at all. Even though it costs more, especially for the amount that you get- I have found myself going back to the Gold Bond Ultimate lotion, that I used to use.

I will keep the remainder of the this Alba Botanica lotion to use on my legs when I need it, but I won't repurchase it once I run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alisha_the_kitten on 12/14/2012 9:44:00 PM more reviews by alisha_the_kitten

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've used this lotion for a couple of years. I used to love this one in the warm/hot and humid months, because it was light and sank in quickly. It's also very reasonably priced.


However, the last bottle that I got says "new improved hydration" on it, and it's definitely a different formula. This stuff is unscented, but the ingredients now have a weird, pungent smell to them. I only use this lotion on my legs nowadays, so I guess it doesn't bother me *that* much. But the formula has changed too. It's no longer light and silky; now it's thicker and takes a lot longer to sink in. It does leave a little bit of a film over the skin, but it's not as bad as the "new and improved" versions of the Nature's Gate lotions, thankfully.


The newer version of the lotion does seem to be more moisturizing in dry and cold weather. The old version wasn't heavy or hydrating enough for the winter. So I guess that can be a plus. I've read that adding a little distilled water to this lotion makes it more similar to the older, thinner version, but I haven't tried that yet. Could be helpful for use in summer. I'll include both versions of the ingredient lists so you can compare for yourself.


New Ingredient List: water, glycerin, glyceryl stearate SE, safflower seed oil, sesame seed oil, cetyl alcohol, dimethicone, ethylhexyl stearate, cetearyl alcohol, shea butter, avocado oil, organic jojoba seed oil, grape seed oil, organic aloe barbadensis leaf juice, organic camellia sinensis leaf extract, organic matricaria flower extract, cucumber fruit extract, coneflower extract, organic lavender extract, allantoin, panthenol, tocopheryl acetate, lecithin, polysorbate 60, potassium hydroxide, xanthan gum, organic alcohol, benzoic acid, dehydroacetic acid, phenoxyethanol.


Old Ingredient List: purified water, safflower seed oil, glycerin, isopropyl palmitate, glyceryl stearate SE, stearic acid, jojoba seed oil, cucumber fruit extract, ulva lactuca extract, organic green tea extract, organic aloe vera extract, organic lavender extract, organic coneflower extract, organic matricaria flower leaf extract, organic rosemary extract, sesame seed oil, grape seed oil, avocado oil, allantoin, panthenol, tocopherol, lecithin, sodium benzoate, cetyl alcohol, dimethicone, citric acid, sodium hydroxide, carbomer, ethylhexlglycerin, potassium sorbate.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scopingforyou on 11/5/2012 3:06:00 PM more reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

PROS: Perfect amount of moisturizing for me (doesn't leave any greasy film but really moisturises my dry skin, especially on feet and legs.) No scent. Natural ingredients.


CONS: A little hard to find, although, now, my Walmart is carrying this. The 32 oz. pump packaging doesn't let you easily get the last of the product out easily. I have to end up turning it upside down and messing with it to get the remainder out. (I did give it a bad packaging rate for this reason.)


PURCHASING TIPS: I get this cheaper through Walmart or even cheaper through Vitacost. I also get the larger sizes to save money on it, which is 32 oz. pump.


APPLICATION TIPS: I like to have at least a little moisture left on me from the shower before applying this. It really seals the moisture in, and I get to use less product. But this works great without the wet too. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DecoDolly on 10/14/2012 1:39:00 AM more reviews by DecoDolly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am very pleasantly surprised by this lotion! I have incredibly sensitive skin on my legs, which always seems to be dry and irritated and bumpy and itchy... Every lotion that I've ever used have burned horribly after I shave. I use straight coconut oil now, but it's not very travel-friendly, so I needed something else while at the SO's. I picked this up on a whim, and it's fantastic! No burn or sting when applied to freshly shaved legs, and my skin feels soft and smooth, with no bumps or irritation or itch!
It's honestly the best lotion I've tried to for sensitive skin. I will definitely repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dawnfire90 on 1/22/2012 3:11:00 PM more reviews by dawnfire90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this unscented version based on the 90% rebuy reviews on the original version. The ingredients are the same except no fragrance. It doesn't smell like anything in the container but once I put it on my skin I smell like PHO. No I haven't eaten any recently. Maybe its just my body chemistry with it but it doesn't smell very good on me. I usually use Vaseline Intensive Rescue Repairing Moisture Lotion and wanted to try to find something better. With this it seems like I need to put on 2x as much lotion as normal to get half the moisturizing ability as my vaseline lotion. I do like how it has all the natural oils but they just don't stack up. It doesn't last very long either, ive had it 5 days and I am already 1/3 through the bottle. It also absorbs really fast which is nice for the beginning of the day, maybe during summer instead of winter. But definitely need something more moisturizing after a shower. I am probably going to try Gold Bond Ultimate Healing Skin Therapy Lotion next.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alba Botanica products

More Lotions/ Creams products