The Body Shop • Wood Wide-Tooth Detangling Comb • Hair Styling Tools

rated 4.4(21 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 3/24/2014 8:58:00 AM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I get less static than a standard plastic comb which is really important if you have fine flyaway hair like mine. However after 6 months use my comb formed a small crack near one end, gradually getting bigger and bigger until it snapped in off 2 years later. I was pretty disappointed, as I didn't use it in the shower and only got it damp three times a week combing through my wet hair after a shower, I never got it actually wet.

I replaced the broken Body Shop wood one with a Mason Pearson rake comb I purchased online. I'm glad I did! Its slips through my hair noticibly smoother than the wood one and my hair is growing faster again back to the speeds it was when I was using my old plastic comb. I didn't realise it at the time, but in hindsight in the 2 1/2 years I used it, the body shop wood comb was contributing to breaking of the ends of my hair, and my previously very long hair got shorter and shorter as well as frizzy split ends due to the damage it was creating!! Now I am using the Mason Pearson comb it must be far more gentle as my fringe and lengths are growing like crazy again and I also notice much less shedding.

I don't think the Body Shop wooden combs are economical, or long lasting, and I suggest that if you have fine or damaged hair it may be too rough on your hair like it was on mine. A laquered wood comb, perhaps, but I would not recommend a Body Shop wood comb.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Perfectbody on 3/18/2014 3:31:00 AM more reviews by Perfectbody

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Totally LOVE this comb!
Reduce static, less lost hair, more shine, soft and straighten.

I've used it around 2 years and it stills quite new.
If you do care it well, it will last long with you for many years.
I usually wipe it with coconut oil once a week, avoiding with water.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rosateh on 3/2/2014 1:50:00 AM more reviews by rosateh

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been purchasing this detangling comb to be given as gifts to my friends. Trying to get them to change from plastic combs to wooden comb and all my friends are so pleased with the results. They all commented it had made their hair soft and silky. By the way, many reviewers mentioned that they used this comb on wet hair and I have tried this method and it cost me to shed a fair bit of hairs. For me, it works best on my dry or almost dry hair and then there will be hardly any hair loss. I definitely going to buy more of this comb for myself and friends.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NicoleTMY on 3/25/2013 4:54:00 AM more reviews by NicoleTMY

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this! It is good for thick long hair and detangles as it runs through hair. This is a must-have for ladies with thick hair as it suits the hair type

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kolwink on 9/27/2012 8:39:00 PM more reviews by kolwink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was worried about hair loss, so I started reading up on anything that seemed tangentially pertinent. How about hair care tools? A couple sites recommended using wooden combs instead of plastic, and wide-tooth instead of narrow.


So, then, this wooden wide-tooth fit the bill pretty well! I've always liked The Body Shop's company narrative, so it was a bonus making this purchase from them. I now have a comb in my purse, on my dresser, and at my parents' house as well ... so I'll always be covered.


Gently using this comb feels like a scalp massage. The teeth are slightly rounded, and it feels a million times better than the cheap plastic combs I used to use, which could sometimes have rather sharp teeth.


On the whole, I think I have less hair breakage now, definitely due to switching to a wide-tooth comb. And I'd also agree with an article I found on the livestrong.com site, which says "Wood and horn combs help to spread natural oils found at the base of your scalp throughout your hair, thus providing a nice lubricating coat of natural oils that your scalp produces for protection."


Simple, well-made product (I know, it's a comb, how complicated can it be?) but I'm really a fan of the wood wide-tooth.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jasmeen5757 on 4/28/2012 5:01:00 AM more reviews by jasmeen5757

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this comb. I have had mine for years now. Its the only one i use. I could not live without this comb. It combs my hair without pulling or hurting my scalp. Def recommend

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cherryme on 3/7/2012 10:39:00 AM more reviews by cherryme

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this comb! I have 4 of them because I work abroad so I have one at home, one at my bf's place and 2 in my country (one at my place and one at my bro's place).
It is very good for detangling my wavy hair. It doesn't make my hair frizzy, it doesn't hurt my scalp and it doesn't hurt when I pull my hair bit stronger (sometimes my hair gets very ''knoted''). I have one for 3 years and it is still good! I will buy again (I guess not soon as the combs are in good condition...for now).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sofiaramos1993 on 9/8/2011 12:50:00 PM more reviews by sofiaramos1993

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this comb, I use it everytime i wash my hair to detangle and comb trough. It works really well and because its wooden I believe its good for the hair. Its as a medium size its not little but not really big, its good for travelling and keeping on the hand bag.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleyanders on 7/22/2011 4:29:00 PM more reviews by ashleyanders

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

** Staple product in my hair care routine; can be equated to HG status.


What it Claims:
"Get uptight hair to cooperate with this gentle, wide-toothed must-have. Just make sure to always go gentle on wet hair."


Claims - True or False?
1) Gentle on hair: True.


Packaging:
Cardboard wrapping around the middle which is kept in place with adhesive. The adhesive took a little while to remove completely and eventually all residue wore off with regular use.


Construction:
Made of uncoated wood, meaning it cannot be used in water. The top/handle of the comb is 1-2 inches tall and about half a centimetre thick, offering a good grasp. I've not had any issues with the comb slipping.
The edges, including the wooden teeth, are rounded off; with my sensitive scalp, I experience no pain or soreness when the comb is used daily and right up against the scalp.The teeth are separated enough to allow for cleaning in between with a q-tip or washcloth, although because it is made of wood, deep cleaning may not be very feasible. The comb is about the length of my hand, which makes it a good size for quick and easy combing.


Wear and Tear:
My original comb snapped in half after I used it in the shower for a number of months. Despite this, the two halves still work just fine on their own, and while both still retain mild hair gunk residue due to being unable to wash with soap, it has not had any effect on my hair. Barring use in water, this comb is definitely durable and will likely only need replacing if the wood starts getting too dirty to clean, but likely wouldn't need replacing for many years.


Bang for your Buck:
$7.00CAD. Even if replaced yearly, that's less than 10 bucks a year.


Final Consensus:
This comb works great on my thicker, curly/wavy hair. It de-tangles without pulling on the hair, doesn't seem to be causing any damage, helps to remove loose strands easily, and can even be gently used on dry curls to soften them up without destroying them. Also wonderful for sensitive scalps that cannot handle conventional plastic or metal combs/brushes. The only gripe I can see with the comb itself is that the description would make it seem as though it is meant to be used on wet hair, but such use would very likely contribute to potential cracking.
- pros: nice size, comfortable use, doesn't irritate scalp, doesn't snag/pull hair, affordable, works well for combing out knots
- cons: cannot be used in shower, more difficult to clean.


Overall Rating: 5/5
Price: 1/5
Packaging Quality: 3/5
Would you buy this product again: Yes.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jellybabythepinkcat on 5/23/2011 5:25:00 PM more reviews by jellybabythepinkcat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought it a few months ago to comb my long and thick hair. Love that it is made of wood. It comforts me to own something natural for myself. But it does pull my hair like nothing else. It is hard and pulls my hair so much that it really hurts. I own a Mason Pearson brush and it feels like heaven compering to this.
It could be useful for short hair. But I would not recommend it to ladies with long hair.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Hair Styling Tools products