NARS Aqua Gel Hydrator

4.0

62 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water), Cyclomethicone, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Sodium Chloride, Squalane, Dimethicone Copolyl, Dimethicone, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Alcohol, Tocopherol, Citrus Dulcis (Orange Oil), Potassium Hydroxide, Silica, Vitis Vinifera (Grape Seed Oil), Pyrus Cydonia (Quince Extract), Sodium Hexametaphosphate, Propylene Glycol, Melilotus Officinalis (Sweet Clover Extract), Lavandula Hybrida (Lavandin Oil), Prunus Persica (Peach Kernel Extract), Aloe Barbandensis (Aloe Barbandensis Extract), Lilium Candidum (White Lily Extract), Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben


on 8/29/2015 5:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This was used on my face by a Nars counter assistant when I was being colour matched for all day luminous weightless foundation, she advised it was oil free but incredibly moisturising

My skin felt good, like REALLY good, I considered buying it there and then but then she told me the price and I couldn't really justify it.... £41 would lead to me spending a small fortune and I have other moisturisers I've loved as much for a smidgen of that price!

I managed to buy some from a MUA via depop for half the price and paired it with all day luminous (in the hope of loving the foundation, but didn't - review already on makeup alley) but I found this moisturiser really really nice, deposits not containing any oil it hydrated my patches skin and left it looking dewy and refreshed, all foundation I tried on top of it sat really well

It's a great product, but if you're going to use it every day it'll be pricey as the tub isn't huge and I like the lather on product! The moisture pay off reminds me a little of moisture surge which is cheaper and just as good!



on 7/20/2015 2:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

So far, I am really loving this gel moisturizer. It has not broken me out at all. It feels like it turns to water when I apply it to my skin, and it doesn't leave any kind of residue on my face. It really does feel like a second skin to me! I use it before I apply my primer and makeup, and sometimes I mix it with my foundation to help keep my skin moisturized throughout the day. It's kind of pricey, but I would definitely repurchase. Love NARS products!


on 7/5/2012 11:06:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is my holy grail moisturizer for my dehydrated, dry skin. I love the feeling of relaxation when I put this on day and night, after washing my face. My face is immediately soothed and hydrated. the only complaint I have is the price point. I will next try La Roche Posay's Hydraphase Intense Riche to see if I can get the same result for 1/3 of the cost. But if not, I am happy to repurchase.The sales assistant said this is usually used as a hdyration mask, but in the winter I used it as my moisturizer, and works perfectly fine. It has a very faint refreshing smell. But nothing overwhelming. Texture-wise it is sticky for a few seconds until it is absorbed. My skin has certainly improved since I started using this, especially on my problem areas (ie. red, patchy cheeks).
NARS skincare appearantly is made by Shiseido.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/5/2012 10:54:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

As much as I adore Nars cosmetics, I'm not a gigantic fan of Nars' skincare products. However, I noticed my skin was looking dry and dull so I gave this a shot. My skin isn't really sensitive or acne prone, so I was shocked when I woke up to find, as a previous reviewer mentioned, cyst-like bumps on my face. I'm not certain what, exactly, caused the breakout but I know I won't be using this again. Oh, and I didn't even sleep with it on ... I left it on my face for about 15 minutes and rinsed it off well and I still broke out. Oh well. not sure why I even stray from my foolproof hydrator, olive oil mixed with a bit of general moisturizer, which never breaks me out.


on 5/13/2012 1:12:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

love how it feels on my skin and really does hydrate very well, but unfortunately broke me out the very next day i woke up with four cycst pimples on my face, but then i was hoping that was not the cause so i kept using for few more days and then my face got into a mess.....people that are highly acne reactive should first try it as a mask before using it as a moisturizer.


on 11/11/2011 8:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The salesperson at Nars told me never to use it as a daily moisturizer, she said it is a night mask only. I use it maybe once a month to hydrate my skin, and it works, but not in any dramatic or amazing way. The best use I've found for it is mixing a dot with my oil-free foundation. It makes the BEST application. I may or may not buy again. It is very expensive, but this tub will last me two years at least.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/19/2011 5:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I ordered this from skymall on the plane commnig home from florida and I got it on the mail and it is awesome. I like anything from NARS. Great colour and a hint of colour. Next time I will shop fo rthese thing sat Sephora, ebay (forget winning th ebids) or amazon


on 10/16/2011 2:00:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I'm a huge fan of Nars' monochromic packaging and am always happy to pick something from their counter. A stark contrast to their highly recognizable black compacts for the cosmetic line, Nars' skincare comes in all-white or clear containers. Opposite colors, but equally chic. But their products haven't always worked on me, so my purchases are usually limited to no-risk stuff like nail polish or shower gel, the famed "Orgasm" blush excepted. Now, skincare is a big deal, and I kind of surprised myself springing for the gel hydrator and the hydrating toner at once. Well, so far it's a wash: the toner under-delivers, but I do like the gel hydrator. It doesn't work all that well on its own (for dry skin in the winter), but the gel consistency is good for locking in moisture when your skin is freshly moisturized, so I use it as a final step, after a serum and cream have been applied. It also works if you apply this on cleansed skin while in the shower, and steam your face with this on.


on 7/29/2011 9:48:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have chronically dry skin and have a real problem in that most lotions make my face feel moisturized only to be dry and tight an hour later. This NARS hydrator is a great solution. In the morning I use it on it's own, but a few nights a week I layer it on top of the night infusion lipid support serum. I seriously look years younger and fresher. Love it. I will buy it again and am slowing shifting all my skin care products over to NARS. Seriously, your face is worth the price...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/3/2011 4:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This light-textured, gel hydrator is wonderfully refreshing on the skin and hydrates without the heavy feel of many other moisturisers. It is probably best used on oily or combination young adult skin as it would not be rich enough for drier, more mature skins. I am giving it a 4 rating as it does not seem to make any pronounceable difference if it is used more than once or twice a week. Also, packaging is definitely not user friendly.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
Moisturizing Cream
1284 Reviews
Strobe Cream
Strobe Cream
441 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
Sweet Almond Oil
200 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Product Wars - Episode 1 by fionaman



Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Jungle Red

61 reviews
image

Exhibit A

361 reviews
Back to Top