Laura Mercier • Blending Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 1.9(23 reviews)

Average Rating.1.9
Would buy this product again.21%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 SCHAVDA on 5/22/2013 6:45:00 AM more reviews by SCHAVDA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I completely agree with the negative reviews. I bought this brush a few years ago to use with the Laura Mercier mineral foundation and although it works, it sheds like crazy. I spent the whole time trying to pick the hairs off my face every time I used it. This has to be one of the worst brushes I've tried and even cheaper brushes work so much better than this. I paid a lot of money for this brush so there was no excuse for this to be poorly performing. It is a shame because this has put me off trying other brushes in the brand. Clearly, I would not recommend purchasing and am thinking of finally chucking of it as I don't use it anymore!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Pendoline on 12/11/2010 7:31:00 AM more reviews by Pendoline

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am afraid this is the only Laura Mercier product I don't love.

Although the brush is of a good quality and does give even, flawless coverage when used with the mineral foundation powder, it sheds terribly, every single time I use it.

It is very expensive for a brush that sheds so badly. Even though the quality of the bristles far exceeds that of cheaper brands (such as the Bare Escentuals brush), it sheds so much more than other brushes, and I find it impossible to use as a result.

Very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alphabetpony on 1/2/2010 9:05:00 PM more reviews by alphabetpony

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I find this brush to work fine for the purpose of applying mineral foundation. The brush did shed a bit but never more the one hair per use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JClarke on 10/26/2009 2:21:00 PM more reviews by JClarke

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Why oh why didn’t I check out MUA before I bought this? If I had, I would never have bought it! The reason is, because I was persuaded to buy it by the assistant whilst I was buying their mineral powder (good news is that I am very pleased with the mineral powder - see separate review).

It is easily the worst brush I have ever bought – and possibly the most expensive. The hairs just didn’t stop falling out every time I used it. It took me longer to pick all the hairs off my face than it did to apply the powder in the first place! And it was so scratchy.

Eventually I wasn’t having any more and I took it back. I am pleased to say I wasn’t given a lot of hassle and I got my money refunded. However, I was told that “we had a bad batch” which I found difficult to believe given all the reports on MUA. It was also suggested that washing it might improve the situation and maybe I’d like to give it a try but I declined.

Such a shame that this one has let Laura Mercier down because it is one of my favourite brands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* candy_hunter on 9/1/2009 12:26:00 AM more reviews by candy_hunter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I found the perfect brush for applying mineral foundation! The density of the bristles allow for great coverage, never feels rough on my face. I am not sure about the shedding, I just used it for the first time, so I'll come back and let you know if mine starts shedding too. I hope they did remake the brush like what the reviewer said below. EDIT: So it did shed a little bit, not excessive, but one or two hairs every 2-3 uses. Since this is a brush from LM, I expect there to be zero shedding, therefore big points off. The other brushes from LM are all really nice, but not this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pricep2399 on 6/9/2009 3:16:00 PM more reviews by pricep2399

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Wow. What a crappy brush! I've had it for like three years now and EVERY DAY it sheds all over my face. Time to get a new brush, I know, I know, but after shelling out the bux$$$ for this one it is a process to junk it and move on. Laura Mercier seems really hit and miss: some products (secret brightening powder, eye basics, TM) are fantastic, while some - like this crappy brush - are way below DS quality.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Anniespy on 5/6/2009 9:04:00 PM more reviews by Anniespy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Gosh, I'm usually with the review masses but I really like LM brushes. I have use BE, Sephora and cheap- think this is just as good,if not better. I wash them every other week with a brush shampoo and they keep their shape, no shedding. Not sure if that is key but I've had zero problems and will buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* michkal on 3/25/2009 3:47:00 AM more reviews by michkal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This brush is very disappointing. I bought it with mineral powder, but I use it for all powders. I especially wanted to use it for my makeup I carry with me in my purse because of its small size. But, this brush sheds too much that I can't just throw some powder on while on the go. I wind up having to look in the mirror and pick all of the hairs off of my face. I have had it for a while and it has not improved. I've tried washing it an pulling out the looser hairs, but that hasn't made it better either. Plus it is scratchy and feels very cheap like a drugstore brush. I am surprised that Laura Mercier would put this out because most of her other brushes are great. Don't buy this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jaimengaw on 3/16/2009 2:48:00 AM more reviews by jaimengaw

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i think the brush's quality isnt good.. the "feel" of the brush is not good.. not soft enough. mac and shu uemura have better brush. my brush is supposily new, but i've hair dropping off from it already.. not worth the money that i'm paying for it.. ): several of my friends even commented that the texture isnt good..
edit: this is a horrid brush.. the hair on the brush has dropped off to only slightly more than half its original amount by now(7/10/2009)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CashQueen on 2/25/2009 4:03:00 AM more reviews by CashQueen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the worst brush I have ever had the misfortune to use. It is scratchy, does not pick up enough product and sheds like crazy. A total waste of money

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Makeup Brushes products