Prescriptives • Groom Stick for Brows in Clove 03 • Brows

rated 4.1(9 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hothead on 9/29/2009 11:55:00 PM more reviews by Hothead

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't think this product is overpriced.

The texture of the pencil is smooth and not hard as I found in LM, Anastasia, and BB. This has great pigmentation and the colors which I swatched all looked very natural and well thought out for compatible hair colors. I got the Cocoa and the Clove as I sometimes like to use two shades in my feathering.. sounds a bit weird but it works for me!

The one feature I love about these pencils is that they stay on well for a good 8-10 hours even in tropical heat. Their staying power is a bit better than the LM gels.

I will keep buying these as I think they are an excellent product for the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TJ29 on 2/18/2009 9:18:00 PM more reviews by TJ29

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased the cocoa brow pencil. The color is a great match for my dark brown hair. The color glides on smooth with no tugging and it has great staying power. The only downside is for the price it does not last long. I use it everyday and it's last about 2 months. But I will continue to purchase it. Definitely a hg for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 balletflat on 10/6/2008 6:45:00 PM more reviews by balletflat

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This review is for the color Hazelnut. The color was a perfect match for my strawberry blonde hair and the brush and color helped my achieve a very natural brow look. Unfortunately the caps on either end continuously fell off and the stick didn't last long enough (only a month). I purchased Clinique instead because there isn't a Prescriptives nearby where I live and it is too expensive to keep rebuying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 YUpYUp on 5/19/2008 9:04:00 PM more reviews by YUpYUp

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This was probably the worst eyebrow pencil I have ever bought. I don't understand why Prescriptives changed their brow pencil after so many years. I love the regular pencil w/ the small brush on the cap. I used soft brown for so long until they changed it to the thin twist pencil w/ a mascara-like brush on the other end. Here are the problems with the new design:

1) The brush cap kept falling off. Sometimes it would come off in my makeup bag causing the brush itself to fall off. I'll have to always put it back on hoping it would stay.
2) The thin pencil kept breaking and breaking every single time I used it. I kept wasting the pencil. Finally it just ran out. I couldn't tell how much pencil I had left. I had to cross my fingers every time I twisted it to see if I had some more left.
3) The caps on both ends are different lengths. If you put the wrong cap on the pencil end, it will smash the pencil down causing it to break or making you twist again to waste more of the pencil.

Overall, it seems like Prescriptives changed the design of the entire pencil so people will run out fast and get a new one. Not me. I'm never buying it again. And they changed their color names. Soft black doesn't exist. I think it's now Cocoa. Anyway, I would not recommend this product to anyone or buy it again.

I went out and bought a Christian Dior Slate eyebrow pencil. It's actually a pressed powder pencil. It also comes with a mascara-like brush at the end. I've gotten used to using it and it come w/ a pencil sharpener. It's definitely pricier but worth your money. Plus, you can sharpen it and know how much you have left.

I believe my Prescriptives Groom Stick for Brows pencil lasted me one month if that.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* susjs on 5/15/2008 2:23:00 PM more reviews by susjs

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for Groomstick for Brows in Cocoa, I originally went for Clove [I have dark brown hair and find brow colours look best when they're slightly lighter than my hair colour] but the SA insisted that Clove was "too green." I swiped both of these on my hand, and I have to admit compared to the Cocoa, it did look more olive than brown. I really wanted to like this but to me it's just OK, definately not something I'd buy again. Groomstick is a dry pencil that's hard to twist up and didn't apply smoothly or fill in my brows with the natural look I wanted. When I brushed it out with the spoolie it flaked and removed most of the colour. I'm sticking with my Anastasia Medium Ash Brow Powder Duo which gives a fuller, more natural looking brow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 benette on 3/9/2008 1:41:00 PM more reviews by benette

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I decided to try the Px Groom Stick after being disappointed by a Laura Mercier pencil which I felt was just too dry for me.
The Groom Stick is creamy by comparison, but not overly so, so it does not smear. Clove is a perfect color for me; it's a little more ashy than most browns, which tend to be a little reddish in my opinion.
I have medium brown hair and I could have gotten away with cocoa as well, but I I feel like I have pretty thick brows to begin with and I only want a little extra oomph for my wedding. This is exactly what I was looking for! It looks very natural. Also, the spoolie on the other end is great, much better than a mascara spoolie as it's small and dense.
It seems to be pretty smear-proof too, so I'm going to get Espresso or Cocoa for my mom, who has no brows to speak of.
I don't use brow products every day, but I think that I'll use this for special ocassions, and if I ever ran out I would repurchase.
Edit 1/5/13: I repurchased this for YEARS! I started doing my brows regularly once I saw what a difference it made for my overall appearance. I've since moved on to Clinique's SuperFine as Px became harder to get when they went to online-only. I think I like Clinique's even more, and the price is better for sure. I'd still use Px happily, though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Carroll4 on 1/16/2008 11:20:00 AM more reviews by Carroll4

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Love Love this pencil!!! Color is perfect and it stays on all day. The consistancy of the pencil is just right, not too soft & not too hard. I also love that I don't have to sharpen. I've been on the search for the perfect brown pencil and I finally found it. The ONLY downside is that it only lasted about 5 weeks, but I like it too much not to re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lilliebet on 8/11/2007 3:19:00 PM more reviews by lilliebet

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I really do love this product, but I am a little confused by the packaging. The lead is hard to twist up, and as far as I can tell can only be applied bluntly, no sharpening. And you can't twist the lead down once it's up, so if you push it up too far you can't put the top back on without smashing the lead of your 20.00 eye brow pencil. However, it really is very nicely pigmented, very smooth, and the little brush is perfect and precise, and of course it's nice having it right there instead of digging around for another implement. The jury is out right now on a re-purchase, but it's not out of the question...EDIT: Well, I am repurchasing even though I do find it pricey for the amount of product you get. But the product itself really is wonderful. I am of the opinion that as long as your skin is relatively clear and your brows are well groomed you can't go wrong, and the Groomsticks are unbeatable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missvox2 on 6/20/2007 9:27:00 PM more reviews by missvox2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

These are the newest twist up brow pens, one end is the lead, the other is a nice brow spool brush, not the wimpy kind but a real useable spool head to feather color and groom brows. Clove is the second lightest color out of the four. I wouldn't say this is "light". I am a dark brown brunette and this was perfect on me. The lightest color is a medium blonde taupe. These are highly pigmented-- so go lightly, the other two darker shades were too strong on me. These are similar to MAC's brow pens, but I find Px's lead is harder as the MAC ones were too waxy and soft. Even the case is better quality than flimsy MAC's. This one will be a portable version for my trusty Shu Seal Brown. Price is $18.50

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Prescriptives products

More Brows products