Pro Activ • Refining Mask • Masks

rated 3.6(361 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 taral001 on 9/20/2014 11:15:00 PM more reviews by taral001

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is the shining star of the pro activ line. I put it on in the evening and leave it on for 30 minutes before washing it off. It leaves my skin feeling nice and by the morning my breakouts are much improved. It contains sulfur, so it does have a stronger oder, but it doesn't really bother me too much. It is the only pro active product I do not regret buying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CocoaSkinChi on 8/31/2014 8:42:00 PM more reviews by CocoaSkinChi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Dark   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Have used this for about a decade now and will always use it. Its a clutch product for me. If I am breaking out, I use it a few times and viola....breakout is under control.

I also like that it minimizes my pores.

I feel like I'm not using the right products to follow the mask up with. Sometimes it feels like the skin on my forehead is dry which leads to even more oil production. I never use this to get rid of oil. I only use to to get rid of breakouts and minimize my pores.

However i will say that it has to be doing something to the oil because I can see little dots of oil coming out of my pores when I have the mask on. I tend to leave it on for a very very long time so maybe its drying my skin out too much?

Cons: the smell of the sulfur.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Neophiliac on 8/4/2014 3:46:00 AM more reviews by Neophiliac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The Proactiv Refining Mask can be worn for a few minutes if you need to reduce extreme oiliness. It is an excellent spot treatment for zits. Just leave it on the pimple overnight to reduce swelling and rinse off in the morning. Yes, you get the rotten egg smell when you wash it, but the smell does not linger on your skin if you rinse well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JJKZ on 6/9/2014 1:25:00 AM more reviews by JJKZ

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Hands down, best acne treatment on the planet (that is if you are not allergic to active ingredient - sulfur) it is truly magic - overnight a little dab just like Jess Simpson said in the commercial, unless its a huge painful red/yellow zit takes a couple of tries. Huge fan!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 auntita on 1/13/2014 11:24:00 PM more reviews by auntita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried the Pro Activ refining mask years ago because it came with the kit I had ordered. I found that it really did work quite well especially as a spot treatment. Unfortunately the smell was just too disgusting for me to repurchase, especially if using as a mask. It left my face smelling like rotten eggs because it had such a strong sulfur smell. So much so, that I felt self conscious about getting to close to anyone for days after using this.
Like the rest of the Pro Activ products, this is also quite harsh.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jesssparkles on 10/18/2013 4:40:00 AM more reviews by jesssparkles

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Yes it works to get rid of spots temporarily but the entire proactive like absolutely ruins your skin. just to give you an idea of what you are putting on your face; I used this for a few weeks and people started asking why my eyebrows had orange streaks in them. This product bleached my towels, my clothes and my eyebrows. I don't really want that on the delicate skin of my face

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pay17 on 8/18/2013 5:47:00 PM more reviews by Pay17

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I love this mask. Right after I use it I feel a difference, it clears my skin right away and makes my face feel so much smoother

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Brittanypuran on 4/23/2013 12:14:00 AM more reviews by Brittanypuran

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely hate what the rest of the Pro Activ acne treatment system did to my skin, but the refining mask is my HG spot treatment for zits. I apply it before bed and my bumps are dramatically reduced in size by the morning. I hate that so much product goes to waste because of the packaging though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Bubbley123 on 4/14/2013 12:29:00 PM more reviews by Bubbley123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought this mask after reading the great review. I don't have really bad acne but my face is all red with bumps, I left the mask on for 10 minutes and washed it off Nd my face started getting hot and stinging! My face was completely dry and there were flakes all over. I really did not like this product and will not be buying it again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LeMinx on 4/11/2013 10:58:00 PM more reviews by LeMinx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've never actually bought this Refining Mask in the full size. Back when I received my Pro Activ kits, this would always be included as a "free" gift. The sample size was always more than enough for me to try the product. I've already written a review of the three-step Pro Activ kit. Basically the whole line is a bit of a miss for me. I've found other products that are much more effective and much cheaper. I know some people get results from the kit but most, like me, are kind of underwhelmed by it. I have the same feelings about this mask.

First off, this masks smells of sulfur. Sulfur is not a lovely scent to have on your face. Perhaps it's psychological, but I feel like the scent of this mask lingers for-ever! The smell seems to stick to anything within a one mile radius of me even after I wash it off. I have no idea how some people can use this and then go out into the world in the same day. Second, this mask gives so-so results. It works quite well if you catch a blemish in its early stages. When and if I break out, I tend to get huge honking zits that literally appear overnight. This mask doesn't work for those. In fact, they make them worse because sulfur doesn't actually heal anything - it just dries it out. That means the skin around the blemish is dried out and you're left with a raw, red zit surrounded by peely skin. Lovely.

I have no idea how much this retails for but I can't imagine it's cheap as nothing from Pro Activ is moderately priced. It's not a total waste because it does work to some extent but not enough to justify the awful smell or the hit and miss results. Being a big ol' pizza face since age 10, I've tried nearly every line of acne products and frankly, I would only recommend anything from Pro Activ as a last resort. There are far better and cheaper products that don't rely on the 'wait and see' line of thinking. If I wanted to 'wait and see', I wouldn't spend $90 on a kit or $20 on a mask. For that kind of money, I want results. Not excuses about how a costly product is "preventive" and how my skin must "purge" before I see real results ("purging" skin is a myth that just won't die. Skin keeps harmful things out, it doesn't release icky stuff). If something can't help me out within a month, there's no sense in wasting my time.

As I said on my Pro Activ kit review, there are way too many products out there for people to shell out this kind of money on these so-so products. There are literally hundreds of products out there that actually work but people don't know about because they're not endorsed by a celebrity or have infomericals. If you want a good zit zapping mask, look up the reviews here and make your own. If you want to stop the acne before it starts, again, look up the reviews here and expand your skin care horizons a bit.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Masks products