Pro Activ • Refining Mask • Masks

rated 3.5(362 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Mymakeupthoughts on 9/24/2014 5:12:00 PM more reviews by Mymakeupthoughts

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not too sure on where to start,I bought this product two months ago just to see if it would improve my skin.I don't have any acne but i do get the occasional weekly pimple here and there,I also have normal to dry skin.A big concern for me with this product in consideration of other users is how can a person with dry skin with acne use this ?!

I made the mistake of putting this all over my face even though i have dry skin,keep in mind this product is extremely thick and its purpose is to dry acne of moisture in hopes it will clear up anyway as i don't have acne this completely dried my skin out which then caused my skin to break out due to the lack of healthy oils my skin needs to keep itself soft and hydrated.

This product would be terrible for a dried skinned person with acne seeing as it would completely dry out your skin and prepare it for more breakouts.I also wouldn't recommend this product to someone with oily skin because it would also strip your face of oils and leaves you with manifesting breakouts.

If you already have purchased this products the best way to use it would be to get into spot treatment (put the product on acne spots directly) hopefully that will work fine depending on the type of pimple you have.

If pimples are dry -do the spot treatment (they will flake of from all the drying up-moisturise after)
If pimples are tender and quite red -don't use the product it will only cause irritation

This isn't professional advice I'm just typing this down based on personal experiences.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 taral001 on 9/20/2014 11:15:00 PM more reviews by taral001

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is the shining star of the pro activ line. I put it on in the evening and leave it on for 30 minutes before washing it off. It leaves my skin feeling nice and by the morning my breakouts are much improved. It contains sulfur, so it does have a stronger oder, but it doesn't really bother me too much. It is the only pro active product I do not regret buying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CocoaSkinChi on 8/31/2014 8:42:00 PM more reviews by CocoaSkinChi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Dark   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Have used this for about a decade now and will always use it. Its a clutch product for me. If I am breaking out, I use it a few times and viola....breakout is under control.

I also like that it minimizes my pores.

I feel like I'm not using the right products to follow the mask up with. Sometimes it feels like the skin on my forehead is dry which leads to even more oil production. I never use this to get rid of oil. I only use to to get rid of breakouts and minimize my pores.

However i will say that it has to be doing something to the oil because I can see little dots of oil coming out of my pores when I have the mask on. I tend to leave it on for a very very long time so maybe its drying my skin out too much?

Cons: the smell of the sulfur.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Neophiliac on 8/4/2014 3:46:00 AM more reviews by Neophiliac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The Proactiv Refining Mask can be worn for a few minutes if you need to reduce extreme oiliness. It is an excellent spot treatment for zits. Just leave it on the pimple overnight to reduce swelling and rinse off in the morning. Yes, you get the rotten egg smell when you wash it, but the smell does not linger on your skin if you rinse well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JJKZ on 6/9/2014 1:25:00 AM more reviews by JJKZ

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Hands down, best acne treatment on the planet (that is if you are not allergic to active ingredient - sulfur) it is truly magic - overnight a little dab just like Jess Simpson said in the commercial, unless its a huge painful red/yellow zit takes a couple of tries. Huge fan!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 auntita on 1/13/2014 11:24:00 PM more reviews by auntita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried the Pro Activ refining mask years ago because it came with the kit I had ordered. I found that it really did work quite well especially as a spot treatment. Unfortunately the smell was just too disgusting for me to repurchase, especially if using as a mask. It left my face smelling like rotten eggs because it had such a strong sulfur smell. So much so, that I felt self conscious about getting to close to anyone for days after using this.
Like the rest of the Pro Activ products, this is also quite harsh.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jesssparkles on 10/18/2013 4:40:00 AM more reviews by jesssparkles

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Yes it works to get rid of spots temporarily but the entire proactive like absolutely ruins your skin. just to give you an idea of what you are putting on your face; I used this for a few weeks and people started asking why my eyebrows had orange streaks in them. This product bleached my towels, my clothes and my eyebrows. I don't really want that on the delicate skin of my face

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pay17 on 8/18/2013 5:47:00 PM more reviews by Pay17

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I love this mask. Right after I use it I feel a difference, it clears my skin right away and makes my face feel so much smoother

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Brittanypuran on 4/23/2013 12:14:00 AM more reviews by Brittanypuran

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely hate what the rest of the Pro Activ acne treatment system did to my skin, but the refining mask is my HG spot treatment for zits. I apply it before bed and my bumps are dramatically reduced in size by the morning. I hate that so much product goes to waste because of the packaging though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Bubbley123 on 4/14/2013 12:29:00 PM more reviews by Bubbley123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought this mask after reading the great review. I don't have really bad acne but my face is all red with bumps, I left the mask on for 10 minutes and washed it off Nd my face started getting hot and stinging! My face was completely dry and there were flakes all over. I really did not like this product and will not be buying it again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Masks products