Pro Activ Refining Mask

3.6

363 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active ingredient: Sulfur 6% Inactive ingredients: Water (Aqua), Kaolin, Glycreth-26, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Linolenic Acid, Linoleic Acid, Arachidonic Acid, Titanium Dioxide, Zinc Oxide, Hydrated Silica, Tocopheryl Acetate, Lemongrass Exrtract, Geranium Extact, Tea Tree Oil, Ethoxydiglycol Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Glycerin, Fragrance (Parfum)


on 11/30/2014 12:48:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't have acne, but I do get pimples from time to time. When I do, I just whip this stuff out, smear it on, then go to bed. Every time the size of the pimple decreases dramatically. I only use it as an overnight spot treatment, not a mask, so I haven't had any issues with my skin drying out because of it. My only gripes are that it can tingle unbearably sometimes, and that it smells awful. But it works, so I have no issues with smelling weird for a night.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not too sure on where to start,I bought this product two months ago just to see if it would improve my skin.I don't have any acne but i do get the occasional weekly pimple here and there,I also have normal to dry skin.A big concern for me with this product in consideration of other users is how can a person with dry skin with acne use this ?!

I made the mistake of putting this all over my face even though i have dry skin,keep in mind this product is extremely thick and its purpose is to dry acne of moisture in hopes it will clear up anyway as i don't have acne this completely dried my skin out which then caused my skin to break out due to the lack of healthy oils my skin needs to keep itself soft and hydrated.

This product would be terrible for a dried skinned person with acne seeing as it would completely dry out your skin and prepare it for more breakouts.I also wouldn't recommend this product to someone with oily skin because it would also strip your face of oils and leaves you with manifesting breakouts.

If you already have purchased this products the best way to use it would be to get into spot treatment (put the product on acne spots directly) hopefully that will work fine depending on the type of pimple you have.

If pimples are dry -do the spot treatment (they will flake of from all the drying up-moisturise after)
If pimples are tender and quite red -don't use the product it will only cause irritation

This isn't professional advice I'm just typing this down based on personal experiences.


on 9/20/2014 11:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is the shining star of the pro activ line. I put it on in the evening and leave it on for 30 minutes before washing it off. It leaves my skin feeling nice and by the morning my breakouts are much improved. It contains sulfur, so it does have a stronger oder, but it doesn't really bother me too much. It is the only pro active product I do not regret buying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/31/2014 8:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

Have used this for about a decade now and will always use it. Its a clutch product for me. If I am breaking out, I use it a few times and viola....breakout is under control.

I also like that it minimizes my pores.

I feel like I'm not using the right products to follow the mask up with. Sometimes it feels like the skin on my forehead is dry which leads to even more oil production. I never use this to get rid of oil. I only use to to get rid of breakouts and minimize my pores.

However i will say that it has to be doing something to the oil because I can see little dots of oil coming out of my pores when I have the mask on. I tend to leave it on for a very very long time so maybe its drying my skin out too much?

Cons: the smell of the sulfur.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/4/2014 3:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The Proactiv Refining Mask can be worn for a few minutes if you need to reduce extreme oiliness. It is an excellent spot treatment for zits. Just leave it on the pimple overnight to reduce swelling and rinse off in the morning. Yes, you get the rotten egg smell when you wash it, but the smell does not linger on your skin if you rinse well.


on 6/9/2014 1:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Hands down, best acne treatment on the planet (that is if you are not allergic to active ingredient - sulfur) it is truly magic - overnight a little dab just like Jess Simpson said in the commercial, unless its a huge painful red/yellow zit takes a couple of tries. Huge fan!!!!


on 1/13/2014 11:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I tried the Pro Activ refining mask years ago because it came with the kit I had ordered. I found that it really did work quite well especially as a spot treatment. Unfortunately the smell was just too disgusting for me to repurchase, especially if using as a mask. It left my face smelling like rotten eggs because it had such a strong sulfur smell. So much so, that I felt self conscious about getting to close to anyone for days after using this.
Like the rest of the Pro Activ products, this is also quite harsh.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/18/2013 4:40:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Yes it works to get rid of spots temporarily but the entire proactive like absolutely ruins your skin. just to give you an idea of what you are putting on your face; I used this for a few weeks and people started asking why my eyebrows had orange streaks in them. This product bleached my towels, my clothes and my eyebrows. I don't really want that on the delicate skin of my face


on 8/18/2013 5:47:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this mask. Right after I use it I feel a difference, it clears my skin right away and makes my face feel so much smoother


on 4/23/2013 12:14:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely hate what the rest of the Pro Activ acne treatment system did to my skin, but the refining mask is my HG spot treatment for zits. I apply it before bed and my bumps are dramatically reduced in size by the morning. I hate that so much product goes to waste because of the packaging though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Masks


Mint Julep Masque
4192 Reviews
Mud Mask
142 Reviews
Aspirin Mask
2234 Reviews
Back to Top