Pro Activ Refining Mask

3.6

366 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active ingredient: Sulfur 6% Inactive ingredients: Water (Aqua), Kaolin, Glycreth-26, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Linolenic Acid, Linoleic Acid, Arachidonic Acid, Titanium Dioxide, Zinc Oxide, Hydrated Silica, Tocopheryl Acetate, Lemongrass Exrtract, Geranium Extact, Tea Tree Oil, Ethoxydiglycol Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Glycerin, Fragrance (Parfum)


on 8/13/2015 12:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I love Proactiv's Refining Mask. I use it 2 or 3 times a week after cleansing. I leave it on for 10 minutes and rinse. It really reduces any redness and shine.



on 7/29/2015 4:40:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Been using this mask on and off for 9 years or so, & it definitely helps my break outs heal. I have combo/acne prone olive skin and this is the most effective mask I've ever used for acne. Has a bit of grittiness to it, smells awful of sulfur....but works! It's best to avoid dryness by just putting it where the break outs are...I leave it for 15 minutes or so, then rinse off in shower to avoid stinky washcloths. Much more effective than Queen Helene Mint Julep (but that smells better!).


on 7/8/2015 7:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I LOVE this product! I have combination skin with a slightly oily T zone, I get large pores beside my nose along my cheek, and get blackheads sometimes on my chin area. I hadn't used this mask in a while and noticed today while looking in a magnifying mirror to pluck my brows that my pores were giant and oily! I dug out this mask, put it on my t zone only for ten minutes, and when I wiped it off my pores were invisible and the blackheads and clogged pores we're gone! Follow up with a light oil free moisturizer and it is like magic. I am In love with this product and keep two tubes in my cabinet at all times! Makes my skin feel smooth and look beautiful as long as I am sure to use a moisturizer after. If I don't, it can be drying. I wouldn't recommend it for dry skin, and even if you have combo skin only use it on the oily t zone.


on 3/29/2015 11:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think I got this ages ago with a kit of other Pro Activ products but never really used it until recently. This product was okay. I used it as directed, all over my face for ten minutes, 2-3 times per week over the course of a few months. I have oily skin, so this did dry it out, but it was temporary. It was only dry for maybe that day that I used it, and in some areas (around my mouth, mainly) it caused my skin to become flaky. This also seemed to give my skin a white color after I used it. My skin felt soft after, but not for long, and it didn't really feel any "cleaner".


on 11/30/2014 12:48:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't have acne, but I do get pimples from time to time. When I do, I just whip this stuff out, smear it on, then go to bed. Every time the size of the pimple decreases dramatically. I only use it as an overnight spot treatment, not a mask, so I haven't had any issues with my skin drying out because of it. My only gripes are that it can tingle unbearably sometimes, and that it smells awful. But it works, so I have no issues with smelling weird for a night.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not too sure on where to start,I bought this product two months ago just to see if it would improve my skin.I don't have any acne but i do get the occasional weekly pimple here and there,I also have normal to dry skin.A big concern for me with this product in consideration of other users is how can a person with dry skin with acne use this ?!

I made the mistake of putting this all over my face even though i have dry skin,keep in mind this product is extremely thick and its purpose is to dry acne of moisture in hopes it will clear up anyway as i don't have acne this completely dried my skin out which then caused my skin to break out due to the lack of healthy oils my skin needs to keep itself soft and hydrated.

This product would be terrible for a dried skinned person with acne seeing as it would completely dry out your skin and prepare it for more breakouts.I also wouldn't recommend this product to someone with oily skin because it would also strip your face of oils and leaves you with manifesting breakouts.

If you already have purchased this products the best way to use it would be to get into spot treatment (put the product on acne spots directly) hopefully that will work fine depending on the type of pimple you have.

If pimples are dry -do the spot treatment (they will flake of from all the drying up-moisturise after)
If pimples are tender and quite red -don't use the product it will only cause irritation

This isn't professional advice I'm just typing this down based on personal experiences.


on 9/20/2014 11:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is the shining star of the pro activ line. I put it on in the evening and leave it on for 30 minutes before washing it off. It leaves my skin feeling nice and by the morning my breakouts are much improved. It contains sulfur, so it does have a stronger oder, but it doesn't really bother me too much. It is the only pro active product I do not regret buying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/31/2014 8:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

Have used this for about a decade now and will always use it. Its a clutch product for me. If I am breaking out, I use it a few times and viola....breakout is under control.

I also like that it minimizes my pores.

I feel like I'm not using the right products to follow the mask up with. Sometimes it feels like the skin on my forehead is dry which leads to even more oil production. I never use this to get rid of oil. I only use to to get rid of breakouts and minimize my pores.

However i will say that it has to be doing something to the oil because I can see little dots of oil coming out of my pores when I have the mask on. I tend to leave it on for a very very long time so maybe its drying my skin out too much?

Cons: the smell of the sulfur.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/4/2014 3:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The Proactiv Refining Mask can be worn for a few minutes if you need to reduce extreme oiliness. It is an excellent spot treatment for zits. Just leave it on the pimple overnight to reduce swelling and rinse off in the morning. Yes, you get the rotten egg smell when you wash it, but the smell does not linger on your skin if you rinse well.


on 6/9/2014 1:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Hands down, best acne treatment on the planet (that is if you are not allergic to active ingredient - sulfur) it is truly magic - overnight a little dab just like Jess Simpson said in the commercial, unless its a huge painful red/yellow zit takes a couple of tries. Huge fan!!!!


Popular Masks


Mint Julep Masque
Mint Julep Masque
4231 Reviews
Aspirin Mask
Aspirin Mask
2241 Reviews
Back to Top