MAC Blast O' Blue

3.1

18 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/21/2010 8:09:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I dunno - I like it - it's a sheer color which is cool - but layering something like chillin', best of breed, or comet blue looks especially nice. I think alot of these colors depend on your lip pigmentation and well, just overall preference - I have a thing for unusual lipgloss/lipstick colors and for whatever reason I seem to be able to pull some of these colors off or at least that's what I'm told anyway, plus I don't feel strange myself when I look at it in the mirror - I'm one of those who can wear both cool and warm so maybe that's it? But besides that when you see this kind of color in the store or online figure that it's not gonna be a traditional color by any means and expect that it may be a lil strange and just think if that is going to be ok with you or are you going to fill uncomfortable or awkward at all? Or also find out exactly what kind of coverage this will be - opaque, sheer, etc. and if possible try it out in the store - look at it under their bright lighting and step out to darker lighting and compare. If you can't try it in the store, search online or ask the seller what they know about it? Hope this helps some and doesn't sound too much like a rambling mess =p

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 11/5/2009 12:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love the formula of this lipstick. It is so smooth and goes on like butter! I wear MAC prep + prime lip primer underneath so it makes my lips even before I apply. The color lasts a LONG time too, and it is kind of a pinkish blue (warm) as opposed to a cool-toned blue. I am NW25 in MAC so this goes great with my skintone. I love it and would def repurchase if it weren't LE. But it's very pigmented so it has lasted me A LONG LONG time. I have yet to run out of any MAC lipstick I have so many and they last so long LOL


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I bought this over the summer at a local CCO N I like it I had a chance 2 test it b4 I purchased I layer it over NYC jumbo l/s pencil in sublime N I get the prettiest deep blue freaky color Iove the uniqueness it gives my l/s collection!!!!!!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I'm surprised to see all of the people here who are disappointed in the sheer finish. It's called "lustre" for a reason. If you didn't want sheer coverage, do some research and buy the appropriate type of lipstick....

That being said, this product is pretty ill-conceived and awful. Even as a sheer lipstick, it does not impart the same type of wearable color that, say, Comet Blue does. It settles into the cracks of your lips and makes it look like you just failed at eating a popsicle, big time. The smell is what got me though. Most MAC lippies have a nice, slightly vanilla-like scent to them, making them pleasant to wear all day. Blast O' Blue, however, smells like straight up dollar store waxy lipstick. Ugh.

I'm so glad I bought this at CCO price rather than at original value.


on 3/28/2009 10:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Other

As everyone else has said - this product is disappointingly sheer. I can still put a couple of coats on and have it look blue, but it is still subtly blue and not bright blue.

That said, it is still a very innovative, difficult-to-find shade, and good quality otherwise. Balancing out the funness of blue with the sadness of the intensity, I'm giving it a three.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/6/2009 12:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I'm definitely in the minority but I LOVE this lipstick. I picked this color up at a CCO just because it was blue. I'm always up for the strange lippies. I tried this on right after I got it and wasn't very suprised that it was sheer since it is a lustre finish. It gave me my own customized berry lipstick. Perfect for winter and fall. It is really unique with the blue and purple irredescents. It's also a conversation starter when I pull it out to reapply it. However I think if you don't have very pigmented lips it may look like you just ate a blue popsicle since it needs the red undertones to make it a berry color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/26/2009 7:48:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Not that this lipstick needed another review, but I'm just so disappointed in this that I had to add my two cents - ditto everything that's already been said about the sheer factor and the uneven application. If I'd wanted a lipstick that would give a slight purple tinge to my lips, there were already plenty in the MAC line to choose from. And I'm particularly peeved that the advertising for this showed a model with bright blue painted-on lips in an obviously matte, opaque blue. I bought this on eBay and waited anxiously for almost two weeks for it, only to be totally bummed by what I got. Boo to MAC for this failure.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/9/2008 2:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Just an o.k. color. It does not have enough pigment to provide a true blue color on the lips, but you can achieve a true blue color by using this with UD 24/7 liner in Electric. They are the same color. This lipstick adds a pretty sparkle to Electric when used on top of it. MAC does not make the most moisturizing formulas, but this is a little bit better than most.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/7/2008 7:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This lipstick should be used for one purpose and one purpose only: layering. All by itself, it makes your lips look like they've gone sparklingly frost-bitten, and not in a fun way.

The problem is more that it is such a contrast to the pink of your lips that its effect is patchy and uneven. Underneath a true, sweet pink like Girl About Town you get an amazing fuscia result, but again - this lipstick all by itself is not a good idea.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/7/2007 9:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

NW15

This lipstick was limited edition with the June 07 C-Shock collection. It is a sheer mid-tone blue in a lustre finish. The color is gorgeous in the tube - on the lips, it goes on very sheer and uneven. Applied under any pink lipcolor, it turns them a vibrant purple. It's particularly pretty under Vivacious, also from the C-Shock collection. However, the uneven application will prevent me from getting another.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
191 Reviews
Provocalips
73 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top