New York Color • Ultra Moist LipWear - Mocha • Lipstick

rated 3.8(8 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dealfinder648 on 9/15/2014 11:28:00 AM more reviews by dealfinder648

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

A true mocha brown with no strong purple or burgundy undertones some mocha's tend to have. It's moisturizing with a slight glow...but not sparkle. I use over a lip liner lip to get longer wear, but the pigment is fine by itself. Love the price tag the most, 99 cents buys you some decent lipstick. Good brown to mix with other colors too and make your own shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valmont32677 on 8/15/2014 6:02:00 PM more reviews by valmont32677

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

This is going to come as close as poss a DS match to my beloved but DC WnW mocha bean. Mocha & Cafe are really nice brown shades from NYC, but I also enjoy Petal, Chiffon, & Sheer Red, and hey, why not they are 93 cents most places I go to. I wish that NYC would come out w more shades in this price range but "my colors" being brown, nude, & baby pink needs have been met! This lipstick is browner than nude, but not dark enuff to be burgundy or have too much reddish to it (thankfully!), it's straight brown champagne golden. The formula feels nice, but you have to reapply after a couple of hours, but I don't mind because of the price. This has highly exceeded my expectations. The packaging is boring & cheap but with a clear top you can easily ascertain which color you grab out of your makeup bag. I say go for it, pick up a few colors & see. It's not much of an investment & u may find a DS gem in these like I did. Also I did not discern any noticeable scent. For all practical purposes I say it's not heavily scented.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* troo12 on 6/6/2014 1:36:00 AM more reviews by troo12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

There is no doubt that this lipstick is brown. I was hoping it would be more sheer than it actually is....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LizWords on 8/5/2012 9:19:00 PM more reviews by LizWords

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this lipstick for a couple of years. I love the color, and it is very moisturizing. I love that I can go dark with it, where it's mostly brown with hints of red, and i also love that you can dab a light layer of it on and the pink of your lips will mix with the red undertones to make a very smokey dark red brown. Brown reds are the only reds I can do on my lips and this is perfect in terms of color. Wish it had better staying power but I wish that with all moisturizing lippies. For a 99 cent lipstick you really can't get much better than this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 felissajohnson on 5/29/2011 5:58:00 PM more reviews by felissajohnson

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

*sigh* ....This is a really nice brand of lipstick to be honest, even with the cheap price, it's good quality. It is very creamy and moisturizing but for me and my skin tone, this did nothing. I think it was too light for me, it completely washed me out. I even used a dark brown lipliner and it still blended in too well with my regular lips and skin tone. I am not in to the nude thing as what seems to be the tre-nd now, so this was a little disappointing and I ended up giving it away. I wish New York Color made darker colors because I generally wear browns, deep browns that is, but this was a little too frosty nude for my liking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jenzbugrulz on 4/17/2011 8:18:00 PM more reviews by jenzbugrulz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely LOVE this lipstick! It glides on smooth and has a nice smell to it. It also moisturizes my lips just as well as my Lip medex. Will buy over and over! I have noticed that I have to apply it a bit more frequently than others, but at the dirt cheap price of $.99, I don't mind!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xomacgirl401 on 3/26/2010 1:56:00 PM more reviews by xomacgirl401

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is actually my favorite drug store lipstick!! It was only $ .97 at Target, and I liked the color. It *is* moisturizing and I don't find it to be too greasy, it feels more like chapstick which is refreshing to me and my dry lips. It's a nice brown color, with a little hint of golden shimmer in it (if you add a little shimmery clear lip gloss it amplifies the glimmer in it which compliments the brown nicely). The scent didn't really bother me and I didn't find it overwhelming. I didn't actually notice the scent until I read the last review. It does smell, but I didn't notice it till I literally opened the cap and sniffed it. When it's on my lips I never noticed the scent.

Either way, I love how it looks and I love the smooth creamy texture on my lips. I would recommend this to anybody who's looking for a cheap price for some pretty decent quality lipstick with good texture and good moisture. Definitely going to repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HauntedMoonlight on 6/12/2007 2:05:00 PM more reviews by HauntedMoonlight

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this for $0.99 at the drugstore. It's a dark nude/taupe color. The texture was moisturizing, but kind of greasy. The staying power is not very good. I had to reapply several times a day, but that's typical with moist lipsticks. The problem with this lipstick is the smell. It has a very strong rotten fruit type of smell. I use a lot of scented lipsticks and usually the scents don't bother me, but this one was so gross that I almost threw up. It tastes horrible too. The color was pretty, but I just couldn't stand that smell anymore. I threw my tube away. I don't know if mine was just old or if all NYC lipsticks smell that bad, but I won't buy any more of their lipsticks. Too bad because some of the colors look cute.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More New York Color products

More Lipstick products