TheBalm BalmShelter SPF 17 Tinted Gloss


32 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$


Active Ingredients: Octinoxate (7.5%), Avobenzone (3.0%). Other Ingredients: Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Ethylene/Propylene/Styrene Copolymer, Butylene/Ethylene/Styrene Copolymer, Polybutene, Microcrystalline Wax, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Esters, Beeswax, Polyglyceryl-3 Beeswax, Flavors. May Contain: Iron Oxides CI 77491,CI 77492, CI 77499, Red 6 Lake CI 15850:2, Red 7 Lake CI 15850:1, Titanium Dioxide CI 7789, Yellow 5 Lake CI 19140, Blue 1 Lake CI 42090, Mica CI 77019, Red 27 Lake CI 45410, Carmine CI 75470.

on 3/16/2015 6:59:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

i got the "girly girl" a peachy light coral with little shimmers in it which looks pretty nice color on the tube but after applying there's absolutely no color on the lips.result is just a natural shiny can achieve it with any regular lip balm/smacker.they are much more practical to use than lipgloss applicator.product itself smells like banana bubblegum for me and tastes like sunscreen.i know it has spf but it shouldn't be taste bad.

on 9/27/2013 6:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm in love-hate relationship with this balm shelter. I love when they are can give me ‘a natural shiny lips’ looks but I hate when they are started to dry, it makes my lip flaky and drier than before. Somehow, I like the packaging; it comes with a plastic so I won't break when it falls.

on 4/29/2013 12:57:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm soooo disappointed in this product! I waited and waited for the postponed 50% sale on TheBalm's website: I love my Nude 'Tude eyeshadow palette and was eager to try some other items from this brand. I happily ordered one of the new Instain Blushes in Toile, described as a strawberry, and a BalmShelter gloss in Daddy's Girl, also described as a strawberry. Seriously? This provides less color and shine than most of my lip balms! It feels lovely on the lips but has no staying power and for some reason it's difficult to pick up enough product on the wand for application. It seems very similar in texture and appearance on the lips as Jordana's Lip Shines, but Jordana's product is less slippery and has more substance. I thnk I'll return this; my Burt's Bees Lip Shimmer is 100x better than this and it's $4.99 - it even stains the lips! Balm Shelter glosses are $19.00 each....what a shame. I will stick to eyeshadows and blushes from TheBalm for now!

on 4/24/2013 10:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this in Uptwon Girl, and I love how it look on my lips. So smooth, not like eating oil look. Natural but looks yummy lips. I'll buy another colour.

on 3/10/2012 1:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I purchased this in a set at Marshalls. I have the color valley girl. I like the fact that it has spf 17 and that it also has a little pop of color. This gloss does have a light smell, but seems like an ok gloss.

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have 4 different shades of this gloss so far and love them all. This has a very different texture from any other gloss I've tried. It feels so smooth and not a bit sticky and feels so moisturizing. Every color I e gotten I love. I will be buying more as I bieve this will be a HG lipgloss for me.

on 1/19/2012 5:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

I have two of these lip glosses, one in the Girl Next Door (light pink) and the other in Pin Up Girl (sheer cherry red). Both are great versatile shades. One thing in particular I noticed was that both the lip glosses have a way of exfoliating the dead and peeling skin from your lips. The temperature is in the single digits where I am and my lips are constantly dry and peeling, and most lip glosses accentuate this. But theBalm Shelter gloss, as I applied it on my lips, I noticed it pulled up the flaky skin, leaving a smooth canvas in which to apply the gloss on. For this alone, this product deserves 5 stars. Ive never had a lip gloss that actually exfoliated my lips while doing its job as a lip gloss (providing a light color and shine). Also, it's lightly moisturizng due to the jojoba oil and is paraben-free! (You'd be suprised how many high-end lip glosses contain parabens).

I wish I could get more but I refuse to pay full price for makeup, especially lip gloss unless I absolutely must. I bought the Girl Next Door in a TJ Maxx kit for a reduced $15, that came with two Plump Your Puckers (Ruby My Grapefruit and Cocoa my Coconut) and a Staniac in Beauty Queen (which I adore!). The Pin Up Girl was from the Black Tie Kit with 5 other items for a reduced $23. Other than TJ Maxx or Marshalls, you can purchase them on or on theBalms website. In Canada, I noticed theBalm at London Drugs and Shoppers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 12/16/2011 2:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

What a great gloss! I love how it gives my lips some shine and color while also making them feel moist and smooth. I bought mine in Pin Up Girl, and it's a great red tint for day wear. The color is not overpowering, even though it looks really vibrant in the tube. I suggest buying one of the more pigmented shades if you're looking for some color on your lips -- lighter colors probably don't show up as well.

on 6/23/2011 2:05:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I really enjoy using this lip gloss. I have the girl next door shade and it smells like strawberry banana (maybe all of them do...) I like the fact that a little goes a long way and it looks very nice on. The color is not too bright and I don't wear it everyday, but I really love it. It hydrates your lips very well and leaves a soft feeling on your lips for most of the day. I'm really glad I have this and I would re- purchase gladly.

on 5/25/2011 10:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I want to like this so bad- the colour is pretty and it feels great on, and I'm pleased with the SPF 17. I have the shade "Girly Girl" and I don't find the colour to last long enough at all (my GOSH lip glosses last on my lips a lot longer), it disappears in less than 30 minutes. I'm not crazy about the brush, but that wouldn't keep me from re-purchasing, the very short amount of time it shows on my lips does. Crying shame because I think this is a great shade and when I first apply, I'm crazy in love with it. My quest for a perfect spring/summer lip gloss continues, I guess! Don't know if "Girly Girl" is just a bum shade or not, maybe the darker colours have more staying power.

Recommended for Medium Skin

Top Rated TheBalm Products


Mary-Lou Manizer

398 reviews

Frat Boy

54 reviews

Down Boy

65 reviews

Hot Mama

213 reviews
Back to Top