Farouk CHI • Chi shine infusion thermal polishing spray • Styling Products

rated 4.0(41 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 BrigitteBardot on 10/5/2014 10:51:00 AM more reviews by BrigitteBardot

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It's nice and light, so I like it as a heat protection product. (Though it's tricky for me to say how effective any heat protectant really is.) However, I don't see my hair any shinier after using it. So I would skip it if you're wanting a shine spray. For thermal protection, it's great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 akharri785 on 7/5/2014 5:04:00 AM more reviews by akharri785

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

For me, the best use for this is AFTER using dry shampoo on second or third day hair. When using dry shampoos, your hair can get dulled quickly. This leaves an amazing, light sheen if you give your hair a quick, light-handed spray. I have very fine, oily hair and DO NOT use this after a blowout or on "fresh" hair because it does make it look oiler more quickly. However, after using a dry shampoo or oil-absorbing product, a light coat of this makes my hair look "just washed" again. It's a very light, evenly-distributed spray but you can go overboard if you are heavy handed when applying. Always use less than you think you'll need, let it sit a moment while you continue getting ready and then apply more if you think you need it. I like the packaging and even dispersal. The smell doesn't really bother me but I could see how it could others. I also really don't think it's that expensive. I usually get it for $14 at Ulta.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 historian12 on 5/31/2014 9:14:00 AM more reviews by historian12

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This product works as advertised, but I just can't get past the overwhelming fragrance! It is incredibly strong and stays in your hair until you wash it out. It gives me a headache, so I will definitely not be repurchasing this product. It does add a soft shine to your hair, but I would recommend giving this a sniff test before buying--if you don't like the fragrance, you won't be happy with the product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* countrybearjamboree on 2/7/2014 3:31:00 PM more reviews by countrybearjamboree

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with laceyporter. If you have coarse dry hair, you really won't see much of a difference. I wanted to get this because a youtuber raved about this. I was hoping this spray will be a little something something to top things off but I regret buying it. It doesn't really add shine or any gloss if your hair is coarse. For me, this product is too lightweight to do anything that noticeable. Glad I only paid $10 for it at TJ Maxx. I won't be repurchasing this. If you are like me with coarse thick hair and want to add a boost of shine that won't weigh hair down but substantial for dense hair, try Fekkai Glossing Cream. I always end up going back to this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Bri2334 on 4/17/2013 9:40:00 PM more reviews by Bri2334

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Its Okay,
Personally I am not a big fan of this particular product,
and i find the smell of the spray strong, and a little
overwhelming.
Otherwise its not half bad.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cosmeticjunky on 12/3/2012 10:34:00 PM more reviews by cosmeticjunky

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This product is FANTASTIC. It costs a little more than I like to spend, especially when I don't know how is going to work. I still think the price is a little high for what it is but I will deal with it and definitely repurchase. With all oils, serums, shine sprays, ect my hair doesn't react at all or it looks incredibly greasy. With this one however, I got the affect that all those women in commercials with the wind machine blowing through their already perfect hair claim to get. My hair is incredibly dry and made much more so by all the torture I put it through in the name of beauty. It never looks smooth and shiny after blow drying...I mean NEVER! so out come the 15 smoothing products and the dreaded flat iron. With this product however my hair came out shiny, smooth and frizz free, completely! It also had that bounce that bobs should have that is usually lost with heat tools. I sprayed it very sparingly through towel dried hair (again, my hair is extremely dry, if your hair isn't you probably don't want to use as much) and then I just blow dryed it with a round brush and that's it! I used no other products, no hair spray or volumizer or frizz serum and it was beautiful. I can't stress enough how unheard of it is for me to use one product and be able to blow dry my hair to perfection. This stuff is an amazing hidden gem. Even though I'm not in love with the price, it still deserves every lippy because it is worth every penny.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsLove on 8/13/2012 8:24:00 PM more reviews by MsLove

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is basically a fancy oil sheen. It is pretty lightweight. As with any oil sheen or "shine spray", be careful not to overuse or your hair will feel too greasy and weighed down. Just the right small spray here and there and it makes it look glossy and smoothes flyaways. I like it after blow drying and before flat ironing.


You can buy the knockoff of this product at Sally's Beauty Supply, it is called GVP Shine Remedy and is an EXACT formulation of the CHI brand, only $7 instead.


*****

Update: I stopped using this because I felt that the silicone and oil was still too heavy for my fine hair over time.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 stardust81504 on 5/13/2012 11:11:00 AM more reviews by stardust81504

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this product! I have fine hair, however it is very thick as well. A stylist got me turned on to this a couple of years ago and I have been using it ever since. I blow dry and then either use my flat iron or curling iron for a more polished look. Since I do have so much hair, it can be overwhelming, when I use the flat iron or curling iron I have to section my hair into several large sections, then i section those into small sections that I run through either iron. Instead of spraying each small section before running it through the iron(it leaves my hair too greasy as this product is on the oily side)I liberally spray the large sections first and run a fine toothed comb through them to evenly distribute the product, then just run my smaller sections that I've made through the iron. This way my hair comes out shiny and frizz free, but not greasy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 thejillian on 2/12/2012 8:44:00 PM more reviews by thejillian

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Made my hair look and feel greasy, and I didn't use very much at all. Would not buy again, and not even sure I would use the rest of the can.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hiroshi1997 on 12/24/2011 11:13:00 PM more reviews by hiroshi1997

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This product is pretty good if your hair is looking a little dull and it needs more shine... It also helps protect against humidity, wind, etc and eliminates most of my frizz.

I found that if I put in too much, my hair starts to look really oily and greasy, so avoid too much if possible:)

I would definitely buy this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Farouk CHI products

More Styling Products products