Stila • Grapefruit Lip Glaze • Lip Gloss

rated 3.5(119 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* clarissa90 on 11/25/2013 8:56:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I must admit, this shade is more pigmented than other shades I have tried from Stila. Although, the shade is not flattering on me.Given the fact that this gloss is dupeable and expensive, I can't recommend this gloss. I will not repurchase

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 michellemonkey on 2/12/2012 5:53:00 AM more reviews by michellemonkey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got this as part of a trio (with seashell and raisin) and I love it

I've been looking for a semi sheer baby pink (but not barbie pink) gloss for a while and everything was either too milky or too bright on my nc15 colouring

The gloss itself is fairly well pigmented. Nowhere near as pigmented as MAC or NARS glosses but I was looking for something a bit sheerer anyway. It smells quite nice - sweet. Lipgloss smell ends not to bother me either way. No taste that I can notice but again, no bother.

It is a bit sticky but I expect this from most long wearing lipglosses. It applies quite nicely with the brush applicator, though can be a bit streaky if you just chuck it on.

It's fairly longwearing and lasts a few hours on me. I love to layer it over my MAC angel lipstick, and they go together really well. It also goes quite well with slightly more MLBB or brown-y based lipstick (like creme in your coffee) and makes them look a touch pinker.

The downside with this is the packaging. It is a twist/click pen and I had to twist and click about 50 times before I got any product out. Now it's been used, I only need a couple of clicks but to start the product off it took ages and I noticed that the product I could see through the tube decreased quite rapidly.

I would buy this product again as I really like the colour and consistency but the packaging is a real let down down and can lead to a lot of product wastage, hence the 3 rating. If they just put it in a squeezy tube it'd be a 4 or 5!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zoomusicgrrrl on 2/10/2012 2:15:00 PM more reviews by zoomusicgrrrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A really pretty shade, though I don't really get any of the peachiness that some reviewers have mentioned. On my medium-pigmented plummy-pink lips, it looks like a light pink shade that is on the warmer side of neutral. It's not so milky that it washes out my NC20ish skin and it's not so bubblegum that it looks Barbie-ish. It seems to have tiny shimmers when I look closely at the tube, but these are totally undetectable on my lips. The formulation is semi-sheer and it gives decent colour and shine to the lips. The fragrance isn't to my taste - it's an artificial citrussy scent that resembles household cleaning products, but I only smell it as I'm actually applying the product. I like the brush applicator (find it applies the product smoothly and evenly), though the usual Stila click dispenser is as notoriously tricky and wasteful as ever. I love Stila Lipglazes - the decent shade range, the flattering pinks and peaches, the glossy finish, the easy-to-use brush tip - but the price for such a small amount of actual product is ridiculously steep.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ilse333 on 1/14/2012 11:43:00 PM more reviews by Ilse333

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I avoided Grapefruit for a long time because I thought it would be too sheer. But I was looking for a nice milky pink that wasn't too baby pink but close - and this turned out to perfectly fit the bill. I love the glazes because they just look so sexy and natural without screaming LIP GLOSS. This is rapidly becoming a must-have in my bag - it goes with everything.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Yoshi3329 on 9/1/2011 4:02:00 PM more reviews by Yoshi3329

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Grapefruit is a frosted pink and if you look really closely (really closely) you'll actually see shimmer. It isn't sheer but it isn't opaque either. I can actually see it on my lips. It's a very pretty pink that looks natural on my medium toned lips and dark NC45 with yellow and orange undertones.

I would consider this a nice baby step to those with dark skin trying to venture into more saturated lip colors. I'd also recommend to WOC lining your lips with a lip pencil two shades darker and blending the two colors until they become seamless.


A very lovely color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Katers915 on 7/8/2011 11:25:00 AM more reviews by Katers915

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great lip gloss! It leaves a glossy pink hue, which is very flattering. It lasts longer than most lip glosses. The only down side is it can get a little sticky. But overall is a solid product

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Annessa on 7/8/2011 11:06:00 AM more reviews by Annessa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've had this for some time... found it buried in my stash of unused/unopened make up. I like this color a lot, it looks great on my skin tone. But otherwise, what I don't like is that it's rather sticky compared my other glosses. I wouldn't buy this alone, definitely not at the retail price. I don't think it's a good value, as there are better lip glosses on the market at a lower price point. I would repurchase, however, if I can find it at a a reasonable discounted price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MUA23 on 7/1/2011 9:27:00 PM more reviews by MUA23

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

These were so hot a few years ago but lip glosses have come a long way since then and IMO this is no longer a contender. It's just ok stuff. I call this product "supermarket lipgloss" because I wear it for those early morning errands where you want to look fresh and awake but not really made up. The product stays on just look enough to get those few morning errands done before it leaves a nasty little residue in the corners of my mouth - ew. What irritates me the most is how little product you get for the price point. I also find them sticky and they seem to wear down unevenly. I think it's probably time for a re-formulation of these, Ms. Lobell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 godpsent on 5/2/2011 10:49:00 PM more reviews by godpsent

Age: Unknown   Skin: Oily, Deep Dark   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

So, normally I do not give such a high rating on packaging. Everyone usually gets a 3 or lower. But, I love this clear packaging. It lets you now right away how much you are using AND it clicks so you get a good idea of how much you need to apply next time. You know, like 3 clicks will give me this look and 2 clicks will give me that look, etc...

I have grapefruit, mauvelous and a couple others from the same collection and they are distinctly different on my lips. All smell great. a little sticky, but not bad. Great product all around.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MegE on 3/30/2011 6:40:00 PM more reviews by MegE

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For Christmas I received the 8-pack set that my mom picked up at Costco. Grapefruit is a pretty milky pink, although nothing too unique or special. The texture is smooth, but very sticky/tacky. The scent is strong and doesn't resemble grapefruit, but rather a citrus scent with a chemical overtone. I keep trying to wear this gloss, but the awful scent prevents me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Lip Gloss products