MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation

3.7

3756 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

INGREDIENTS: talc, silica, isostearyl palmitate, methicone, phenoxyethanol May Contain: titanium dioxide CI77891, iron oxides CI77491 CI77492 CI77499, chromium oxide green CI77288, ultramarines CI77007 CI 77013


on 3/28/2015 4:38:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Holy grail powder! I have a really oily t zone so I go through loads of this stuff! Even though I powder a lot this product does actually last a long time so I don't have to repurchase too often! It is a little pricey but so worth it if you want flawless looking skin! This was the first high end powder I ever tried and I haven't looked else where since. Its honestly amazing! especially for oily skins!



on 3/25/2015 4:46:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just love this powder! For the past 3 years I've been using only this cream.
Even for everyday use, if i don't want to use concealer, I just put a little powder and have a fresh look. A bit expensive but so worth the money!


on 3/24/2015 7:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was excited to try this powder but was immediately disappointed when I found out t here was no NC10 shade...but I decided to get NW10 and hope for the best. Im definitely more on the yellow toned side than I am warm but being so pale, it wasn't TOO noticeable anyways...although I dont understand why there is no nc10 shade in this line, mac should realy think about making one!

The powder is really smooth and it does give a medium to full coverage look. It glides over my skin really easily and it hides my redness and smooths out my pores...

but after using it for a bit over a week I noticed major break outs. At first I just had one pop up and I didnt think too much of it..but evey day I kept getting more and more pimples coming up and I was so sad that it must have been this powder causing the break outs.

Pros
-medium/full coverage
-hides imperfections
-smooths out pores

cons
-caused major break outs
-limited shade range, especially for pale yellow toned skins.


on 3/23/2015 9:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

NO NO NO. Even using bio oil as a moisturizer this dried out my skin horrendously, its gonna take a while to recover now, back to bare minerals i go.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/14/2015 2:57:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this product as a setting powder for my foundation as you don't need to use much.
I just sweep this on lightly with a powder brush over my Estée lauder double wear foundation and it keeps my skin matte.

Only downfall is it is a quote expensive powder and many of my powders that's are 1/4 price are just as good


on 3/13/2015 1:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I began looking for a full coverage powder foundation and I remember using this back in college (1990's) and loved it. It is still a great foundation. I use the sponge or RT buffing brush to apply and then use BE max concealer brush to hid any flaws. Spritz with toner and the final look is natural. I do use a primer to make it last longer on my oily skin. Never caused and breakouts or irritation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This disagrees with my skin - I can be prone to an oily t-zone, or so I thought until I stopped using this product and switched to another brand - now I have gone back to this again and the oiliness appears after only a couple of hours' wear. It also seems to cause me to breakout. I was matched with N3 and this colour seems to be an exact match but even so has a tendency to look a bit mask like upon application. It has good medium coverage which you can build up if necessary - but I've found that too much looks pancakey and dry... until it starts to melt and go patchy with the oiliness, that is - especially around my nose. The powder feels nice and fine in the compact, but there is nothing dewey about it on the skin. The amount of product supplied is generous and lasts quite a while.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Ok so I used to use MAC years ago before I knew enough about makeup to develop my own preferences. I just ran out of my favorite powder foundation and I got stuck with a MAC store credit so I figured I'd use it on this. So far, not impressed, but I haven't had a chance to play around with my own brushes and moisturizers and primers. I'll update this review but I just want to have a record so I remember what to compare it to, lol.

First reaction: this smells awful. SA matched me to NC20 when I always wore NC40 in the past. I figured I've never tried this specific product so I figured I'd try something lighter than normal, maybe this product runs darker than whatever I used to use? I ended up with NC30.

It's been less than an hour and my face itches. It looked really cakey and unnatural and too powdery so I put some moisturizer on top of it just to see what happened. It looks better, kinda dewey, more natural. I don't dislike it but it's definitely different than what I normally wear.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/7/2015 11:43:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Got this in NC25.

Pros:
Lasts about 4 hours on my combi skin, not bad for a powder foundation without primer
Somehow my oily t zone doesn't appear oily with this
Smooth and easy application
Skin looks smooth n even

Cons
Initially it itches my skin after wearing it for a day and after removal
Seems like it has high sicilia content and thus makes my skin sensitive
Expensive
Cotton puff is incredibly rough to the touch
Case looks and feels breakable
My powder "stains" the black case
Doesn't have the wow factor
Dying

Generally, it's an OK product. Overhyped and too Expensive.


on 3/6/2015 1:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Usually when I wear makeup I don't want others to know I am wearing any. I tried 3 of these NW 10, NW 15 & NW 20. The SA told me I had to use a darker colored pressed powder Wich is odd because with a cream foundation I am an NW 13, but w/e. This is a pressed powder that acts like a wet foundation the color oxidized on me (not much though), sets quickly and caked unevenly. Because of this,I could see from where I put it on, but before I could blend it though it dried. I believe it conceals imperfections, but it just sits on your face . It has coverage, but without movement to blend it, it's useless.
One thing that may help is a buffering brush. It will break up the excess powder so it wont build up on your face as much, and be easier to reach areas like the corners of your nose. Don't use the sponge as it can harbor bacteria. I also found this hard to wash off.
The pros? Well I don't like this product but if you are looking for a wet and dry foundation this can be part of the answer, most of the colors are natural although they oxidize,and this covers breakouts pretty good. However,some people find that it exaberates their breakouts. If you are experiencing this but still gung ho about making it work try throwing out the sponge and applying with a buffeting brush.
I hope I helped!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top