MAC • Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation • Powder

rated 3.7(3711 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 cali5991 on 11/25/2014 12:23:00 PM more reviews by cali5991

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG foundation. If youíre looking for a product that does the job FAST and EFFICIENTLY for CHEAP, this is for you. I bought the product for about $35 CAN at MAC. It sounds expensive, but keep in mind that this is a 2-in-1 product that will save you money. Itís a powder foundation, which coverage that ranges for moderate to full. For a moderate coverage, you can apply the product with a brush but for a full coverage, you can use the sponge that is provided or opt for your own sponge. The thing that I love about MACís Powder Plus Foundation is that it is so versatile.

First, Iíll talk about my use of the product. I start by preparing my face. This includes cleansing, toning and moisturizing. It is important to exfoliate 1-2 a week because this will remove any dry, flaky patches from your complexion that can rid the splotches that a lot of users of this product complains about. Then, I make sure to use a primer on my face. I like to use Benefitís PoreFESSIONAL because it fills any imperfections, such as lines or pores on my face. This will ensure a SMOOTH application. If I want a full coverage, I will use a BB cream or a liquid foundation, then I will conceal before using MACís Powder Plus Foundation with a sponge. As a bonus, this is SPF-free, so it works well for photography. This routine is ideal for any occasion, in which you will want to have a full coverage. Otherwise, for casual use, you can omit the BB cream or liquid foundation. You can conceal any imperfections, such as blemishes and then, apply the product with a sponge or brush. The latter method is the one that I use on a daily basis. This is exactly how the product is versatile because you can use it to suit the type of coverage that you are looking for.

This is a fast method to applying a base. I can apply a flawless base in under five minutes. This is lovely for the days that you have school or work. This is an efficient product because I suffer from hyperpigmentation (discoloration) and I can use this product to cover whatever I want to hide.

If you want a product that is fast, efficient and cheap for a 2-in-1, try MACís Powder Plus Foundation! I hope that you all love it as much as I do. This is my HG foundation that I recommend for everyone!

Note: Iím an NC45 with a combination skin type. As mentioned, I suffer from hyperpigmentation caused by acne. If you're concerned about the hygiene with the sponge, wash it frequently!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KayandRich1204 on 11/20/2014 12:13:00 PM more reviews by KayandRich1204

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Very happy with my new MAC powder! I matched my color perfectly. I like that this powder feels really light on my face, and it seems to stay put. I have had trouble with powders "caking" up on my face, and if it is hot outside, my powder would have issues. With this powder, I have not had those problems a all. I wish it did last a little longer, but I haven;t found any powder that literally lasts all day. But I have added this to my new collections of favs!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SummerGlow on 11/16/2014 5:07:00 AM more reviews by SummerGlow

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've never used a foundation so soothing to my skin and it covers everything.There's a secret to making it work for you with these tips. For a Matte look. Let your moisturizer sink in and it should be a light moisturizer. Use the sponge for full coverage. I find the sponge that comes with the compact to be perfect. If you want less matte and a less powdery look, just spray your face with water or a facial spray. For a dewy look, put on a richer moisturizer, less soak in and use the sponge the same way and spray more water or a moisturizing facial spray. It doesn't matter how thick and powdery the makeup looks because after you spray your face, it will look flawless. The trick is to use the sponge it comes with. I've used this technique for years and it's flawless. (and my skin is far from flawless). After I spray my face I can't even see my wrinkles under my eyes and I can't see the makeup at all but it covers like a dream.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hy1ian on 11/13/2014 7:01:00 PM more reviews by hy1ian

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Definitely my HG powder foundation. I use this under mousse foundations and as a setting powder but it's also my go-to foundation when I'm in a rush. It's soooo buildable. I can get up to full coverage without it looking cakey whatsoever. Keep in mind I have deep red medium to severe acne marks and this works perfectly to make my skin look flawless!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MaoIjaz on 11/13/2014 11:13:00 AM more reviews by MaoIjaz

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My, oh my! This product is a GEM for those of us in a pinch. I'm just a student, but I'm always running off to something or the other. Whether it's a meeting for my student-run NGO, whether it's a debate competition, an MUN, a student council meeting, THIS baby right here is always there for me. I carry this around with me. When I have to be somewhere, I only get a moment's notice. And when I'm looking ruddy (which is like, always), I whip this out. I need about five minutes and five things to do my entire face. A kabuki, this powder, the Rimmel Brow pencil in Black Brown, MUFE Full Cover Concealer, and the Body Shop Lip and Cheek Stain. However, out of these five products, it's this MAC powder I absolutely CAN'T skip. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this stuff.

COLOUR: NC43. It's spot on.

COVERAGE: The coverage is buildable to full, but I only build it to medium-ish coverage.

FINISH: At medium coverage, this powder looks EXTREMELY natural. I don't know what it would look when it's built to full, but a few spritzes of rose water on top would totally take away that powdery-vibe to it. The finish is actually demi-matte for me. My skin looks ABSOLUTELY real somehow.

LASTING POWER: 12 hours for me.

BLENDING: A breeze. Melts into your skin as long as you use a kabuki brush.

APPLICATION METHOD: I feel like the fact that I blend like a crazy person with a giant kabuki brush till I'm running late helps this to look way more natural than it should. I mean, let's be honest here. No foundation really looks like skin. And to a trained eye, no way. But looking in my magnifying mirror and seeing it blend perfectly into my skin, with no streaks, and no texture was absolutely brilliant! This foundation mimics my skin. Totally. It looks transparent and flawless. BOO-YEAH!
Tip: Use that nasty sponge they give you for your neck. Not your face for Pete's sake.

MY SKIN TYPE: I have dry skin, which I moisturize heavily each morning and night. Flakes are not a problem for me. I also have hyperpigmentation, which is easily covered using the concealer and the powder in conjunction.

WHO SHOULD USE THIS: People who have oily skin should buy this. If you're not diligent about moisturizing, dry skinned girls, NO! If you have mature skin, NO! If you have skin problems, HECK YES! I've never seen a powder provide this kind of coverage.

VERDICT: This stuff is slightly expensive. I know. But it works. It works especially if you need to carry around your make up a lot and have bad skin. This powder is beautiful. Go get it, what're you waiting for?

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amitayumi on 11/12/2014 9:55:00 AM more reviews by amitayumi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

its my day foundation. .i have dry skin..just apply it thinly on my face and it stay more than 8 hours..and barely touch up ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amandarud08 on 11/9/2014 12:47:00 PM more reviews by amandarud08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Been wearing mac since I was 15, Im now 22 (forever) jk..im 28. :(

I love MAC products. I recently changed foundations from MAC to see what else is out there and I want to venture out and see what type of poweder there is as well. I love full coverage so I do the whole Foundation concealer, and powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sveltemakeup on 11/2/2014 1:26:00 AM more reviews by sveltemakeup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I got this in shade, NC42. When worn alone, this powder is low coverage. Although, it claims to be full coverage. I used this powder over my liquid foundation for more coverage and to set my foundation. It feels a bit heavy and dry on my skin. After half-and-hour, it sets and looks smooth. When I wore it at nighttime, it looked a bit dewy and reflective. Although, you get a lot of product, this powder is not worth the price. I was expecting it to be med-full coverage. I wouldn't buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sueleen on 10/24/2014 11:54:00 AM more reviews by Sueleen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

When I first wore this, I had to take it right off because it felt way too cakey on my skin but after I gave it another try, I realised it was just the new foundation I was trying out. This is such an amazing powder and gives light to medium coverage. I use it on top of my foundation or concealer when I'm having a bad skin day as it's in my skin colour. Overall, it's a great product! Really does control the shine on my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 silurian on 10/21/2014 6:28:00 AM more reviews by silurian

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This has fantastic coverage for a powder foundation, and is also very long wearing and stays matte (nose on a hot day requires a touch up, but nowhere else does). There's a great range of colours and it doesn't oxidise at all. I have fairly extreme combination skin with an oily T zone but quite dry cheeks. If I apply this heavily for full coverage, it does settle into fine lines a bit, but otherwise isn't particularly drying and doesn't accentuate drier patches. Only problem is breakouts - not just in the t-zone but also on my cheeks. The rest of the finish is so good that I still wear it, but I wish they'd replace whatever ingredient clogs pores.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Powder products