MD Formulations • Facial Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.9(133 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 vic2007 on 12/28/2013 5:32:00 PM more reviews by vic2007

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this cleanser. It's good and I don't regret buying it. I have dry skin, so I don't use every day, but when my skin needs a deep cleanse, I slap it on, let it sit for a few minutes like a mask, then add on a bit of water + clarisonic, and I am left with very clean skin. To make the skin beautiful then I cleanse again with another , softer cleanser and bamm..beautiful skin.
It's a good cleanser to have in one's arsenal, but personally I wouldn't use it every day ( way too many other to use...) as I prefer foaming cleansers with my Tosowoong, and this doesn't foam.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kittenwhiskas on 12/26/2013 3:35:00 AM more reviews by Kittenwhiskas

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

If you have dull flaky skin with dead skin build up or oily skin, you will love this. This is the only product that has significantly reduced my dry flakes (especially around my nose), and I would describe this as a special treatment cleanser/light exfoliant. I actually use this as an alternative to scrubs or aha/bha exfoliants as I find them too harsh for my sensitive skin and makes it even more dry and flaky.

I've been using this cleanser for over 10 years, just in the morning. To use, I first dampen my skin by lightly patting it with water and then message a small amount of this gel/cream cleanser into my skin for at least 20 seconds or so before rinsing it off. It leaves my skin so soft and clean, and does not feel tight or stripped afterwards. Its pricey but last ages as you only need a small amount.

If you are thinking of using this at night, its important to wash your make up off completely first, as this cleanser is useless for washing make up off. Its too gentle and does not foam at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* signemarie on 6/10/2013 6:18:00 AM more reviews by signemarie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Not my everyday cleanser, but good when you need a transitional deep clean. I got this because I love the continuous renewal complex and Vit A Plus night recovery, but I am not super impressed by this cleanser. It's just a cleanser. Doesn't dry out my skin though, which is great and cannot be said for most active cleansers. I guess my expectations were just too high, since the other MDF products I've tried have made my skin look 1000 times better than before.

I should add that I don't suffer from blackheads or large pores, so if that's what it's really for, that might be the reason I am not overly impressed. No rebuy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Swiss1 on 3/18/2013 7:57:00 AM more reviews by Swiss1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Been using this for 20 years. I recently tried other cleansers because I have sensitive combo skin which is getting a bit drier and the blackheads and outbreaks never 100% clear up - however none of the cleansers I tried (including Lancome, clinique etc) compares to this for me. (I also tried the sensitive skin version and did not really see much difference.).

I find this cleanser works best if you follow massage it first into dry skin before adding water. If my skin is suffering a bit too much from blackheads or outbreaks I leave the cleanser on my skin a couple of minute before adding water. When my skin is red and sensitive I wet my skin first before applying the cleanser.

Although the range does not include a toner, I find water quite drying so I finish with a very mild toner, which I also find reduces the outbreaks (I like nuxe rose petal toner).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pikushiii on 3/11/2013 4:36:00 PM more reviews by Pikushiii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This has been my cleanser for years now. Abselutely love it. I've got dry skin, and I also get a lot of impurities and spots. Very annoying! Either way, I started using this and it helped a lot. It just makes my skin overall more radiant and clear. It's the only thing I use for my skin :) As soon as I tried changing (even to other good brands - like Dermalogica) I start breaking out again and get uneven skin color. I would recomend this to anyone who struggles with spots or uneven skin tone! :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nyp on 2/13/2013 8:55:00 AM more reviews by nyp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I used to use MD Forumation skin care products, I used to have MD Formulation skin facials monthly and my skin used to break out so badly. My acne would be bright red, I was covered in superficial scars. (The beautician would always make excuses, blaming it all on my skin).

I started using Simple and it saved my skin. I decided to use this cleanser again after my skin cleared up and this cleanser started to agree with my skin.

I apply it to my skin (whilst dry). Massage it with a bit of warm water to make it thicker then I use a warm/hot flannel over my face to open the pores and to gently rub it off, then I rinse it off with warm water. Finally I splash cold water on my face.

I don't use any other MD Formulation products anymore.

People with sensitive skin will find this will irritate their skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kaylaxs on 7/8/2012 7:39:00 PM more reviews by Kaylaxs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing cleanser. And for the people saying how expensive it is, it actually isnt at all. I got this for $5.00 on ebay!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sabrinarose1990 on 4/20/2012 2:03:00 AM more reviews by sabrinarose1990

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I hate that I LOVE this product....It is so expensive, but I justify it by saying that I am caring for my skin at the basic level rather than splurging on expensive foundation that only disguises problem skin rather than addressing it, which is what this does.
Mine was $92 NZD from a shop here but you may find it cheaper to purchase online.
I have acne prone skin that tends to be dry and oily on different areas of my face (generally dry areas are where I have attacked my acne with drying acne products). I also wear a lot of make up so I actually have lots of little bumps (not pimples, but skin colored) protrusions that show through my make up. I have been using this for a week, and unlike most cleansers that either clean too well (leaving skin dry) or not cleaning enough (making skin too oily/dirty feeling), this doesn't give either feeling, which is surprising as it also acts as an exfoliant with glycolic compound as one of its main ingredients.

After a week of use, it has not flared up my acne (somehow my acne seems less angry, but I am reluctant to say that this has much to do with it). My non-pimple bumps under the skin have reduced in size and number. Also my skin feels super soft... Try applying to one half of the face and see what I mean.

For those reviewers who haven't been taken with this product, you are probably doing something wrong... Take your make up off first and then using your fingers apply on dry skin...Leave for 2 minutes and then rinse off using either water or sponge (I prefer my dermalogica "the cloth"). After cleansing, I apply my priori eye cream and avst moisturiser...Both of which I highly recommend.
Packaging is not that great, I prefer pump dispenser rather than pour but oh well!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ladehc on 4/18/2012 9:46:00 PM more reviews by ladehc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

HG cleanser, I will never ever ever ever stray ever again.


Excellent for problem skin that needs a little extra help to keep clear. My skin is SO MUCH WORSE when I am using a different cleanser. This is seriously amazing. It is very expensive, especially here in Australia ($85, ridiculous) but I get it online and it's worth every penny anyway. The bottle is massive and lasts a long time.


It is gently exfoliating, doesn't sting despite the glycolic acid, removes makeup pretty well - although I would recommend using a makeup remover first, as with any cleanser.


Amazing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 navelluddet on 2/7/2012 4:37:00 PM more reviews by navelluddet

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Cleansers are so hard to rate "good" or "bad" because it depends so much on your skin, what works for you.. But I can tell you about my experiene:
So a dermatologist recommended me MD formulation series because it helps will skin renewal, because of the acids. It helped me with clearing up my skin from acne, even though it's not a "acne-treatment" by defenition. No other cleanser has really done the job this one does for me. I'm not a fan of salicylic acid or benzoperoxide, but the acids in this cleanser works with exfoliating the skin in a non-rubbing way (which is BAD if you have acne, could spread the bacteria..) which is making the skin "thinner" and taking away the dead skin cells + oils + dirts + bacterias that causes clogged pores and acne.

I even uses this cleanser as a mask. Just leaving it on for as long as I can. Maybe my skin is used to the acids, but the skin doesn't feel irritated or causing redness afterwards, like other acne-cleansers does. For me..

I love this cleanser and everytime a bottle runs out, I always think I'm gonna find something else to save my poor wallet (it's kind of pricey..) but I never do :) I <3 this!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MD Formulations products

More Cleansers products