E.L.F. • Essential Eye Shadow Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.3(768 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 cosmeticjunky on 2/28/2015 3:14:00 AM more reviews by cosmeticjunky

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I never would've purchased this brush had I not come across the reviews here accidentally. Since It's a buck, Why not try it out. This is actually quite impressive considering it's a dollar. I mean it doesn't do anything miraculous, Just does its job but for the price it does that job very well! It holds powdered eyeshadow without dropping it all before I can apply it & it doesn't lose bristles on my face which even my lancome brushes are guilty of. Very good for a dollar!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SmokeySings on 2/28/2015 2:55:00 AM more reviews by SmokeySings

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I do not get the rave reviews on this. This was a disaster brush for me. Bristles fell out on first use, getting all over my cheeks, and a couple bristles even fell into my eyes.

To me I would rather invest in a better brush like from EcoTools or Real Techniques or even the $3 Elf brushes. The ferrel also came off the first time I washed it. Went into the garbage.

The Elf $1 FACE brushes might be okay in a pinch or for those really budget-minded or even young gals just starting to play with makeup, but I would not suggest these $1 eye brushes to anybody. JMO. The $3 eye brushes are not spectacular, but somewhat decent compared to these ones. I would use a q-tip or the cheapie eyeshadow applicators to apply eyeshadow before using these $1 brushes.

I just think when it comes to my eyes, I am not going to take chances. I will make the investment of a few more dollars and have a better and a softer brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AnnayB on 2/28/2015 2:12:00 AM more reviews by AnnayB

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

The brush really does its job, especially considering it's just $1. It hold a great bit of powder and allows for easily application. It isn't the softest brush, but I don't think it's that rough either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blancopanda920 on 2/24/2015 10:08:00 PM more reviews by blancopanda920

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

great quality for the price you pay

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 aenflex on 11/19/2014 10:22:00 AM more reviews by aenflex

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is the worst brush I've ever used. Cannot fathom the decent ratings its gotten, unless I genuinely got a dud.
Straight out of the package the bristles started falling. Getting all over my face, in my eyes. Rub it along my arm, lose a chunk of bristles.
Unusable.
For reference I got the white handled brush that costs $1 at Target.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kiyoshi001 on 11/7/2014 1:15:00 PM more reviews by kiyoshi001

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This brush is really cheap and it would have been great if it didn't prick my lids every time I use it. It hurts a bit so if I can help it I don't use it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nomiaus75 on 10/4/2014 3:27:00 AM more reviews by Nomiaus75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This has served me faithfully for 6 years now . I have a million brushes but I always return to this one . I heard they changed it ? Mine is an old one and still perfect after all these years

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 acciohashi on 10/3/2014 2:12:00 AM more reviews by acciohashi

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This product is a basic, cheap staple and everyone needs something like this.
The bristles are animal hair and animal hair isn't always the softest. However, animal hair holds powder much better, providing more pigmentation and less fall-out.
At it's widest point, this is about the size of a dime or maybe a pinky or ring finger nail. The width is about that of the newer, thinner quarters. This is great for precision work, like on the orbital ridge, inner corner, or on a small amount of lid space. It's not the best for the hollows of the eye, but that's just the nature if this shape since it doesn't swipe well.
It's really flat, and thin. It is also dense for its small width, but it's not very fluffy at all. The one I got from my 99 cent store seems to be less fluffier than the ones available in sets, but I don't have any sets to compare with. I don't think it's great for super opaque color, since it takes some layering if you really want pan-color, but it does yield good pigmentation. Obviously, this is more of a "placing" brush, not a blending brush.
It's a bit scratchy at first and sheds a little bit, but the shedding stops after the first wash. I've never had any staining and its softened over time.
The worst part of the brush is the packaging. The silver letters fade very quickly, and the ferule comes off loose. Some super glue fixed this and its still very stable, months afterwards.
Everyone needs a brush like this, and this isn't the best of its kind but it is a very good and also affordable option.
If you're looking for higher quality natural hair, I recommend the brush duo by LA Colors that is only about $2 in dollar stores.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mimz007 on 9/1/2014 10:46:00 AM more reviews by mimz007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

for $1 can't go wrong! its actually a great brush. it is wide so definitely more for packing on and shading

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dalalzein on 9/1/2014 10:01:00 AM more reviews by dalalzein

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

For $1 it works fairly well and did the job, The bristles are super soft and pick up a lot of eye shadow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Makeup Brushes products