Laura Mercier • Ambre Rose Glace • Lip Gloss

rated 4.5(81 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kad9k on 2/3/2010 12:10:00 AM more reviews by kad9k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Other    

I don't buy much on impulse at Sephora (I consult MUA and plan my purchases!) but this gloss really jumped out at me in the store. The color is gorgeous, a very complex rosy bronze, and works with a variety of looks. I have to say, though, that I'm not sure it's worth the price -- you don't get much for your money. I'll enjoy it while it lasts, but these days there are so many affordable quality lippies that I don't think I'll re-buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mulletoftruth on 1/17/2010 3:59:00 PM more reviews by mulletoftruth

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I've been looking for a gloss to replace a discontinued Smashbox gloss and was hoping this would be the ticket based on reviews.

It just doesn't work with my skintone. It just looked bronze, which is a color I can't pull of on my lips. The orange-y tones really came out and just washed me out. I'm neutral/fair-toned with grey-green eyes and dark hair.

The formulation is nice, though, and while the scent is VERY strong - one of those overly sweet cotton candy smells - it does fade pretty quickly to nothing. It definitely has more of a liquid lipstick consistency, but it's nice and moisturizing.

The upside is that I gave it to my mom, who has a deeper skintone than I do and can pull off darker colors. It looks great on her and the color looks different than it does on me. The berry tones come out and doesn't look bronzey at all.

Not sure how helpful this review is except to say that if you can't do bronze lips, find another shade.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JAJ1ETA on 12/19/2009 6:29:00 PM more reviews by JAJ1ETA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This color is amazing! I absolutely love it! It's almost like chanels infinity lipgloss, but this gloss goes on so much smoother. The color looks a little stronger in the tube but, on me, shows up a beautiful champagne color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* junomacguff on 11/23/2009 11:51:00 PM more reviews by junomacguff

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is the color I've always been looking for! I'm very pale with blonde hair and green eyes. This looks awesome with my usual Bobbi Brown Long Wear Cream Shadow in Sandy Gold. Also, this gloss hydrates my super dry lips better than most lip balms and it smells wonderful. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 srank on 6/2/2009 4:56:00 AM more reviews by srank

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I saw this while purchasing the LM primer and fell instantly in love. The colour looks peachy-bronzy in the tube but on my lips it is a gorgeous metallic bronze-gold shade. It goes on very smooth with no goopiness of a lipgloss. The colour does fade after 4 hours but that is expected from a lipgloss anyway. It is a very easy colour to use for day or night. I've used it for a dinner party (paired with smoky eyes) and with a bare face (with just mascara) and had tons of compliments! I highly recommend this for anyone who loves the bronzy-gold-copper look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JClarke on 5/3/2009 2:38:00 PM more reviews by JClarke

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This lip gloss turned out to be a bit darker than I had anticipated, almost a raspberry colour. I normally wear a lip gloss over lipstick but I find this one has enough pigment for it to look ok on its own. Although it's called a lip gloss, in fact it's not all that glossy. But I like the look anyway.
Nice tube and sponge applicator. Easy to use - you don't get too much product, as you do with some other lip glosses.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* auburngal on 3/6/2009 4:52:00 PM more reviews by auburngal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love it alone over liner or as a gloss over lipstick. Such a great color for me. Good texture too. One lippie off because I am not a fan of the vanilla scent though it has no flavor.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 foreverfrench on 10/27/2008 6:08:00 PM more reviews by foreverfrench

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is my favorite natural color. I love the taste and smell of these lip glosses! And i'm not normally a gloss kinda person! But since these are not sticky i can wear them everyday and not have to worry about my hair or making a mess! plus they compliment her lip stain very very well!!! (ambre rose and sugar violet[stain] make the best pair!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TheWorldsDresser on 10/11/2008 8:54:00 AM more reviews by TheWorldsDresser

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I have been in love with this Laura Mercier lip glace ($22) ever since I picked it up on the Youtube Makeup trip this summer. The name describes the color perfectly - it's a great mix of coppery amber with a small hint of a rosy pink. To put it into Mac terms - mix Coppering e/s with Antiqued e/s and make it into the smoothest gloss ever.

It has the shine of a gloss without looking greasy or messy. Also, it's not sticky - the color just rests on your lips without moving. Laura Mercier's lip glaces simply stay where they are meant to be. They are long lasting without drying out your lips or enhancing those little lips lines that sometimes come out with long wearing colors.

This is HG stuff guys!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lyndsayrae on 2/16/2008 7:54:00 PM more reviews by Lyndsayrae

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm a huge fan of this gloss, especially in the summer when I have a bit of a tan. While it does look somewhat dark when you initially put it on, it lightens up considerably after only a few minutes. It gives my lips definition, a little color, and subtle shine. It is a lovely, natural gloss. I wore it on my wedding day in May and the color lasted a very long time without being overpowering. The consistancy is amazing...other glosses may be shinier, but I can't handle the stickiness of them. I don't have to worry at all with this gloss. I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Lip Gloss products