NARS • Botan Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.0(46 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Narsfanatic on 8/29/2014 2:25:00 AM more reviews by Narsfanatic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It's scratchy. BUT it's so efficient. Although I have way more brushes than I need, I find myself incorporating Botan into my daily routine. Paired with the nars translucent powder, it sets my makeup perfectly. even better, is that it polishes my look. whenever i am too heavy handed with my bronzer,contour or blush, i just buff away with my botan and my makeup looks flawless.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ginaxav on 7/10/2014 4:47:00 PM more reviews by ginaxav

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Update #2- I was determined to figure this brush out, and I think I have. I'm still only giving it a 4 overall because it IS rough, it DOES shed, it DOES bleed dye when washed, and yeah, it's pricey. At first I felt like I was just buffing off my makeup when I used it to apply Meteroites. I have since found a way to use it that works for me. I apply my primer, let dry, pat on concealer/under eye corrector, let dry, conceal over corrector if needed, let dry. foundation, let dry. Spray with UD All Nighter setting spray. All of this is what I do anyway. However instead of now blending on my blush and bronzer, I do a thick sweep of blush on my apples and a swipe of bronzer under my cheekbones, sides of forehead, sides of nose, and jawline. All the places I would normally contour but I don't blend as I apply, I just swipe it on. I then take the Botan and brush it in either Meteorites or Hourglass Ambient Light Powder (Hourglass is my favorite) and using the circular buffing motion, but not as hard as if i was buffing, I apply that to my face. The end result is now flawlessly blended and contoured makeup. I am actually pretty good at making my skin look amazing (lots of practice, sigh) but this has surpassed anything I've done so far. Since Sephora basically has a no questions asked return policy I'd encourage anyone with $75 to try it, but give it some time to find out what works for you.

Update- taking the rating down a bit. I'm sadly not into this brush at all. Even after washing and going so far as to condition, it's just rough on my face. I feel like it doesn't buff my makeup but it takes off makeup already on my face. It's also still shedding 2-3 hairs on my face every time which sounds like no big deal except a $75 brush really shouldn't shed this badly.

So far, I have not been able to actually use this brush because it is taking for.ever to dry. I always wash my brushes before using them for hygiene reasons and Nars recommends washing this brush before first use anyway. I used baby shampoo and lightly swirled the brush in my palm and the lathers turned grey as it bled dye, but it only lost about 10 hairs or so. It took a lot of rinsing to get the water to run clear of dye and suds, but the drying time is going to take ever longer. I will update on usage when I finally get to that point, but just a FYI for anyone wanting this brush, if you need a replacement brush ASAP, due to it's prep time this is not the brush for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BXsenorita on 5/27/2013 10:12:00 PM more reviews by BXsenorita

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the most expensive brush I own but it's wonderful! I figured if I didn't like it I would exchange it for something else but after using it I'm hooked. I use it to buff out my makeup, I always felt like my studio fix powder was a little too much packed out even though I would lightly apply it. My face looked so flawless that my skin looked brand new to me. Definitely an investment but I believe it is worth it. Blends in everything beautifully so if I feel blush or anything is too harsh, no worries just a few swipes and problem solved. The brush is huge and very soft but still stiff enough to make me feel like it's actually working. It has a little shedding going on but nothing too serious like my MAC 109 which is another favorite makeup brush of mine

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ForTheMemories on 9/30/2012 10:18:00 PM more reviews by ForTheMemories

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is an investment piece. Even so, this Kabuki brush is very versatile. Use it to apply mineral foundations, powdered bronzers, and finishing powders. The unique shape of this brush is also perfect for blending powdered blush. This brush fits snugly in one’s hand and is crafted to help create a flawless finish. I love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondebohemian on 9/30/2012 8:21:00 PM more reviews by blondebohemian

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is by far one of the only items in my very large make up collection I reach for every single day. It is most definitely one of the best purchases I have ever made.

Yes, it is very expensive (75 dollars I believe). But, with proper care it will last you for years and years. It is also a beautiful brush.

I use the Botan brush in two ways. The first is that I alternate between the Botan (dense) and the NARS 1 brush (fluffy) to apply my bronzer. The second way is that I use the Botan to blend my face make up when I am done applying contour, bronzer, and blush. What the Botan does that is remarkable, is that it truly blends the product into your skin. I have used other expensive brushes to apply my face make up, but the effects aren't quite the same. The Botan makes a big difference in the finished result - it doesn't look like you have layers of bronzer, blush, contour on your face, but it makes the product look like it's part of your skin.

While I do love splurging on bronzer, I have found that the Botan makes even inexpensive drug store products look amazing! (ie: Rimmel's 'Sun Bronze' natural bronzer $5.99!)

One lippie off because it is expensive, and big and bulky (don't even think about carrying this in your purse). Also, it does shed, which is always a pain. And it is rather annoying to wash. But I'm willing to over look that. I can just blend my face for a few seconds with this and my make up is transformed - my skin looks flawless, I looked airbrushed, and still natural.

I don't think that this is a must have for everyone. It is a splurge, however, if you love make up, have a gazillion brushes already, and are always looking for tools that will boost your application, I would definately recommend this.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 redcherry32 on 6/27/2012 10:34:00 PM more reviews by redcherry32

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love love nars always thinking outside the box.this brush is so soft and so luxurious I feel like the queen I am.when I first received the brush I wash it right away.i maybe lost about 5 hairs at best.no dye color.i read the reviews and I expect the worst.i think it all depends on where u buy the brush.because less face it their are fakes out there.i brought mines directly from nars and I love it.did I, mention its super soft.i highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gconn on 3/25/2012 10:59:00 AM more reviews by gconn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Black    

I LOVES IT. Totally didn't want to give it a 5-star review because it is so pricey, but it makes my life so much easier.

The first wash, it shed a million (okay, realistically speaking, probably more like 70) little hairs, and bled a lot. I had to shampoo it about five times for it to stop bleeding. Takes about 24 hours to dry, if you dry it upside down. Check my profile for a picture of how to do this.

Basically, owning this brush means that you can use cheap brushes and have poor application skills for almost all of your face makeup, and nobody will be the wiser. This airbrushes your entire face and blends all your makeup out seamlessly. It's not rough at all, but it doesn't feel baby soft (use a light hand, that's all you need). I can buff in my makeup after every step (foundation, powder, blush/bronzer, etc) and all of it will look seamless. I never put any product directly on the brush, and only use it to buff out already-applied products. If you're more skilled at regular application, you won't need this, but it'll make it much easier and quicker.

Yes, it's on the expensive side, but it's MUCH cheaper on ACW. Definitely worth the ACW price, if not the retail price.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Saira1977 on 2/25/2012 7:55:00 AM more reviews by Saira1977

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Purchased this brush of eBay and got quite a good price! Although I would buy again I dont think I would pay full money! My brush really shed loads until i washed it which it then became softer and didn't shed as much! I also found that u have to really blend lightly with this as it does rub of all the make up u have just put on. Think I love this brush more just becos more of the the name NARS xx

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elfodimontagna on 1/7/2012 5:15:00 PM more reviews by elfodimontagna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

i got this brush wit the holiday Nagauta Kabuki Brush Set, at first i though it was a little rough but after washing it, it become soooooo soft! it feels so luxurious and it is good for mineral and liquid make up. Best kabuki ever!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 10/20/2011 1:18:00 AM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I couldn't imagine paying full price for this brush before owning it, but now I know that if I ever lost it, I would HAVE to replace it because I use this brush every day to blend after applying my foundation, blush, bronzer, and highlighter.. it creates this seamless beautiful application with just a little buffing. I have used it every day since receiving it. I have not noticed any shedding, and the bristle texture feels perfect for blending because it is soft yet textured, so its hard enough to leave an effect. I recommend you find this brush at a discount, because it really is a must have, but the price is outrageous!

My profile, for FYI:
NW10/15, cool toned, blue eyes, normal/oily skin, 3a fine but coarse curly hair but I wear straight thanks to keratin treatments!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Makeup Brushes products