NARS • Botan Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.0(44 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 BXsenorita on 5/27/2013 10:12:00 PM more reviews by BXsenorita

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the most expensive brush I own but it's wonderful! I figured if I didn't like it I would exchange it for something else but after using it I'm hooked. I use it to buff out my makeup, I always felt like my studio fix powder was a little too much packed out even though I would lightly apply it. My face looked so flawless that my skin looked brand new to me. Definitely an investment but I believe it is worth it. Blends in everything beautifully so if I feel blush or anything is too harsh, no worries just a few swipes and problem solved. The brush is huge and very soft but still stiff enough to make me feel like it's actually working. It has a little shedding going on but nothing too serious like my MAC 109 which is another favorite makeup brush of mine

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ForTheMemories on 9/30/2012 10:18:00 PM more reviews by ForTheMemories

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is an investment piece. Even so, this Kabuki brush is very versatile. Use it to apply mineral foundations, powdered bronzers, and finishing powders. The unique shape of this brush is also perfect for blending powdered blush. This brush fits snugly in one’s hand and is crafted to help create a flawless finish. I love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondebohemian on 9/30/2012 8:21:00 PM more reviews by blondebohemian

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is by far one of the only items in my very large make up collection I reach for every single day. It is most definitely one of the best purchases I have ever made.

Yes, it is very expensive (75 dollars I believe). But, with proper care it will last you for years and years. It is also a beautiful brush.

I use the Botan brush in two ways. The first is that I alternate between the Botan (dense) and the NARS 1 brush (fluffy) to apply my bronzer. The second way is that I use the Botan to blend my face make up when I am done applying contour, bronzer, and blush. What the Botan does that is remarkable, is that it truly blends the product into your skin. I have used other expensive brushes to apply my face make up, but the effects aren't quite the same. The Botan makes a big difference in the finished result - it doesn't look like you have layers of bronzer, blush, contour on your face, but it makes the product look like it's part of your skin.

While I do love splurging on bronzer, I have found that the Botan makes even inexpensive drug store products look amazing! (ie: Rimmel's 'Sun Bronze' natural bronzer $5.99!)

One lippie off because it is expensive, and big and bulky (don't even think about carrying this in your purse). Also, it does shed, which is always a pain. And it is rather annoying to wash. But I'm willing to over look that. I can just blend my face for a few seconds with this and my make up is transformed - my skin looks flawless, I looked airbrushed, and still natural.

I don't think that this is a must have for everyone. It is a splurge, however, if you love make up, have a gazillion brushes already, and are always looking for tools that will boost your application, I would definately recommend this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 redcherry32 on 6/27/2012 10:34:00 PM more reviews by redcherry32

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love love nars always thinking outside the box.this brush is so soft and so luxurious I feel like the queen I am.when I first received the brush I wash it right away.i maybe lost about 5 hairs at best.no dye color.i read the reviews and I expect the worst.i think it all depends on where u buy the brush.because less face it their are fakes out there.i brought mines directly from nars and I love it.did I, mention its super soft.i highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gconn on 3/25/2012 10:59:00 AM more reviews by gconn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Black    

I LOVES IT. Totally didn't want to give it a 5-star review because it is so pricey, but it makes my life so much easier.

The first wash, it shed a million (okay, realistically speaking, probably more like 70) little hairs, and bled a lot. I had to shampoo it about five times for it to stop bleeding. Takes about 24 hours to dry, if you dry it upside down. Check my profile for a picture of how to do this.

Basically, owning this brush means that you can use cheap brushes and have poor application skills for almost all of your face makeup, and nobody will be the wiser. This airbrushes your entire face and blends all your makeup out seamlessly. It's not rough at all, but it doesn't feel baby soft (use a light hand, that's all you need). I can buff in my makeup after every step (foundation, powder, blush/bronzer, etc) and all of it will look seamless. I never put any product directly on the brush, and only use it to buff out already-applied products. If you're more skilled at regular application, you won't need this, but it'll make it much easier and quicker.

Yes, it's on the expensive side, but it's MUCH cheaper on ACW. Definitely worth the ACW price, if not the retail price.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Saira1977 on 2/25/2012 7:55:00 AM more reviews by Saira1977

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Purchased this brush of eBay and got quite a good price! Although I would buy again I dont think I would pay full money! My brush really shed loads until i washed it which it then became softer and didn't shed as much! I also found that u have to really blend lightly with this as it does rub of all the make up u have just put on. Think I love this brush more just becos more of the the name NARS xx

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elfodimontagna on 1/7/2012 5:15:00 PM more reviews by elfodimontagna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

i got this brush wit the holiday Nagauta Kabuki Brush Set, at first i though it was a little rough but after washing it, it become soooooo soft! it feels so luxurious and it is good for mineral and liquid make up. Best kabuki ever!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 10/20/2011 1:18:00 AM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I couldn't imagine paying full price for this brush before owning it, but now I know that if I ever lost it, I would HAVE to replace it because I use this brush every day to blend after applying my foundation, blush, bronzer, and highlighter.. it creates this seamless beautiful application with just a little buffing. I have used it every day since receiving it. I have not noticed any shedding, and the bristle texture feels perfect for blending because it is soft yet textured, so its hard enough to leave an effect. I recommend you find this brush at a discount, because it really is a must have, but the price is outrageous!

My profile, for FYI:
NW10/15, cool toned, blue eyes, normal/oily skin, 3a fine but coarse curly hair but I wear straight thanks to keratin treatments!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anna214 on 10/3/2011 3:13:00 AM more reviews by anna214

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Firstly I'll say I bought this for a great deal on ACW, and only ended up paying about $AU30 for it. However I love it so much that if it went missing I would probably pay the full price for it (American not Australian - I could never spend that much on a brush).

I use this to apply powder foundation (Nude by Nature) and it's perfect. It looks completely natural. I also use it to buff the edges of my blush. The main difference between my makeup before and after getting the Botan is the finish - I end up with a much more natural look.

I've only washed it once so far and it did bleed and shed a lot but it hasn't shed on my face. It took about 3-4 days to dry completely after washing which is a bit of a pain. Mine isn't scratchy at all, but it's not super soft, either. I expect it to get softer after more washing, though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kathrynb23 on 5/23/2011 7:46:00 PM more reviews by kathrynb23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really wish I did some research (Or even visit a Mecca Cosmetica store to see this brush in person) before purchasing this brush.
Firstly, the bleeding of dye after wash does not bother me, soo that was never a concern to me, cause like others have mention, it will eventually stop, and it did.
The shredding was a b*t*h! Not just during washes, every time when I use this brush to dust powder on my face, I get strands of black hair all over my face, and this never stopped for me, I thought eventually it would have to stop, it cant keep shredding like this, NO! Not the case, even after several months of use, it still the same.
Although it shredded alot, for some strange reason, it never lost its shape or density which is good, but odd!
The bristles on this brush is very scratchy! I find it way too coarse for my face, it is a very large kabuki which can be annoying at times, cause it cant fit into any of my powders.
Personally, I think my $2AUD kabuki from GLOSS by far beat the pants of this brush. Extremely expensive brush at $145AUD from Mecca Cosmetica, I advise all Aussie who is planning to invest on this brush, PLEASE go and visit a Mecca Cosmetica counter and see the brush first! I can guarantee you'll be suprised! Dont repeat my mistake, and purchase from Mecca online.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Makeup Brushes products