Bare Escentuals • bare Minerals Foundation #2/#3 & Mineral Veil • Powder

rated 3.3(373 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 Sara44 on 3/7/2014 11:45:00 PM more reviews by Sara44

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Not a fan of this foundation, you have to have PERFECT skin to wear this.

I found it was decent at hiding the colour of my acne but didn't look right on dry spots and almost actuated them. Also things like tiny bumps and flaws will be highlighted with this powder foundation.

Wouldn't repurchase

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Michaelasuzannah on 9/19/2013 11:14:00 AM more reviews by Michaelasuzannah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Now this was the first mineral foundation I have come across and the coverage is good.. For about an hour. I used this for a year and realised recently that it's 100% the reason that my acne was getting worse and worse! After some research, it backed up my theory. I also always had make up slipping down my face with this stuff. So thank you bare minerals for advertising 'amazing, natural minerals' but actually giving me more acne & acne scars as a result

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissNolasco on 9/8/2013 7:50:00 PM more reviews by MissNolasco

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

When I first started using these products I thought they were overrated and bad quality but I grew love for these and I really hope that if you own them, you will too because they are good products and good results can come from them, it is all about using the right brushes and the right amount of powder on the lids. I recommend using about 4 sprinkles of the foundation onto the lid and 2 sprinkles of the powder onto the lid. Those are my guidelines for getting the most out of these products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 imgracekelly on 3/19/2013 11:41:00 AM more reviews by imgracekelly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I wear this over the bare minerals foundation and I find that a little bit goes a long way. If I use any more than just two swipes over one part of my face I end up sparkly! (Which looks nice...just not for work).
I like the light feeling of this product and feel that it helps keep my make up looking fresh all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Suzie209 on 3/3/2013 11:37:00 PM more reviews by Suzie209

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I used this product all throughout High School and I loved it! I had fabulous skin and rarely had breakouts. However in my mid 20's I became pregnant. That was the end of my BE love. My face would feel so hot and itchy! I called customer service and they told me it was common during pregnancy. I decided to switch and did not go back. I miss the mineral veil and the smooth finish, but I just couldn't use it anymore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jessraval0414 on 1/27/2013 10:08:00 PM more reviews by jessraval0414

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE THIS SO MUCH! I have never felt so confident. I get do many compliments and it stays al day at school without reapplying it looks seriosuly do pretty and I look flawless. My pores look smaller and it has really improved my skin overall and my skin doesn't look shiny or oily in this makeup. It's the only kind that hasn't broken me out. I love bare essentials and it was prolly the best Christmas gift I have got(:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MeganRoseLane on 1/12/2013 7:03:00 AM more reviews by MeganRoseLane

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely LOVE the finish Bare Minerals gives. Usually I avoid powder foundations, and happened to try it out by chance because my friend was wearing it and it looked GORGEOUS. It takes some practice, and you need the right brush (Which obviously ups the price) but once you've got the hang of it you'll be amazed. I personally use the original one & so many people have commented that my skin is glowing! Plus, if blended well, it looks like you have next to nothing on your skin. Don't just go putting it on with any old brush though - and definitely build in thinner layers to avoid blotchiness (powder, unlike fluid, is difficult to correct & you may end up having to take it all off and start over again!) When i'm going out I tend to wear Armani Luminous Silk foundation (6.5) and use Bare Minerals (Golden Tan) to set it and give myself more of a matte glow. (I'm an NC35/37 in MAC) x

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 TheMoonBunny on 10/19/2012 1:21:00 AM more reviews by TheMoonBunny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using Bare Minerals Original SPF 15 Foundation for nearly 2 years now. I'm using Fairly Medium C20, and I have sensitive, acne-prone combination skin, with a history of severe cystic acne.


I'm on the fence about this foundation because it has many pros & cons for me. Every time I try a liquid foundation, I break out.


PROS
--- perfect shade for my skin
--- does not cause *any* breakouts
--- completely covers mild rosacea / redness
--- quick to apply
--- if applied with ELF's powder brush, doesn't look like I"m wearing any makeup at all
--- it applied with ELF's powder brush, doesn't emphasize pores too much


CONS
--- easily can look cakey or chalky
--- easily will magnify pores in the cheeks / nose
--- will settle into any grooves / wrinkles / acne crater scars
--- mineral veil seems ineffective at mattifying & sealing in foundation


Overall, I've stuck with this because it evens my skin tone, hides my rosacea and discoloration from acne scarring, and doesn't cause me to break out. I have been trying liquid foundations because I would like to minimize my pore size, but every liquid foundation so far causes me to break out in regular or cystic acne. Many primers also cause me to break out. However, I suspect this product would work better with a primer beneath it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MiaBella0517 on 10/10/2012 8:51:00 AM more reviews by MiaBella0517

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

MAKEUPLOVERAUS is obviously doing something wrong. That's why you buy a starter kit that comes with a DVD. It is fairly inexpensive at $27.00 but if it cost $100.00, I would still buy it cuz 1 foundation lasts 2 years. First of all, you need to apply it with your heavenly face brush. It took me a whule of playing with the brushes to figure this out. Also if you have oily skin like me, they offer the foundation in matte which gives yiu a flawless finush with no breakthroughs. And if you happen to have daily breakthroughs, they now sell mineral veil in a to go compact. 80% of women are the color mediun which I found to be true because I am medium & I love the new turnlock containers. You have to give it time & play with it. It's the best makeuo I've ever put on my skin.
Monique. 40 yo caucasian

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 makeuploveraus on 9/24/2012 2:03:00 AM more reviews by makeuploveraus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

For the price this product isnít worth it. The coverage is okay but looks quiet chalky, the staying power isnít anything to write home about and the colour range is okay. ID minerals are generally a nice brand if you are willing to pay for quality. Unfortunately for them the quality factor doesnít exist in this product. If I compare it to Youngblood it isnít half as good. This product to me is no different from your 20 dollar supermarket bought powder which you expect low quality from. I donít recommend this as itís not worth the $$.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Powder products