TheBalm • BalmShelter Tinted Moisturizer • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 4.2(153 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 HighPriestess on 9/18/2014 1:01:00 AM more reviews by HighPriestess

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The Balm's TimeBalm Concealer in the shade "Lighter than Light" is a long-time favorite in my kit; recently, I decided to try their BalmShelter Tinted Moisturizer w/ SPF 18 in the same shade.

Texture:
BalmShelter is thin in texture and very easily blended; it has no discernable sheen/glow to my eye. I always use a scant dusting of silica-based finishing powder before heading out the door, but the bare finish of the product is more that of a natural-matte cream.

Pigmentation:
Sheer to semi-sheer--product is buildable (to a degree, obviously!).

Wear:
Perfect! BalmShelter is very long-wearing (set with powder); I've also had no issues with oxidation or skin eruptions since adding this product (over a month ago). As others have mentioned, it is not much of a moisturizer (albeit not drying on my combo-dry skintype, either).

Shade:
Lighter Than Light corresponds perfectly with the same shade in the brand's concealer. I would describe it as a pale-fair neutral, which suits my needs as a NW15 perfectly.

As of purchase, one tube of BalmShelter runs $25 for 2.15 fluid ounce (64ml) worth of product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Shylilsweety on 9/4/2014 8:30:00 PM more reviews by Shylilsweety

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have combination, acne-prone skin, and it tends to be really sensitive so I'm always nervous in trying new products.

I purchased this online after careful review searching and was not disappointed.The product not only feels moisturizing the second you put it on, but it does keep your skin smooth and moisturized for a few hours after application. I don't notice much of a scent. Its tint is very, and I mean VERY light coverage. I am using Light in color, but might repurchase lighter, since I am pretty fair skinned. The application is smooth and I apply with clean fingertip after a primer. I sometimes mix this with my liquid foundation and apply both at the same time. I come out with a little bit of a dewy result after applying this product (alone or mixed) so I just use loose mineral matte powder to keep it locked downed for hours and matte.

Overall: Really love this, and will continue to repurchase. My only wish is that it had more coverage! It's definetly buildable without clumping, going into fine lines, or becoming cakey or catching on dry areas and is very smooth, but not "perfect-cover-all-pores-like-photoshop" smooth and it gets only as far as light to medium coverage when building. If it had a medium flat coverage it would be amazing and worth every cent so I took a point off just for that and I do wish is was easier to find and obtain! Only able to find it online currently.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hannahwang97 on 8/30/2014 10:40:00 AM more reviews by hannahwang97

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This has the potential to work very well even on oily skin with powder and primer. However I have extremely patchy dry skin for some reason at the moment and this foundation has emphasized it, not as much as other products though. The feeling of this on the skin is thin and light, does not look cakey! You can see your skin but the foundation is noticeable. IT DOES NOT BREAK YOU OUT! I have acne-prone skin and nearly everything makes my acne worse whether it makes me get more or makes the ones I have worse. It was a huge surprise considering some of the ingredients it uses and not saying that it's non-comedegenic. My skin was actually improving while using this! The packaging is something I hate, it looks very cheap. However I would definitely reuse and repurchase once my skin has retained moisture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JBeauty22 on 8/28/2014 12:15:00 AM more reviews by JBeauty22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

People keep saying there are no darker shades....THAT IS NOT TRUE! There are 3!!!! Just before dark, dark, and after dark. I work for the new kohls beauty department as a advisor and kohls carries Thebalm as well as the 3 darker shades depending on whether your kohls has the new beauty department. Anyway, this product is great it isn't dewy like I hoped but its very light and fresh. The only bad thing is it oxidizes! You can tell by how the excess product gets darker on the inside of the cap so for lighter skin you may want to go a shade lighter to avoid looking orange or having a visible line. I use the shade dark as well as Thebalm time balm cream concealer in dark.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 purplelili on 8/27/2014 7:51:00 AM more reviews by purplelili

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

So I got this simply 'coz I was looking for light coverage product for the summer. I have made some research and reading all the good reviews I wanted to give it a go.

Cons:
-It is very affordable! The amount of product that you got in the tube is great! Will last you ages.
-SPF 18


Pros:
-People with oily skin should stay away from this product. Especially in the summer! It just doesnt settle on your face!
-It is not very good coverage. It doesn't even out your skin tone or anything. You cannot use this one on its own. You should use it with a good concealer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elizmarcelo on 7/29/2014 2:03:00 PM more reviews by elizmarcelo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

Rating this 5-star so more people would buy the BalmShelter then TheBalm wouldn't have to discontinue this product. That's how much I love it! Light, but tinted enough. Exactly how I want it to be! Had to spot conceal but I don't mind. The longer it is on your face, the better it looks. Wore this for approx 13 hours yesterday, I only had to blot (using Palladio rice powder) once!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Jackie2424 on 7/29/2014 10:54:00 AM more reviews by Jackie2424

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I wanted to like this- the color matched my skin perfectly. However it irritates my eyes no matter how far I keep it from them. Also it is too sheer for my crappy skin. The color match is great but I don't like to have to build coverage. If you don't have sensitive eyes or need a lot of coverage, then this is a great buy. I bought it at Kohl's. I am going to have to stick with my Laura Mercier oil free tinted moisturizer, which is expensive (the reason I tried TheBalm - $25 vs. $43 for LM) but it covers my imperfections in one application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BlissLush on 7/17/2014 2:31:00 PM more reviews by BlissLush

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this BB cream! Purchased this as replacement for my Holy Grail Urban Decay Tinted moisturizer which has been discontinued! The texture is nice, coverage is medium and buildable. Can wear alone or finish w/a pressed or loose powder. More bang for you buck! they give more product than most companies. Chose Medium color due to my summer tan (NC35) & it matches perfect! Better than the UD! and its cheaper! my new HG BB cream indeed!!!! Perfect for oily skin, my face isn't a grease ball after a long day. I love to use this with the tiny bit of UD Surreal Skin Loose powder in Vision that I have left, give its a matte finish. Doesn't irritate my super sensitive skin! Smoothes pores, covers up fine lines, giving an overall polished natural look!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nathalierae on 7/14/2014 12:28:00 AM more reviews by nathalierae

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought the shade "light" a few days ago from a department store. It was $25. This is a decent product. It is a very good quality tinted moisturizer. Depending on how you apply it, it can be sheer to medium coverage. It has quite a wide range of shades for a tinted moisturizer line, which is a plus also. However, because I have tried drugstore products that are similar, I find that $25 isn't very reasonable. I use a CC cream by Lumene, which retails for $15 at drug stores. The CC cream is my HG, so it is what I compare most bb/cc/tinted moisturizers to. The Balm's tinted moisturizer does not wear quite as long as my HG, it also only has an spf of 18, whereas Lumene's CC has 20. I also find that the CC cream I use is even more lightweight and less noticeable on the skin, even though it has slightly more coverage than The Balm's tinted moisturizer.

Overall, I think that the BalmShelter tinted moisturizer is a decent product, however, there are other products I would grab over this one. It is a very moisturizing product, and it hasn't irritated my skin at all. If you prefer tinted moisturizers, probably go for this one if you only need a little bit of coverage. Otherwise, if you want a tinted moisturizer with a fair bit of coverage, try the Laura Mercier one. If you want something inexpensive & are willing to go the bb/cc route, I recommend Lumene's products.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scopingforyou on 7/8/2014 7:03:00 PM more reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

PROS: Good shade selection (affordable enough I can mix two, if needed.)

Great in my large pores and wrinkles. Gives a very subtle glow (NO shimmer), just making my skin look BARELY dewy and pretty. Good coverage for a TM (I can even layer a bit, if needed, and my skin texture still looks good.)

The broad-spectrum SPF doesn't burn my very sensitive skin. And no fragrance to bother my skin either.

Very reasonable price.

Because it has SPF, I don't have to put SPF under it (and that's great, because almost all chemical SPFs I use burn my skin a bit...and the physical ones look awful in my pores/wrinkles.)

Leaves me with a small amount of moisture in my skin throughout the day. (More oily skin, see "application tips.") Does NOT highlight my dry flakes. Can EVEN use this under my eyes without making my eyes look hideous, like most foundations and even most TMs do. This gets a "best" rating, partly because of its great ingredients, from Paula's Choice beautypedia review thingy, which is rare.

Not tested on animals.


CONS: Harder to find. (But see purchasing tips.) Oily skin might have to set it with powder. (I'm not sure, though.)


COLORS: I would think quite pale skin would be able to wear the "lighter than light."

I have NC 15-20 skin; I'm mostly neutral and lean slightly warm/yellow. When pale (15-20), I mix 2/3 "lighter than light" with 1/3 "medium." I also can do well with 1/3 "lighter than light" and 2/3 "light/medium." ......... I don't go with "light" because it leans just slightly olive. But my skin is kind of weirdly toned where some things lean olive on me that don't on others. ("Light" is very popular in all these reviews here, so it may be my weird skin.)

BUT the "light" in the FOUNDATION version (TimeBalm) is great for me when I'm pale. (I mix in some of the "light/medium" of that one when I'm more tan, like NC 20-25.) And the "lighter than light" in the FOUNDATION version (TimeBalm) seems like it really would work for very pale skin.

When I'm tanner, about NC 20-25, I can do two parts "lighter than light" with one part "medium" and simply increase the amount of "medium," the tanner I get. Or when I'm a bit tanner than NC20 (and closer to 25), I can wear "light/medium" alone. And again, I just avoid the "light" in my mixes because of my weird skin. By the way, Pinterest has some great swatches for both the foundation and TM.


APPLICATION TIPS: Because of my large pores, I like to pat this into pores and then smooth on with fingers. I can use a damp beautyblender sponge to smooth this out even more beautifully.

To make it last even longer and disguise my pores even further, I can first use L'oreal magic perfecting primer patted into pores. I let it sit for at least a minute and I then apply the TM. (But it really performs so well in my pores, that I rarely even use the primer anymore.) OR for a very similar effect, you may want to set this with powder (or even use the makeup artist Wayne Goss's little trick of applying moisturizer, then loose powder, then TM or foundation. He describes it on his youtube channel. It sounds bizarre, but it works.)

I've seen bloggers say they like to use this as sort of a primer for foundation. I can absolutely see how that would be fantastic.


REMOVAL TIPS: If you are prone to clogging, you may want to remove this with a cleansing oil before using your regular cleanser.


PURCHASING TIPS: You can buy it online at Nordstrom.com, thebalm.com, dermstore.com, blush.com, overstock.com, and amazon. Soap.com sometimes carries it and for very good prices. My local Kohl's carry TheBalm products, so I get to try out products using the testers. But I know Nordstrom is great about online returns with free shipping both ways (not sure about thebalm's policies on that.)


ALTERNATES: MAC TM is quite nice; although, the fragrance may be upsetting for some people's skin. The foundation version,TimeBalm, is nice for a slightly dewy finish and even more coverage than this (but it's not quite as kind to my pores/wrinkles.) For more of a semi matte or satin finish, L'oreal Visible Lift Serum Absolute Advanced Age-Reversing Makeup is pretty good but not near as nice for wrinkles as this. This is MUCH kinder to wrinkles and pores than ANY of the Laura Mercier TMs.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More TheBalm products

More Tinted Moisturizer products