TheBalm BalmShelter Tinted Moisturizer

4.1

175 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active: Octinoxate 7.5, Octisalate 3, Avobenzone 3. Inactive: Water, Cetearyl Alcohol, Isopropyl Myristate, Cetyl Dimethicone, Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate, Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Isohexadecane, Polysorbate 60, Styrene-DVB Crosspolymer, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethyhexyl Glycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Sodium Dehydroacetate. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides.


on 8/27/2015 7:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a really nice tinted moisturizer. When I first apply, it makes my skin look really nice with surprisingly good coverage. Doesn't seem to break me out either. HOWEVER, I will not repurchase because I find it has zero staying power on my combo-oily skin. My skin looks amazing at first, but within a few hours I look greasy and my blush/bronzer is gone. I've tried this with a primer and same result. I don't recommend if you have oily skin.



on 7/2/2015 11:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Great product. Took me a while to buy it, seeing how it's 25 dollars for just some tinted moisturizer. I gave in and bought it, and I live it. It's more tinted than most of my other tinted moisturizers, but not heavy. Blends in so well that it just looks like my skin afterwards. I bought the Light color, which is good for pale skin. It helped to even out discoloration before I even added foundation. I wouldn't really even worry about foundation everyday of I didn't have time to put it on, this moisturizer gives a certain sheen, making your face look done. If you have more discoloration than usual, or breakouts, it won't completely cover that up, I would still use a little foundation on top.
I have extremely dry skin, so I very rarely powder my face. This moisturizer is great for me, because it gives extra moisture with foundation without caking a bunch of crap on. I like the dewy look, but if you aren't a fan of it, a very small amount of powder will mattify it easily.
Has the scent that usually comes with spf products, but not too harsh to where you have to smell it all day. It's actually a lighter smell than my Dermalogica one. If you have the money to spend, I'd definitely give this a go. If you are trying to be frugal, I'd still say to try it. The tube lasts for a pretty long time, and the tint or moisture doesn't wear off in a few hours like cheaper ones do, which is a pain of you are wearing makeup under it. I haven't noticed it turning orange on me like my Dermalogica one. Also isn't sticky.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Nice product: nice creamy texture, decent coverage, an extra moisturizing boost, and some SPF to boot. Pricey, but a much more generous size than most comparably-priced products you can find at Sephora.

If only I'd found an HG. Unfortunately there's one issue that will keep me from buying again. This product contains avobenzone and other chemical sunscreens. Now, I have no problem with chemical sunscreens on priniciple. They work very well and are safe to use. Sadly, my eyes just can't tolerate them. I want to be able to put my TM under my eyes. But if this gets anywhere NEAR my eyes, they start to sting and burn. I've started not putting the TM there and just relying on concealer. But even if I have residue of this product on my fingers when I apply my undereye concealer, they still sting. Plus my undereyes miss out on the extra coverage of this product and the SPF, which sucks.

If your eyes/skin can handle avobenzone/chemical sunscreens, go for it. I recommend this product. As for me, I need to switch back to a mineral-based SPF tinted moisturizer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/17/2015 1:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This has great coverage for a tinted moisturizer and more importantly it did NOT irritate my sensitive combination skin. Its definitely pricey, (I'd wait till TheBalm makes its regular appearance on Hautelook for the discount). At least you get 64ML, in most other liquid face makeup you only get 30ML. I got the shade LIGHT/MEDIUM which is a perfect match for me (I'm slightly lighter than olive but with very yellow undertones)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/29/2015 8:08:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Grey, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Not for my very mature combination (age 70) skin. Shows every pore, wrinkle and dry spot. I prefer TM for everyday use so I tried TheBalm Shelter after reading great online reviews. It's probably a great product if you are in your 20s and have oily skin. My search for the HG of TMs continues.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/28/2015 12:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this tinted moisturizer. Absolutely no fussing with brushes or beauty blenders, just use my fingers and it goes on nicely and evenly without streaks.

This has sheer coverage and is light and slightly dewy. My ONLY issue is that it oxidizes quickly. I'm NC20 and I bought it in Light and it turns a shade or two darker after a few minutes... I might have to go down a shade to Lighter than Light which is weird because NC20 is not that light.... If you don't mind waiting a few minutes when you're getting ready, this is a nice, lightweight tinted moisturizer.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/24/2015 8:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like this for when I want to where a heavier tinted moisturizer. I have tried a ton of TMs and BB creams and my acne, oily prone skin just does not like anything! This was nice because it did not break me out, it has wonderful coverage, absorbs quickly and did not have a strong smell. I think the only drawback was that it tends to oxidize and become a little orange, but a lot of makeup does that so it isn't too big of a deal for me. I usually will use Tarte's Amazonian Clay BB cream over this but there are some days where that does not give me enough coverage and then it is nice to have this,


on 3/16/2015 2:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This stuff is da bomb (hehe). I got it on sale for like $15 cnd at london drugs this past summer and I'm so glad I picked it up. It's exactly what I look for in a light coverage foundation. My skin is too dry in a lot of places to use this as a moisturizer, but I wouldn't trust anything but my trusty cetaphil cream to do that job anyways. It has spf 18 in it which is a bonus for every day use, but in the summer I would always wear spf 50 underneath any makeup I wear. I think mine is in the shade medium-dark, because it matched my summer skin tone perfectly. I would have bought more shades but that was all they had left because of the awesome sale. As fall came and I started to loose my tan, I would mix this colour with my NYC foundation (a really light shade). Overall a really great product and I will probably end up buying more as it seems to last a long time, but in Canada it costs like $35-40 regularly which is annoying


on 3/15/2015 1:54:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

First Review: I really like this product!! Bought it on overstock for $15 I think and in light/medium. I was about to get medium however this shade is perfect and I think light will be a good color for winter. I have a oily/combo skin type and this product looks better on compared to all my powders, in terms of oil control which is soo weird. But this product looks so amazing on the face like a healthy not matte not super dewy look, just in between. I apply it with my fingers and it look fine no streaks or anything weird looking but I think it looks better with a brush. Only noticeable scent is a sunscreen one.I think you should give it a go. Also I don't think it has parabens which is awsome. Overall I really do think this is a good tinted moisturizer, best for people who are not acne prone. However there is a ingredient called isopropyl myristate and it could be cause my breakouts not sure will update.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/9/2015 1:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Rereview:

Day 14: So I have used this for over two weeks. Intitially I thought it was breaking me out, but apparently it was a hormonal breakout.
It's an amazing product. Goes on smooth, leaves the skin soft & glowing. It gives a semi matte finish and does not make the skin oily throughout the day. It leaves me looking fresh all day long.
It is reasonably priced as it contains 60 ml of the product & only a pea sized amount is enough for the whole face & neck.
The only con is it can highlight dry patches.
Highly recommend this product. I will be buying again & again.

The Balm products rule!



Day 1. Amazing coverage, good color match (light), skin felt smoother than it had in ages. Matte & glowing finish. Unfortunately it has broken me out on both cheeks. Will continue using for a few days. Disappointed, since it's such a great product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated TheBalm Products

image

Frat Boy

54 reviews
image

Mary-Lou Manizer

392 reviews
image

Down Boy

65 reviews
image

Hot Mama

213 reviews
Back to Top