TheBalm BalmShelter Tinted Moisturizer

4.1

173 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Ethylhexyl Methoxcinnamate, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane, Ethylhexyl Salicylate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Isopropyl Myristate, Cetyl Dimethicone, Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer/Isohexadecane/Polysorbate 60, Styrene/Dvb Crosspolymer, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hexylene Glycol, Sodium Dehydroacetate [+/- Ci 77891, Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499]


on 5/17/2015 1:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This has great coverage for a tinted moisturizer and more importantly it did NOT irritate my sensitive combination skin. Its definitely pricey, (I'd wait till TheBalm makes its regular appearance on Hautelook for the discount). At least you get 64ML, in most other liquid face makeup you only get 30ML. I got the shade LIGHT/MEDIUM which is a perfect match for me (I'm slightly lighter than olive but with very yellow undertones)



on 4/29/2015 8:08:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Grey, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Not for my very mature combination (age 70) skin. Shows every pore, wrinkle and dry spot. I prefer TM for everyday use so I tried TheBalm Shelter after reading great online reviews. It's probably a great product if you are in your 20s and have oily skin. My search for the HG of TMs continues.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/28/2015 12:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this tinted moisturizer. Absolutely no fussing with brushes or beauty blenders, just use my fingers and it goes on nicely and evenly without streaks.

This has sheer coverage and is light and slightly dewy. My ONLY issue is that it oxidizes quickly. I'm NC20 and I bought it in Light and it turns a shade or two darker after a few minutes... I might have to go down a shade to Lighter than Light which is weird because NC20 is not that light.... If you don't mind waiting a few minutes when you're getting ready, this is a nice, lightweight tinted moisturizer.


on 3/24/2015 8:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like this for when I want to where a heavier tinted moisturizer. I have tried a ton of TMs and BB creams and my acne, oily prone skin just does not like anything! This was nice because it did not break me out, it has wonderful coverage, absorbs quickly and did not have a strong smell. I think the only drawback was that it tends to oxidize and become a little orange, but a lot of makeup does that so it isn't too big of a deal for me. I usually will use Tarte's Amazonian Clay BB cream over this but there are some days where that does not give me enough coverage and then it is nice to have this,


on 3/16/2015 2:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This stuff is da bomb (hehe). I got it on sale for like $15 cnd at london drugs this past summer and I'm so glad I picked it up. It's exactly what I look for in a light coverage foundation. My skin is too dry in a lot of places to use this as a moisturizer, but I wouldn't trust anything but my trusty cetaphil cream to do that job anyways. It has spf 18 in it which is a bonus for every day use, but in the summer I would always wear spf 50 underneath any makeup I wear. I think mine is in the shade medium-dark, because it matched my summer skin tone perfectly. I would have bought more shades but that was all they had left because of the awesome sale. As fall came and I started to loose my tan, I would mix this colour with my NYC foundation (a really light shade). Overall a really great product and I will probably end up buying more as it seems to last a long time, but in Canada it costs like $35-40 regularly which is annoying


on 3/15/2015 1:54:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

First Review: I really like this product!! Bought it on overstock for $15 I think and in light/medium. I was about to get medium however this shade is perfect and I think light will be a good color for winter. I have a oily/combo skin type and this product looks better on compared to all my powders, in terms of oil control which is soo weird. But this product looks so amazing on the face like a healthy not matte not super dewy look, just in between. I apply it with my fingers and it look fine no streaks or anything weird looking but I think it looks better with a brush. Only noticeable scent is a sunscreen one.I think you should give it a go. Also I don't think it has parabens which is awsome. Overall I really do think this is a good tinted moisturizer, best for people who are not acne prone. However there is a ingredient called isopropyl myristate and it could be cause my breakouts not sure will update.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/9/2015 1:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Rereview:

Day 14: So I have used this for over two weeks. Intitially I thought it was breaking me out, but apparently it was a hormonal breakout.
It's an amazing product. Goes on smooth, leaves the skin soft & glowing. It gives a semi matte finish and does not make the skin oily throughout the day. It leaves me looking fresh all day long.
It is reasonably priced as it contains 60 ml of the product & only a pea sized amount is enough for the whole face & neck.
The only con is it can highlight dry patches.
Highly recommend this product. I will be buying again & again.

The Balm products rule!



Day 1. Amazing coverage, good color match (light), skin felt smoother than it had in ages. Matte & glowing finish. Unfortunately it has broken me out on both cheeks. Will continue using for a few days. Disappointed, since it's such a great product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/22/2015 10:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I really want to love this product, after reading all the good review about it. I love the consistency and how easy this product spread on my face but it oxides on my face so badly, making it orangey after 1 hour of application.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/3/2015 6:00:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I adore this product. I have been looking for a light foundation, or tinted moisturizer, without success for years. I bought this on the strength of reviews here and could not be happier with it. In fact, within a week of buying it in "Light", I bought "Lighter than Light" as well. My shade is probably in between the two but I can wear each of them or mix them. I don't find it particularly moisturizing so wear it over a fairly heavy moisturizer now, in the dead of winter, and expect it will be just right on its own in summer. It is heavily pigmented and a drop the size of a small pea does my entire face. I apply with my fingers and then swirl an IT makeup brush over it. It doesn't accent anything I don't want to accent and does create a nice even, light reflecting but shine free look to my complexion. Perfection!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/3/2015 2:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I purchased this because it was on Hautelook for cheap. I've never been a fan of tinted moisturizers, but I decided to give this one a try after I ran out of my regular foundation. I mixed it up with the time balm face primer and applied it. It went on smoothly, thanks to the primer, most likely. But all in all, it stayed on my face all day and gave me light/medium coverage, which is exactly what I usually go for. I like it, it works well, but I don't know if I see myself repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated TheBalm Products

image

Mary-Lou Manizer

368 reviews
image

Frat Boy

52 reviews
image

Down Boy

64 reviews
image

Hot Mama

212 reviews
Back to Top