E.L.F. • Shimmering Facial Whip in Pink Lemonade • Blush

rated 3.7(19 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Josie_A on 8/8/2013 1:13:00 AM more reviews by Josie_A

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I actually love this stuff. It is a very frosty, shimmery pink but as long as I only use a tiny bit it just gives me a pretty flush and makes me glow. I do use the HD finishing powder on top so that might also tone down the shimmer. I recommend using a highlighter on your nose and maybe a couple other places too because I think it would be weird to have this on your cheeks and then the rest of your face be matte. I usually use the whitish shade of the E.L.F. all over shimmer stick with this and I can't describe how gorgeous it is in the evening, although I haven't tried it for a day look.

If you only like matte makeup, then simply don't buy this. I like all kinds of looks and this is so cheap that it's a great little product to play with now and then. It also looks so pretty on my lips when I just use the slightest amount and put a balm either under or over it. I never realized how good it looks to have the exact same color on the lips and cheeks.

This shade, Pink Lemonade, is almost exactly the same as the Persimmon shade. I have them and I can't really tell them apart. Persimmon might just be a bit darker. Some reviewers have said theirs was just watery stuff and I believe it because I had that happen to me with the white shade and E.L.F. is notorious for their essential line being luck of the draw as far as getting a defective, rancid or even empty product. The packaging is small and inoffensive although it's nothing special.

To apply, I squeeze a small dot onto the back of my hand, spread it around to get a thin layer on my finger and tap it around on my cheek, picking more up off the back of my hand if I need it. Repeat for the other cheek.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aethernaut on 7/4/2013 9:17:00 AM more reviews by Aethernaut

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This product had been sitting unloved in the bottom of my cosmetics bag for an age. I just couldn't figure out what to do with it - initially tried it on my lips where it was a gorgeous shade and very pleasent to wear and apply but soooo shimmery that I just couldn't get on with it. After seeing the shimmer on my lips I was not going to try it on my eyes or as a highlighter, so it joined the ranks of unloved products that I couldn't quite bring myself to throw away.

Well today I got curious and gave this stuff another chance. Dabbed a tiny amount on my upper eyelid and discovered the major reason I am giving this product another try. It looks AMAZING with blue eyes and pale skin. I am not the youngest reviewer on here, let's just say that, which is why it never even occurred to me to allow this stuff near my eyes before, but the shimmer is completely appropriate and does not seem to emphasise crepey skin the way powders can. My eyelids look dewy with a subtle pop of colour. I have been careful to only apply near the lashes though, as I suspect it will settle in the crease if I use it any higher on the lid.

Encouraged by this I tried a small amount as a highlighter for my cheeks and although as some other reviewers mentioned it is hard to blend, it is well worth the effort. You need the smallest amount, squeeze the product out on the back of your hand, then apply the tiniest dabs to the desired area as precisely as possible and work in to the skin with a stiff brush or fingers, blending carefully. Used like this the terrifying frosted appearance subsides and you just get a lovely lit from within sort of glow.

A little goes a long way - I am amazed at the tiny amount I use at each application. The tube is small but I suspect it will last for months and months even if you did eyes, lips and highlights with it every day. The key to this product is use with a very subtle hand and blend meticulously.

The texture is quite thick -although it feels non sticky or greasy on, it is still hard to blend into cheeks if all you want a subtle pop. It is pleasant, light and comfortable to wear. I see that many reviewers have had issues with this product separating and becoming watery - when I bought this new there was no problem, but after a long period of neglect in my makeup bag mine has started to seperate too. It does not seem to have any bad effect on how the product works - I shake the tube and squeeze out any remaining liquid. I presume this will eventually result in the product becoming hard or dry, but until then I will continue to use it and for only £1.50 I can replace it with ease.

I'd call this an all in one emergency cosmetic miracle - you can brighten eyes and face with this for a subtle put together look, plus it's tiny so will fit in any pocket or bag. Called away suddenly? No problem, grab your shimmering facial whip and apply on the go.... although use it on your lips and you will look instantly dated!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MoG04 on 12/23/2012 12:22:00 AM more reviews by MoG04

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Ok this would be a buy again due to the fact that it's only $1-3! I wouldn't rave about this or say it does anything great but I DO like to use it to highlight the eyes. Overall if your looking to top rate highlighter I would not say yes for this one on professional highlighter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LizWords on 10/1/2012 9:55:00 PM more reviews by LizWords

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is an amazing little product, and such a steal for 1$. My favorite thing about this is how buildable it is, you can get the faintest tint of color and sheen or you can make it darker and more shimmery easily. The color is a very natural light pink flush, exactly what I'm looking for. It's also dries very quickly, not greasy at all. I think this is going to end up replacing high beam or boots no. 7 illuminating lotion as my highlighter of choice.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Teiris on 6/14/2011 10:21:00 AM more reviews by Teiris

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great frosty pink highlighter. A little goes a long way, so use it very sparingly! Also, you have to SHAKE IT before use, that's why so many people are getting watery stuff coming out. Would repurchase

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 annapcs on 2/14/2011 10:58:00 PM more reviews by annapcs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This product is garbage.
I don't know if I got a bad one or if that's how it really is, but when I tried to get some out of the tube, a stinky water came out, no pigment at all, just disgusting.
I would never buy this thing again. I'm going back to my cream colour base.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FootSoldier66 on 10/20/2010 10:49:00 AM more reviews by FootSoldier66

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, I wish people would stop taking points off for this product because they can't use it as a blush. It's meant to be a highlighter, people. Not a blush. If you use it right, it works amazingly.

After I put on my foundation, I applied some to the corners of my eyes, under my brows, at the top of my cheekbones (just to highlight, not all over like a blush) and a tiny bit above my cupids bow to make my lips look fuller.

I was stunned with the results. I looked like I did when I had my makeup done for my wedding day a year ago. (which was glowing and pretty) As far as I'm concerned, Facial Whip is magic in a tube. I've tried other highlighters before but either I couldn't figure out how to use them right or they just didn't look good. I don't have to search anymore. And what kills me is that I just returned a 22 dollar tube of the One Step product from Stila to Ulta because it was complete garbage. Now here I am with a product that is 100 times better and only costs a dollar.

The only complaint is that I have to have a brush or something handy to apply this. I normally just use my hands for most things (i tend to think brushes are mostly a scam) but this stuff is really hard to wash off once it's on my finger tips.

However, it would still be good to throw in the purse to have for emergencies. I wish I had this product a week ago when my hubby made me rush out of the house with no makeup on because we were late for something.

Anyway, this is a great HIGHLIGHTER and probably the only one I'll ever buy from now on. Oh and it smells really good!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bea218 on 8/4/2010 2:05:00 AM more reviews by bea218

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product is great to have! Its great for cheeks, eyes and lips.. and only a dollar. One can't go wrong with taking a chance on this product. I like to blend it on my hand first and then apply to my face, because I want a smooth finish. The scent on it is even great, love the product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LuvsMakeup82 on 7/9/2010 4:25:00 PM more reviews by LuvsMakeup82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This isn't bad. To me it seems like more of a highlighter with a slight pinkish tint as opposed to a blush, and it can be kinda frosty or pearly so for me the key is to use this sparingly. I'm also a little more tan so on paler tones the color might show up a lot more. I'm always paranoid I'm not spreading it out evenly, but I think just using a little less helps that problem. Overall I like it, it leaves a nice sheen on the face and it's cheap so that helps.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MMnoob on 6/1/2010 2:32:00 AM more reviews by MMnoob

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Completly waste of my time. I love the color but there's too much shimmer. Generally i don't like to use that much shimmer for bronzer or blish (don't want to look like a diso ball ya know?) and this is just what i hate. DON"T BUY THIS PRODUCT. It also doesn't work for the lips or the eyes >_<

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Blush products