Trish McEvoy • #40 • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.5(11 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 MakeupAddictedArtist on 1/5/2013 8:00:00 PM more reviews by MakeupAddictedArtist

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Fabulous brush! I use this as well as the larger version (#21) for blending concealer, shadow base, and my lid color. Trish has the best brushes out there!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Maki70 on 3/30/2012 12:42:00 PM more reviews by Maki70

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Wow wow wow......this is 'the' brush for applying lid colour. Feels divine on the delicate skin of the lid, like silk. Can't fault it, best out there!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CoonieR on 11/5/2011 7:54:00 PM more reviews by CoonieR

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This brush is amazing and definitely worthy of the rave reviews. Yes, it's expensive, but nothing (at least nothing that MAC, LM, BB, Kevyn Aucoin, Sephora or UD makes) makes can compare to this. This is what I'd hoped that the MAC 252 would do. It applies wet or dry shadows with amazing precision and allows me to perfectly pack on color.


This is definitely one of my favorites. If you like to pack on e/s, it's a must-have.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yoursisterdebra on 11/26/2007 4:39:00 PM more reviews by yoursisterdebra

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Another great brush from TM! The #40 Medium Laydown is my everyday no-brainer brush for applying lid color. Great for applying powder eyeshadow both dry and wet. The bristles are super soft and silky. It is honestly a pleasure to use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maliastyle on 3/30/2006 10:54:00 PM more reviews by maliastyle

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm ridiculously in love with this brush. It applies both cream and powder amazingly well, and it picks up just the right amount of pigment every time. Other girls have mentioned it may be the most versatile brush they own, and they are so right - it perfectly highlights and conceals and shades, oh my! #40 will always be part of my collection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ziebam on 2/10/2006 8:18:00 PM more reviews by ziebam

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Trish McEvoy makes some of the best brushes on the market and this one is no exception. #40 is the medium laydown brush. Its made of sable and has a flat rounded head. Great for shadows with a little more pigment. I use this all the time for the lid. Retails for $36 which is steep but a quality brush. use this everyday!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cynderella724 on 10/30/2005 3:17:00 PM more reviews by cynderella724

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

The #40 Medium Laydown Brush is my very favorite eye shadow brush (HG) and one I use daily. Smooth as silk (sable) & picks up the perfect amount of color each & every time (100% consistant). Shadow laydown on the lid is a cakewalk with this brush.

A quick swipe or two on a soft cotton cloth & the brush is clean again & ready for your next color. You can also use the tip of the brush for the V & creasework. I also like the Small Laydown Brush #19 for detail work (inner corner, browbone or to define a smaller area on the lid).

I am a huge fan of TM brushes. This one is worth every penny! In fact I have a few of the #40 (home & kit). Though I've been using them for years they still look almost brand new!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vocalise on 3/8/2004 4:14:00 PM more reviews by vocalise

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

This is the "Medium Laydown" brush - a high quality, versatile brush that is a pleasure to use. I use it to apply concealer and eyeshadow. It really does a great job in distributing creamy and powder shadows all over the lid. It picks up just enough product and deposits it easily so you only need to swipe on a tissue and it's ready for the next thing. It's a bit stiffer than the MAC #239 (which can handle only powder products) and because of this, it can feel a bit stiff/scratchy if you use the tip to apply crease color. For that, I'm taking off one lippie. Still, a good do-it-all brush if you don't have any others (like a crease brush) on hand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Toddster on 9/28/2003 2:13:00 AM more reviews by Toddster

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My HG eye shadow brush... Good Lord, I love this brush! It picks up enough shadow for one eye, does not hold onto shadow forever like squirrel does, therfore after applying one eye's worth of shadow a quick rub on a tissue cleans it thoroughly, making it the perfect blending brush. It blends wonderfully. This is a very responsive brush (sable is known for this), and allows you to use the wide end for your lids, and the edge for your crease. This brush is SOOO versatile. I have been searching for the perfect eye shadow brush forever, and know I have found it. It's such a relief not to have to use up to three seperate brushes for eye shadow; this one does it all! I find it's bigger cousin, the #21, way too big and much prefer this brush. I also like the smaller version, #19, for lighter shadows and for highlighting below the brow. These brushes are truly fantastic and worth every dime...!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ctgv7 on 8/21/2003 8:12:00 PM more reviews by ctgv7

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I got my #40 as part of the TM Brush Set. I believe it is the same quality as the one sold individually. I think for $36 this brush is not too bad. It applies powder e/s very well and is quite soft IF you use the tapered side. I have a habit of using the tip of my e/s brushes to apply colors to my crease. I found the tip of this brush to be VERY scratchy when I try to do that. I have never experienced this problem with any of my other e/s brush. For that reason I give it a 4 instead of 5.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Trish McEvoy products

More Makeup Brushes products