MAC • Mineralize Skinfinish Natural - Medium Dark • Pressed Powders

rated 4.2(196 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 starstruck82 on 4/4/2014 6:10:00 PM more reviews by starstruck82

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

If your like me and hate the cakey look then you'll love this! I prefer this much more over the Studio Fix powder. This gives light to medium coverage which I like to use over concealer/foundation. It gives a subtle glow, blends in well and looks very natural. Its a great setting powder rather than a powder foundation.
For comparison to Studio Fix powder, you can read more below:
http://missrubyroo.blogspot.ca/2014/03/mac-powders-studio-fix-powder-vs-msf.html

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rrrkadirka on 1/19/2014 10:22:00 PM more reviews by rrrkadirka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have been self tanning quite a bit lately, and found that my usual shade Medium Plus was getting a little too light, so I purchased this in the next shade up - Medium Dark. It matches my current skintone PERFECTLY. This powder is ultra luxurious and it gives my skin a satiny, radiant glow. I also love to use it as a crease shade or transition shade on the eyes - perfect. I think it will work well as a light bronzer to warm up my contours as well. $30 is a little pricey, but this stuff will last me a long time, so it's more than worth it. I love MAC.
xo

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lindsay13_88 on 1/5/2014 4:37:00 PM more reviews by lindsay13_88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this powder! It matches my skin tone perfectly, sets my makeup without looking too cakey, and lasts all day :) I'd definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rumz on 4/12/2013 11:55:00 AM more reviews by Rumz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Love this powder! I have it in medium dark which is slightly light for me but doesn't give a grey cast at all. The micro-particles leave a smooth finish on my skin and lovely glow. In summer when I go foundation free this is my go-to, nice light coverage. This isn't so great for keeping the shine at bay however but it does give a dewy effect in summer if that's the look you're going for. I will definitely repurchase it, and probably use a mattifying powder just for my t-zone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ecmoore08 on 3/2/2013 8:32:00 AM more reviews by ecmoore08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am NC40 and for awhile I have been trying to find the right powder to set my foundation and concealer. I love this powder! I buffed it into my face after applying my MAC Studio Fix Fluid and it works so well together! On work days or when I don't want to wear foundation because my skin is looking great, I'll just apply a face primer then buff it into my skin. I love that it doesn't look cakey or powdery. It cost me $30 at the MAC counter and for me that is quite pricey but it was worth it. I would definitely buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DaniRN16 on 2/16/2013 12:26:00 AM more reviews by DaniRN16

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

NC20-25 neutral undertone. I use the color Medium as an all over setting powder from time to time but I love Med Dark as a BRONZER. It's the perfect color that I buff along my hairline, cheekbones, neck and light dusting across my nose. It's far too warm to use as a real contour color (I used NYX Taupe for that) but this is amazing when I want to warm up my skin. It lasts all day, no fading and looks really natural. Have gone through 3 of these in the past 5 years and will continue to repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TiaDGB on 2/8/2013 6:00:00 PM more reviews by TiaDGB

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I'm on the fence about this. I have this twisted relationship with it that causes me to love it, yet hate it at the same time. Before I start my review, I would just like to point out the fact that this is NOT a powder foundation. On MAC's website, they suggest using it to set liquid foundation or touch up during the day. If you're trying to use a powder as sheer as this as foundation, of course you're going to despise it.


Anyhow. I'm NC40/42 (depending on the time of year) and was matched to 'Medium Dark'. I don't like this shade at all. Most women with tanned skin are also warm complected. This powder is very cool with strong pink undertones, and appears a little ashy/gray when applied. It's not a huge issue since it's very sheer, but I still feel like they should have made this warmer.


As I said earlier, this provides VERY sheer, almost non-existent coverage. For this reason, it's nice to set liquid foundations when you want something light that won't look masky. Don't expect to get any additional coverage from this though. The SA mentioned that this can also be applied wet, but I have not tried this. I imagine that it would give better coverage that way. BTW- IF YOU ARE GOING TO EXPERIMENT WITH APPLYING THIS WET, REMEMBER THAT YOU CANNOT REVERT TO APPLYING IT DRY AGAIN AFTER. ONCE YOU WET IT, IT CHANGES THE TEXTURE.


The finish for this is matte, but not flat and powdery. That's what I really love about this powder. It doesn't give me a chalky, unnatural finish (*cough cough* Studio Fix Powder). It's actually virtually undetectable on the skin. It builds quite nicely as well.


As far as oil control goes? This is nothing special. If you have oily skin like me, this probably won't do much for you. But it will set foundation beautifully for combo/dry skinned girls who don't need much oil control.


I like the packaging, but I do wish that it had a mirror like Studio Fix Powder. Also, the clear plastic casing pops out a lot (no bother I guess, since it can easily be popped back in).


I recommend applying this with a dense kabuki (such as MAC's 182). This product works best when really buffed into the skin (like all mineral powders).


I do like this, but it's not my favorite. I like a setting powder with better oil control (isn't that the whole point of powder?), and that comes in a better color range than this. I can see why some women would love it though. If you have the right complexion and skin type for this, it could work quite beautifully.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ooba12345 on 2/4/2013 7:25:00 PM more reviews by ooba12345

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I realllyyyyyy like this!! I find it makes my face look just flawless and amazing. The color matches me pretty well (NC30 ish). I have combo/oily skin. By itself, it doesn't control the oil at all. Over a foundation, it does control a bit for a couple of hours. My t-zone gets pretty shiny but it doesn't bother me. You don't feel it on your face at all! I defenitly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 itzNikkiBBY on 1/3/2013 4:00:00 AM more reviews by itzNikkiBBY

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This has to be my favorite setting powder I have ever gone through. Just a small sweep of this over the face with your 182 or any kabuki and your face is left with a perfect natural look. It can also be used on it's own if you want sheer to medium coverage, as well as used wet for medium to heavy coverage. MAC knew what they were doing with this. This product gets an A+++ from me. I absolutely LOVE IT!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 esssyyy on 11/8/2012 3:58:00 PM more reviews by esssyyy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Wanted to love this product - however, it broke me out (I use other Mac blushes/powders and they've been fine) and it doesn't have the coverage I would like. I was hoping this would replace my Benefit Hello Flawless Powder (great coverage and blends seamlessly) but it is more of a setting powder, has very light coverage, and seemed to spark a series of little bumps on my forehead/nose area. Will be returning.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Pressed Powders products