Vichy Capital Soleil Sun Block Cream SPF 60 with Mexoryl XL - Face and Body

2.8

11 reviews

36% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/3/2015 12:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

I hate greasy sunscreen and I often cover up entirely rather than wear sunscreen. I just hate feeling covered in oil. But I tried this out at the drugstore and it seemed to absorb into my skin and it was almost unnoticeable. So I decided that for my pale pale skin, I would spend the $35+

Unfortunately, when I wore the product outside for a bike ride, I applied it all over my arms and my upper chest. It was thick and a bit difficult to spread evenly without there being a bit of a white residue, but ultimately not too bad. There was very little fragrance, a bit medicinal. Despite my earlier testing on my hand, when I got home I felt itchy. And then itchier and itchier. I had small red bumps everywhere I'd put the sunscreen and they lasted for close to a week. So, seemingly an allergic reaction for me.

I phoned Vichy and explained my experience and to their credit, they took my problem with the product seriously and seemed genuinely sorry that I'd had a bad experience. They sent me a letter a few days later apologizing once more and also refunded me the full amount of the product.

I wouldn't buy this product again because I seem to be allergic to the ingredients. But for those considering trying it out, definitely test the product before buying, maybe even more than once.



on 4/2/2014 9:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this sunscreen. I dont detect too much scent. Granted I just use it on body, but without it I had second degree sunburn on my legs. When I used this on my next tropical vacation, I had not a drop of color. Feels nice on my skin, quickly absorbed, and no greasy feel.


on 8/14/2012 12:21:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have mature skin, slightly dry and no problems with breakouts unless I use this on my face. I've tried it many times and it must be more than a coincidence that whenever I do I get 2 or 3 whiteheads which is unheard for me. I also have developed the odd deeply clogged pore that takes days to resolve which is also unheard of for me. It was never pleasant to use with a white cast and stickiness that does not work under makeup. It's expensive and it's finally going in the garbage. Aveeno Active Naturals SPF 55 is far superior.


on 5/17/2012 6:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

[NOTE: I have the SPF 30 version!]

Bought this at Shoppers on sale for around $23 after tax. I have extremely sensitive skin and this hasn't caused a severe reaction. It does make my cheeks a little red, but it doesn't sting. My skin is also combination and this makes it extremely shiny. However, I make sure to use my Mac StudioFix Powder and it keeps it matte for a while. It takes a few minutes to dry and doesn't leave a grey or white cast on me. I'll purchase it again if it ever goes on sale because I think the regular price of this is around $40. It comes in 150mL.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This product was pricey and was recommend from the pharmacist. i have used vichy products before and i'm quite impressed. also, they test their products on asian skins.
Pros
:-keeps my face from tanning
-makes my face glow
-i use it as a primer before my concealer
-moisturizing
-high spf 60
Cons:
-consistency is thick
-leaves my face shiny not matte like it says
-sunscreen smell but i don't mind
overall, this sunscreen is okay i wouldn't recommend it to people with oily skin because of the shiny finish. it didn't make me break out and worked well on not making me tan. i might consider buying this product again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/21/2010 12:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

More fool me for buying this sunscreen on the recommendation of a pharmacist! This stuff is so incredibly thick that even my normally very dry skin is not absorbing it well. It sits like a mask on the face and doesn't feel very breathable at all, plus it makes my face look shiny. Just shook it a bit and it sounds like it's all clumped up as one lump inside (as if it went bad), even though the expiration date is not for another year. Ugh. Don't be like me--save your money!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/15/2009 4:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this in SPF 30 and I really like it. It doesn't smell awful like most sunscreens, that's particularly why I bought this. It does leave my skin a little paler but it's usually because I applied too much. I don't use this on my face, I think it would be too greasy, it does say it has a matte finish but I wouldn't trust it, since I have oily prone skin.
Overall I love this product, I use it on my feet to prevent open-toe shoe straps tanned on my feet, and all over my exposed body to protect myself from the sun. I'd definitely buy this again.


on 7/29/2008 9:31:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown



UGH, I JUST BOUGHT THIS FOR THE SAKE OF SPF 60, when I didn't know the fact that anything over spf 15 is basically the same, and won't help much better.

Gawd. what can I say about this.. This has the every elements of sunscreen that you DON'T want.

1.The signature, awful 'sunscreen-y' smell
2.Pasty, white face after (which seemed useful to me at first, because I wanted to 'brighten' my yellowish asian face, but changed my mind as I looked more of Greasy Geisha Wannabe)
3. Very Thick, Horrible Texture... face feels really heavy and stuffed after application..
4.Don't really want to carry it anywhere, because its huge

The only reason i didn't throw this out yet is the price of this thing, and how much there is left. Meebe for my dry legs, next summer.. or the next ..


on 6/5/2008 2:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Other

A little too thick for me, I could feel it on my face all day. It does leave a white cast, well it would leave one if I wasn't so pale, it ended up just looking like I had a bit of makeup on. I broke out only a slight bit from this, which is better than with most sunscreens, and the breakout cleared up quickly. I wish it was thinner and more matte. It's too much for my oily skin. I found it really hard to wash off as well it mixed with my makeup remover and formed a weird sticky paste over my face, I had to wash twice more to get rid of it (i guess that's a good thing if you like swimming or sweat a lot). It's not awful but I think I can find better for my skin. Will not repurchase.


on 11/29/2007 5:36:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this because I'm obsessed with sunscreen and this was SPF 60. It's expensive but I like Vichy products, so I thought I would give it a try. Unlike other suncreens with an offensive scent, this is unscented. The texture is nice..thick but not greasy. Wearing this, I never got sunburned and only a little tan. I used this on my body and my face and it didn't make me break out.


Back to Top