Maybelline • ExpertWear Eyeshadow Quad in Chai Latte • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(171 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 10/13/2014 12:44:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I normally avoid Maybelline’s quads and Covergirl’s because they lack pigment. I purchased this because Youtubers mentioned it was a nicely pigmented pallet for the price. After thinking long on it I bought it.
It’s pretty with copper and browns and a taupe. The pigment is just okay, nothing to write home about. I wouldn’t purchase this again and probably will avoid these quads & pallets again. I only buy WNW, Milani, Jordana, and some LA Girls palettes still because for the price they are pigmented.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 9/17/2014 12:54:00 AM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Base shade- Not a fan of this shade. Does not have a nice texture. Not very pigmented. I have used it on my brow but I do not like the color or slight sheen it leaves there. I have also used it on the inner third of the lid and then the bronze lid shade on the outer two thirds.

Lid shade- Golden bronze shimmer. Very soft shadow, very pigmented.
I usually use this shade as a crease shade or very as a very light sheer layer on the lid.
Beautiful shade but I just do not like how bronze shades look on my skin :(
Better to build it by patting it on and then lightly blend with brush.

Crease shade- My favorite of the palette. I love the crease shade. It is like a muted light to medium ash brown. A little taupey.
Very buildable. I love this shade for everyday. I have used it alone all over the lid. Alone in the crease. Or with a light shade on the lid and this in the crease.

Dark liner shade-Deep chocolate brown with light shimmer. The dark shade is great as a liner even better when used wet. I also like to use it to create a nice smokey eye. Either in the crease or outer V.


NOTE: the dark brown liner shade is very similar to the chocolate brown shade in the Smashbox full exposure large and travel palette.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jessica24601 on 8/10/2014 2:49:00 PM more reviews by Jessica24601

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Bought it on sale for $6.75. I have light to medium brown skin... I also have dark eyelids to begin with.. Needless to say it wasn't enough pigment for me, even tho I bought it on the suggestion of the SA@ Shoppers Drug Mart. I will however get use of the taupe and the white as they will be subtle colors for work.. Only The Body Shop really has eye shadows I love, so I'm glad I just spent so little on this. I do adore Maybelline mascaras and lip products, but I will never repurchase shadows from them again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bklyncowgirl on 6/12/2014 9:19:00 AM more reviews by bklyncowgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for the quad in revised packaging shown in image #7.

The skinny:
Base – looks light/shimmery, but it’s not bad once it’s on
Crease – warm taupe. Acceptable transition color
Lid – warm bronze; performs better than you might expect. Pretty nice. Best color in here.
Liner - wants to be a lighter shade of Mac “Notoriety” (from Leopard Luxe palette). This should come off much richer and does not.

I have 3 of these palettes (also have Chic Naturals 10Q Mocha Motion and Stylish Smokes 02Q Natural Smokes). They just look so pretty then they go on sale so you’re like why not. Then you try them and they’re unimpressive and you don’t do much with them until you dedicate yourself to using them up.

I never use these palettes solo for a look. I don’t think they’re strong enough to stand alone. But for the sake of this review, I used Chai Latte – all the colors, together for a complete eye look. I was pleasantly surprised. It created a soft bronze eye, nice for summer or any other time. The colors work well together and feel less powdery than the other palettes previously mentioned. There is not a lot of dimension, but the variation is enough to make it interesting. Good if you are on a budget and want something different, are just starting out in makeup, feel like purchasing something at the drugstore (without high expectations), or need a cheap palette to keep at bf/sister/whoever’s. Worth the sale price, not more. Not bad for what it is. Although this is the best one of the 3 palettes I own, I would not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bettybear135 on 5/1/2014 4:17:00 AM more reviews by bettybear135

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

LOVE THIS PRODUCT<33 Many people complained about the lack of pigmentation but they shoudlve tried using a brush, it makes the biggest difference:) this quad is so versatile, and I always bring this quad with me whenever I don't want to bring my naked palette. This is like a mini version of my naked palette. The crease color is IDENTICAL to tease. Obviously, this is not as buttery as my naked palette, but it literally looks the same on my hooded Asian eyes:D LOVE THIS PRODUCT! I got mine for less than 4$ at my local drugstore and I can't be happier that I got this. I have SOO many eyeshadows, but I only use this and my naked palette. Buy it!! You won't regret it. And use a primer and a brush( use urban decays primer, but elfs prime would do too) A+

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* athenasius on 3/17/2014 6:42:00 PM more reviews by athenasius

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Hmmm, I was hoping for a nice satiny bronzey quad for summer. Instead I got shimmer. And fallout under my eyes. A gritty feeling from the chunks of glitter in the lid colour, which is a gorgeous copper. Then a bruised look from the crease shadow which goes on dark and migrates all over. The liner shade has a lot of red orange to it, it is not a neutral brown.

This has a lovely shimmery cream base or highlight shade, but it has major fallout all by itself.

This is the first shadow set in the Expert Wear series that I've had irritation from and it is from the lid shade which is a pity as it is truly lovely with excellent colour payoff.

This set enhanced my wrinkles, highlighting them while increasing my redness around the eye and adding more darkness under my eyes. I'm back to using my Rimmel bronzer as a shadow, with a bronze eyeliner to give me the look I like.

I am going to return this quad, with the awful shimmer bomb Champagne Fizz.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 vicaquino on 3/4/2014 5:14:00 PM more reviews by vicaquino

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great quad for a day time look. I think it could be a little more pigmented, as the color payoff isn't as great as I thought it would be. It does crease, so definitely use a primer. My biggest issue with it is how much shimmer there is, I wish they had put in a matte shade. I feel like if I use the entire quad as intended it's just way too much. It's pretty good in terms of price, but I feel there are better quads out there.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ksidrah on 1/29/2014 9:28:00 PM more reviews by ksidrah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Cons: you'll probably need primer for it (for better application,opacity, and duration), the packaging is kids crap due to the plastic cover being lose and breaking but not so serious since you can fix it urself Pros: Really cheap, good colors and a good variety of them, good quality and I actually love it! It's great for beginners or people who want to slowly expand their makeup collection so I would definitely but again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kekaquan on 12/9/2013 4:40:00 PM more reviews by kekaquan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am actually gonna return mine. I've heard of a lot of good things about Maybelline eye shadow quads. I loved the color in this specifically. But I'm honestly disappointed at the color payoff. While the two shimmery shades are seriously amazing, the two matte shades barely showed up. It's just poor pigmentation and I have to keep rubbing them in the pan to have a anything on my skin. Gonna return mine soon. Even though it is cheap, it is still not worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LightPink on 10/11/2013 7:59:00 PM more reviews by LightPink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Great set of colors that are perfect for daily use. I really love every single color in this quad! Also a variety of ways to wear the colors but I tend to wear it like the directions say.

The colors show up on my skin pefectly and look really nice. I always put a little bit of Revlon Nearly Naked Foundation (Vanilla) on my eyes before I apply the shadow so that might help it wear better too.

I have been wearing this quad daily for a month now and I will most likely buy it again although there are some other brands and eye shadows I have plans to buy but if those don't work out then I will be back to buying this. I think this eye shadow is worth trying and I am glad I took a chance and discovered it.

At the moment other daily makeup I pair with this eye shadow quad are:
Revlon Nearly Naked Foundation in Vanilla or Cover Girl - Outlast Stay Fabulous 3 in 1 Foundation in Classic Ivory
Loreal Visible Lift Serum Absolute Concealer in Fair
Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Finishing Veil in Translucent (sometimes)
Maybelline Ultra-Brow Powder in Dark Brown
Maybelline Full N Soft Mascara in Very Black
Revlon Colorstay Eyeliner in Black.
Maybelline Color Whisper Lip Color in Mocha Muse or Revlon Lip Butter in Berry Smoothie or Revlon - Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain - Honey or Zoya Hot Lips gloss balm in Flirt.
Cover Girl Classic Color Blush in Natural Glow.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products