Freeman • Facial Enzyme Mask Pineapple • Masks

rated 3.8(127 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 EightLeavesFivePearls on 9/20/2012 1:07:00 PM more reviews by EightLeavesFivePearls

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I am so disappointed in Freeman. This mask used to be my favorite for AHA's. It was cheap, effective, had an amazing slightly gritty texture, and smelled delicious. Now? It's far less effective (my skin doesn't feel as soft and smooth after anymore), the texture is much more watery and less gritty, and smells unlike fresh fruit and more like some herbal based chemical...thing. The only plus is that it's still cheap (although since you're paying for an inferior product, the overall cost should be considered to have risen as well).


This was the original ingredients list: Water, bromalin, papain, ananas sativus (pineapple fruit) extract, glycolic acid, lactic acid, camomilla recutita (chamomile) extract, aloe barbadensis leaf juice, butylene glycol, glycerin, cocamidopropyl betaine, sorbitol, pvp/dimethlaminethylmethacrylate, co-polymer, polyethylene, ppg-5-cethet-20, carbomer, potassium hydroxide, hydroxethylcellulose, dmdm hydantoin, ethylparaben, methylparaben,, fragrance (parfum)


Here's the new ingredients list: Water, polyethylene, glycerin, ppg-5-cetheth-20, carbomer, vinyl vaprolactim/pvp/dimethylaminoethyl, methacrylate copolymer, hydroxethylcellulose, aloe barbadensis leaf juice, propylene glycol, sorbitol, cocamidpropyl betaine, glycolic acid, lactic acid, panthenol, ananas sativus (pineapple fruit) extract, carica papaya fruit extract (papaya), cocos nucifera extract (coconut), macrocystis pyrifera extract (sea kelp), mangfera indica fruit extract (mango), citrus aurantium dulcis (orange) oil, citrus grandis (grapefruit) peel oil, citrus medica limonum (lemon) peel oil, citrus noblis (mandarin orange) peel oil, lavandula angusifolia (lavender) oil, mentha piperita (peppermint) oil, melaleuca alternfolia leaf oil (tea tree), phospholipids, tocopheryl acetate (vit. e), ascorbyl palmitate, retinyl palmitate (vit. a), triethanolamine, methylparaben, propylparaben, dmdm hydantoin, fragrance (parfum), yellow 5 (CI 19140), yellow 6 (CI 15986), green 5 (CI 61570)


Note how the original first 6 ingredients (after water) were all derived from plants or had acid to help exfoliate? (Bromelain is derived from the stem of pineapples). And how the first 7 ingredients (after water) in the new list are basically fillers? Never mind that the new ingredients list tries to tempt you with a wide array of fruit derived extracts further down, we all know that the main ingredients are those found at the top. The extracts and oils below are just for show. Probably found in quantities so small as to have little to no effect on the skin overall.


I guess if the new mask works for you, keep on purchasing. Personally, I notice a huge difference and won't buy again.

28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jellybabe23 on 7/25/2012 3:58:00 PM more reviews by jellybabe23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I would have bought the old version of this product. however, im assuming due to materials expenses, the quality of the product has gone down significantly. I've attached a photo of the INGREDIENTS LIST of the old pineapple mask (left) and the new one (right) and I would like someone to complain to freeman because the old version had better quality ingredients and real pineapple extracts listed in the top 3rd of ingredients. Instead of putting great quality ingredients (old version) into your skin, you are now putting harsh chemicals (new version). WOW.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TryHonesty on 5/28/2011 9:51:00 PM more reviews by TryHonesty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE THIS!

Makes skin brighter and sooo smooth and feels soo lovely!!!
everytime i use this, its like an angel pissed on my face! it's that great!

12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cupcakegangster on 11/17/2008 6:32:00 PM more reviews by cupcakegangster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Wow - I love this product. As a skincare therapist, I am very picky about my exfoliants. After I used all of my Dermalogica Daily Microfoliant (fabulous but expensive stuff), I've been on the hunt for something similar but with a much lower pricetag. I am so pleased that I found such a great product for so dang cheap! The packaging isn't anything to write home about, but the squeeze bottle is efficient and keeps things clean. I think that a lot of people feel this product doesn't "work" for them because it doesn't exfoliate in the same way that a lot of scrubs and harsh exfoliants do. People need to know that this is a *chemical* exfoliant, and the papain and bromelain - those two fabulous enzymes at the top of the ingredient list - are doing the work for you by dissolving and sloughing off those dead skin cells. I use this about 3x a week; I apply the mask by gently massaging in small circles onto my face, wait 5 minutes, then stand in the hot shower for about another 5, then gently wipe away with a washcloth. I'll never live without this enzyme mask ever again.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ninny26 on 6/16/2010 12:56:00 AM more reviews by ninny26

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great AHA enzyme mask that really adds a glow to the complexion. After using it, my skin immediately feels fresh, soft, and brightened. I have noticed that this mask has greatly contributed to the overall health of my skin with continued use. I strayed from this for about 2 months while overseas and I could really tell a difference in my complexion. This gets rid of ruddiness and keeps my pores clean and breakouts at bay while providing a bit of hydration. The ingredient list is pretty impressive considering how cheap this mask is ($3.99), and since I am very ingredient savvy and try using products with minimal chemicals, this mask caught my attention right away. Not to say this doesn't contain chemicals, it does, but very few.
Sometimes when my skin is looking dull or is misbehaving, I even use this in place of my normal cleanser once a day for a week, and it makes a nice cleanser too since it contains "Cocamidopropyl Betaine" which is a mild, non-irritating cleansing agent. Otherwise a weekly or biweekly 15-20 minute leave-on treatment is sufficient for a glowing complexion. I just purchased my third tube and will continue buying. I get mine at Ulta, I haven't checked anyplace else but I am certain it can be easily found. EDIT (5/25/11): Unfortunately, the company has reformulated the mask and have now included a bunch of nasty chemicals. I really used to enjoy the simplicity and purity of this product, but will not repurchase again. Very upset :(

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cuoremia on 5/31/2009 5:56:00 AM more reviews by cuoremia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow! I love this mask. I picked this up on a whim when I was browsing through the aisles at Wal-Mart. The fact that lactic acid and glycolic acid were very high up on the ingredient list enticed me. Plus, it was only $3 something. What a steal!

I have been using this mask every single night (my skin is not sensitive at all) for about a month, and I am just now coming to the end of the tube. My skin doesn't feel any sort of burn or even tingle, but my eyes burn and water if I apply it too close to them. It keeps my skin so hydrated and it takes care of all flakiness. I use Bye Bye Blemish sulfur treatment on any spots at night, and those spots usually get flaky, but they haven't since I started using this mask. I have also noticed that my acne is lessening, and my hyperpigmentation is lightening. I will never go without this stuff again!!


UPDATE 6/26/09: I ran out of my tube a few weeks ago, and none of the 5 Wal-marts around me carry it anymore!! :O I have seen a difference in my skin since I ran out. My skin is so flakey, and I broke out a bit. :( I just ordered 6 tubes of drugstore.com. They'll be here tomorrow. Definite HG.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ultraviolet on 3/31/2012 6:06:00 PM more reviews by Ultraviolet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

**EDIT**


A MUA reviewer, jellybabe23, mentioned the reformulation of this product, which was the exact revision I was going to add to my original review. If you cannot find the original version of this mask, do not waste your time on the new one--it's basically water, chemicals and carbomers.


From time to time, my professional schedule doesn't afford as much maintenance beauty time as I'd prefer. Because of this, my skin can quickly become sallow, dry,flaky and in need of exfoliation. While I have a monthly AHA treatment I use, this mask is a great way to sustain the effects of those treatments.


If you're used to products with relatively high concentrations of exfoliation acids or enzymes, don't expect this mask to work wonders as its ingredients aren't strong enough to show a more dramatic effect than what you're already receiving. But if you need a weekly mask to brighten your skin, or if you're new to acid treatments, this make work for you.


Unless your skin is very sensitive to acids, I'd suggest leaving this mask on for at least 20 minutes to maximize its effects. Definitely figure your tolerance levels progressively. I easily leave this mask on for an hour, longer if I forget it's been applied.


Which is easy to do, as the mask dries to a flexible coating on your face, and doesn't crack. The micro-beads do tend to flake off if the mask if left on for longer periods of time. The mask tends to, well, look like a glossy second skin, so you may be able to get away with normal face-to-face activities while wearing it...but not that many.


The mask does sting a bit upon application, but this effect diminishes after five minutes on my face. I've found that using the mask as a scrub initially, before allowing it to dry on my face, loosens more dead skin than if I just brushed it on alone. Again, please determine your tolerance to this, as I can definitely see using it as a scrub + mask can aggravate certain skin types.


This mask will be a bit harder to remove than most traditional masks--it almost reminds me of using water to remove a mild adhesive that's been dried on my fingers. It's easy enough to remove, however, with warm water and a bit of patience.


I've never noticed dramatic results after rinsing this off, but that's to be expected in my instance. My skin is always moisturized, smooth, and noticeably brighter afterward, though. In addition, I've noticed it reduces my overall oil production, but this is an almost entirely temporary effect.


For the price point, and the acid concentration (an actual percentage isn't listed on my container), this is the best drugstore-level mask I've used, overall and for its intended purpose.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Catka06 on 9/8/2013 9:20:00 AM more reviews by Catka06

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I am pretty much Freeman's biggest fan. I like to alternate all of their clay masks that I can find about once every week. But this one I have now made part of my nightly routine about every other night. Anytime I'm prepping for a shower or relaxing bath I love to put this on. It smells like pineapple and rainbows or something. The consistency is a little messy and never really dries on like their clay masks do, so I basically just throw it on and wait about 5-10 minutes depending on the condition of my skin that particular day. It IS a giant pain in the butt to wash off in the sink unless you're using a washcloth, so that's why I enjoy just using it pre-shower and having it wash off there. I have extremely dry skin and still could get away with using this daily if I saw necessary, but honestly using this regularly with other freeman masks has improved my skin so much that even my husband can't believe it. This one in particular leaves skin soft and glowing, washing off the daily stresses you put your skin through. I do like some of their clay masks better for ridding the occasional cystic acne that pops up, but this stuff has made my skin look healthy and glowing like nothing else can. AND freeman products are usually on sale at Ulta for buy one get one. I highly suggest this mask alongside one of their other heavier duty masks for a special spa night.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mh28061991 on 1/25/2013 3:50:00 AM more reviews by mh28061991

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have pretty annoying blackheads all over my nose, the type that cannot be pulled out with pore strips and just appear as black oily spots, which interfere with bb cream like crazy. I bought this at the drugstore in the plastic pockets for $3.39 and tried it for the first time yesterday after facial steaming. Majority of the the oily pockets and blackness are GONE and I am now left with slight indentations that I can now use pore shrinking strategies with!
All in all, gets rid of tough, deep blackheads chemically, loving it so far!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TresJolee on 2/26/2012 7:03:00 AM more reviews by TresJolee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product is amazing for really dull, sluggish, oily and acne prone skin. The texture comes out a thick gel formula with tiny micro beads that can hardly be felt. It smells gorgeously of pineapple which is amazing. Only a little bit is needed for the whole face because the glycolic and lactic acids will exfoliate the skin chemically and 10-15 minutes is needed for it to dry. It shouldn't be left on for too long because the chemical exfoliants might irritate some skins. So its better to err on the side of caution. It's quite difficult to rinse off because unlike gels like Aloe Vera, it doesn't melt off easily so it takes a while to wash it off. It goes on and dries nicely and clear, so its okay to answer to the mail man. (xp)
After washing it off, my skin feels absolutely smooth and looks much brighter. My dark acne spots also have lightened quite a bit(better than nothing right?) and it just feels very fresh without tightness or irritation. However, people with really sensitive skin should test it out first before putting it on the face because the chemical exfoliants can irritate that type of skin. But, a great buy nonetheless. The price is RM16-18.90 in Caring Pharmacy in Kuala Lumpur.

In a nutshell:

PROS
-leaves skin smooth and bright
-redness is calmed down due to breakouts
-goes on easily and dries clear
-refreshing scent
-mild exfoliant that is suitable for normal to problematic skins
-affordable

CONS
-might be unsuitable for drier, more sensitive skins(but feel free to test on your wrist or neck first)
-advised to wear SPF during the day since the AHA and lactic acids can sensitize skin
-slightly difficult to wash off since it doesn't melt down easily like other gels


5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Freeman products

More Masks products