Lumiere Luminesse Foundation

3.9

32 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/4/2012 5:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I find this product is very expensive, but was worth the purchase price. I find that 'less is more' is definitely the gospel when using this product. You cannot load up the well with alot of makeup, two drops at time and build it up. If you go in with too much, it really can look cakey even if you have applied it evenly. I have some trouble spots, and I used Eve Pearl concealer on top, and it really was a beautiful airbrushed coverage. I was very pleased with the 'look'. I don't like the price for the foundation and the smallness of the bottles, for foundation the larger bottles should be standard on the 'club' membership and more reasonably priced. I wasn't happy with the blush, I used one drop and it was very heavy and it looked too doll like (if that happens to you, just spray some more foundation around it to dull it down). I'll skip the blush from here on out, it's way too pigmented. My routine will just the highlighter, foundation. I do like that their eyeshadows are duos and come in complimentary colours, other companies make you purchase them individually and the price is higher. I have very dry skin, and I am beginning to have crepey skin & dark circles under my eyes. Normal foundation really enhances them, and I was very pleased that this air brush didn't make them obvious and smoothed them out.

Once you get the hang of this, airbrushing needs a light application and quick hand to get the results you want. I hope Luminesse will realize that if people are to use this for everyday use, they need to make the foundation more reasonably priced and larger bottles. They hopefully will come up with more eyeshadow colours in the future.



on 3/23/2011 1:13:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

The finish of Luminesse Foundation is remarkable, though I would prefer a bit more coverage.

I have light/medium Asian skin and got the following 2 colours in the sample pack, but they're not perfect match yet.

Luminesse - Light Neutral
Luminesse - Light Medium Beige



Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

A great product. The only thing is I do not like the packaging as too much tends to get out! I do like the feeling that I am not wearing any foundation at all! Light Neutral is the exact colour match for me as I find Light Golden to be too yellow (although I am Asian)


on 8/20/2010 8:44:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this foundation. I've been using it for over 5 years now. I've tried numerous other mineral makeup including expensive ones like sheer minerals and cheap ones off ebay and from the drug store and this is by far the best in terms of color/shade selection and value for your $. Light medium golden or light golden work best for me. I can use as much or as little as my skin demands and it looks great. I usually have to touch it up once or twice a day, much better than liquid foundation. They also let you purchase trial sizes to experiment with the best shades for your skin. The only other product i tried was the finishing powder, which is good but I actually prefer the ID one.


on 7/31/2010 12:15:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Light Neutral was my match, although I should sample the golden/warm shades, as they might suit my light olive/neutral complexion better. I like the lightweight feel, and sheer coverage that does the job. Feels and looks natural, and even though it is a bit glowy, it is not shimmery or sparkly - just looks healthy :) It does not make my skin oilier, and while it does not last all day, at least it fades gradually on me.

I did not notice any smell issues, although my jar was a bit older. I am not sure if they changed the formulation. I might repurchase, although I do like Silk Naturals better.


on 4/24/2010 10:38:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is perfect for my normal-dry skin.. The coverage is great.. gives me a natural dewy look meaning not deadly matte and flat.. My face looks very smooth and flawless upon application.. definitely an HG! The only thing thou... there's a bit annoying smell which almost like yogurt or rotten cheese *yuck* i wonder what that is.. luckily it fades right away after a minute or two..


on 6/29/2009 12:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

***UPDATE: 7/1/09: OK, this is making my face itch terribly after applying. I don't have sensitive skin in any way, shape or form..NOTHING bothers my face. So I guess this new container of this is heading for swapville.***


Well...first off let me say that when Lumiere first came along I ordered a lot of samples, however, fell in love with none of it (liked other brands better) and never ordered full size.
Fast forward to two weeks ago. I decided to give them a try, I keep hearing such great things about Lumiere.... I placed an order for foundation (and a few other things).

Finally arrived and since I've had a few days to give it a try I must say I'm still not overly impressed. The foundation doesn't look "right" on my skin, it's not the color, it's the finish or the formula or something..can't put my finger on it, But I'm sure I can work with it and all will be well.

However, the first thing I noticed upon opening the container was the smell! Ewww. reminds me of play-doh. But it has a definite odor. (this is from someone who finds no offensive odor AT ALL with "Hope in a Jar!)...so I dunno.

Don't hate it though I do hate the smell. Don't love it, as EDM is much better in my opinion, but i Like the lumiere colors better. I'll keep using it when I'm staying home or whatnot, unless I can figure out something else.
Does anyone else notice an odor with this? I do not have a sensitive nose at all.

UPDATE: I forgot to mention the size of the container, seems quite small, though I ordered a large, it's just 4g. I guess I'm quite spoiled with my huge EDM minerals that I'll never use up! lol


on 4/30/2009 12:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Light gold is perfectly match with my skin. But it itches my skin so bad. I don't understand why. Is it supposed to be for sensitive skin?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/22/2009 1:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is the only formula i like in Lumiere mineral foundation. But i did not find a colormatch after sampling three times, so i gave up on it.


on 1/20/2009 1:23:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am generally impressed with Lumiere MMU. I have sensitive, acne prone skin, and Lumiere does not cause any problems for it. It's a very light, blendable powder that you can build up to a decent medium coverage. The only drawback I have is that with my very oily skin, after a couple of hours, it is a little more dewy than I would like.


Back to Top