Clinique • Different Lipstick - Angel Red • Lipstick

rated 4.2(93 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kaxel on 12/27/2014 9:04:00 PM more reviews by kaxel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

For someone who "doesn't wear red lipstick," I recently realized I have three red lipsticks--that's a lot! All 3 are Clinique--Merlot (discontinued), Apple Brandy and this one, which is even better than the other two.

This is a great, sheer red that's buildable and very versatile. You could blot it on for a stain effect or use a few coats to get more color. It is also super moisturizing and feels great going on, but has more staying power than Apple Brandy (which is a butter shine).

I got this in a GWP and I'm so glad because I would never have chosen it, but I've been wearing it nonstop as a go-to lipstick this winter. It works in all kinds of situations, from going out to more casual settings, without feeling like you're (dramatic pause) WEARING RED LIPSTICK or have to be totally decked out like Dita Von Teese to pull it off.

If you are scared of red lipstick, I highly recommend trying this one! For reference, I'm fair skinned with golden yellow tones, which makes it hard to find good reds.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tovah on 11/22/2014 11:14:00 PM more reviews by Tovah

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Gorgeous sheer blackened red. Way better on me than Black Honey because it's truly RED. LOVE it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DPinon on 10/11/2014 3:20:00 PM more reviews by DPinon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This was a gift but the color is beautiful.. its not too deep for my light skin. It isn't as dark as it appears on the stick. nice and creamy and says well

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Alexine on 12/2/2013 3:43:00 PM more reviews by Alexine

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the most wearable shade of red I have ever owned. I have worn this off and on for the last 16-17 years. I was always looking for a cheaper dupe, and only ended up wasting money on reds that were too bright, too warm, too pink, etc., and always went back to Angel Red.

This is a blue-based muted red that seems to flatter both warm and cool skin tones. The secret is most likely in the formula; Different lipsticks tend to be more on the sheerer side, but they are also buildable for more depth. This color is both soft and deep, so you can apply lightly to get a soft red lip or apply heavily for a richer, bolder red.

This color doesn't bleed--even without lip liner--or leave you looking clownish as it fades. As many of the other reviewers have mentioned, this is a great "first red" for those who are not red lipstick wearers. Angel Red is not only a great holiday red, it's a perfect everyday red.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sivananl on 8/14/2013 8:16:00 PM more reviews by sivananl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I'm Indian so I have brown skin and I find it hard to wear a red lipstick that actually suits my skin. This lipstick goes so well with my skin tone though. I wear it very sheer, I just dab it on my lips instead of actually spreading it around. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Curlybird on 4/18/2013 6:38:00 PM more reviews by Curlybird

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a fantastic everyday lipstick for people who are shy about wearing red. I have very full lips and I don't like to wear traditional reds- they make me look very clownish, especially in the winter when my skin is very pale.
Angel Red is very light feeling and moist with no weird smells or tastes, which is a big problem for me when it comes to lip products. It has a beautiful color which is light but not totally sheer, and leans blue-red. If you are more comfortable wearing lip gloss but want to try a lipstick, this is a good product to try.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* newyork00 on 1/24/2013 6:57:00 PM more reviews by newyork00

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Do not overthink this- just get it. You will love it. It looks good on all complexions, and if you never wear red normally (like me) you will feel a secret thrill every time you swipe it on and know you will never look like a clown. I never buy non-drugstore lipsticks normally but this is worth every penny.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 neurochic on 10/19/2011 8:46:00 AM more reviews by neurochic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

good not-too-loud red for work. Not particularly lasting, but not at all drying to my lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MUA23 on 7/1/2011 6:45:00 PM more reviews by MUA23

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Holy Grail lipstick for about 7 years now. Clinique describes this as a "blackened" red, which is an odd way to describe this shade. I'm NC40 and this is perfect for me, year round. It's a soft, semi-matte red that wears off evenly (I use a lip conditioner first!) to a sheer soft pink. It's just lovely to wear, comfortable and does not dry out my lips. I go through tubes and tubes of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xALRx on 6/22/2010 3:50:00 PM more reviews by xALRx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

great "everyday"/"daytime" red lipstick. once the color fades it leaves a really nice rosy tint to your lips. definitely recommended to those who are tip-toeing into red! goes on like a lip balm and is super moisturizing while still being light as air!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Lipstick products