Smith's Rosebud Salve • Smith's Rosebud Salve • Lip Treatments

rated 3.8(2195 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 sarah_417 on 4/16/2014 4:05:00 PM more reviews by sarah_417

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Ehh... at least it was cheap. I found it on sale at drugstore[dot]com for around $3

When my lips need moisture, this doesn't do it for me. It makes them appear initially moisturized, but within a few hours my lips feel more dry.

I do think it works pretty well underneath lipsticks that are drying. MAC lipsticks always dry out my kissers, so I layer a little bit of this underneath, and it does seem to protect them.

The scent might be a deal breaker for some. I don't dislike it, but I don't like it either. It fades fast.

For moisturization, I am sticking with Softlips, that works the best for me. I use it before bed, and I wake up with soft, smooth lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CarlaCatalina on 4/14/2014 9:33:00 PM more reviews by CarlaCatalina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in the chasier counter at sephora. At first i was in love with its packaging, but as soon as I pay it, i regret it. It's pricey for a little jar. By the time i opened it, the smells lingers.. I don't like it at all.. I want to love this product but it just not that good. I choose my beloved vaseline any given days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katiemac0324 on 4/9/2014 4:29:00 PM more reviews by katiemac0324

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have normal lips which are moist in the summer and dry in the winter and this stuff really helps them. Although I don't like lip balms where you have to stick your finger in them I just used this one like an EOS and stuck my lips in it. This stuff smells amazing (exactly like roses) and the consistency is nice. It gives your lips a little bit of color and shine. Leaves your lips soft and smelling great. I would definitely recommend this product to everyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hsiaoty on 3/15/2014 2:32:00 AM more reviews by hsiaoty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This salve has been one of my favorites! The product comes in a round metal tin that screws off easily and is very durable. The scent is very light and lovely and I also love that it adds a little bit of a sheer pink color to my lips and I actually find that it is usually as a heavy duty moisturizer for dry spots on my body, like my elbows. I sometimes feel that it feels heavy or sticky on my lips, but it's nothing unbearable! This product lasts a very long time and is worth the purchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 talaaasorenson on 3/7/2014 3:21:00 PM more reviews by talaaasorenson

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is great and you can use it for so many things. I see the reviews and most people use this primarily as a lip balm. It is a great lip balm that smells like rosewater and gives a glossy finish. You can also use this on your cuticles or if you have fly aways in your hair. This is basically an ointment for everything. I just wish that they also make a salve in a tube or a stick form because I don't think using your fingers is hygienic.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 niftypineapple914 on 2/23/2014 3:43:00 PM more reviews by niftypineapple914

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

Oh man, I persevered with this junk. I fell for the hype, and am still in love with the retro packaging (despite the unhygienic finger-dipping aspect), but this is way overpriced, lightly tinted vaseline. Dried my lips out like a desert within thirty minutes of application. For those with chronically dry lips I recommend Aquaphor, revlon lip products, and EA's 8 Hour Cream tinted lip balm stick. My pucker has been transformed since I began sticking to those.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* trickmaus on 2/23/2014 2:03:00 PM more reviews by trickmaus

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

As many others have said, this is rose scented vaseline. It does have some colouring in it but not even enough to appear on my barely pigmented lips. It does not hydrate my skin any more than putting on regular vaseline.

Don't get me wrong, I like the scent, and the packaging is cute, but don't think that you're buying a miracle product here.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Obsessedwithcosmetics on 2/22/2014 3:08:00 PM more reviews by Obsessedwithcosmetics

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go-to lip balm. Absolutely amazing! So hydrating and smells great and very subtle. I personally enjoy the packaging, you get A LOT of product for your money's worth. I tend to put it on my lips at night, and when I awake the next morning, my lips are fully healed and repaired from any damage caused to them during the day or by lipstick wear. I would personally buy all the flavors, but that's because I'm a lip balm junkie. So I can truly tell you that this stuff is hydrating when compared to other major lip balm brands. And it has a really nice glossy shine and best of all, it is NOT sticky at all (unlike Soap and Glory lip balms, another fave of mine, but they are sticky). 10 points for texture, 10 for price and quantity, 10 for hydration.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PeachyPink38 on 2/20/2014 7:51:00 PM more reviews by PeachyPink38

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Price range: They say it's $3-8. I bought the Smith's Rosebud Salve online from Drugstore.com for $3.89, the usual price of this Rosebud Salve would be $6 at Sephora or more at Anthropologie.

Many years ago, my cousin had been using this Rosebud Salve as her lip balm and I was a bit turned off by anything rose, so I didn't really have a good first impression. I don't think I even smelt it before...maybe had seen the rosey pink hue of the lip balm...but yeah, I knew of its existence.

Recently, I had been looking for something to use for my nail cuticles because the Burt's Bees Lemon Butter Cuticle cream wasn't quite working for me.

I did my research and learned that Smith's Rosebud Salve is a multi-purpose product. Then I saw on Sephora's website, that Smith's not only had the original Rosebud Salve, they also had a Strawberry flavor and a Mint flavor. Then I found a tin that had all three of those flavors in a tin box for $11.19 (on sale) on Drugstore.com and I had to get it and try it out.

I read about the salve and how you can use it for your dry nail cuticles, as a lip moisturizer, face moisturizer, blemishes, as a hair pomade to smooth out frizzes and etc. It works pretty good. I used to remove make up last night and it worked pretty well. I slather a thin layer on my face and take a cotton ball to remove the make up and it works. I found that once the salve had absorbed into the skin, it makes my skin feel so supple and soft. Very hydrated and my skin felt good. The PMS pimples I had also healed and lost the zit pain.

Some people might not like using their fingers to use the salve, and I have small make up spatulas to use it. But if I'm using it as a lip balm alone, I wouldn't care if I used my fingers. I would just use my pinky finger or ring finger on my left hand because those fingers don't get used as often. Yes, I'm right handed. Anyways, I knew I would like the salve, so I bought the 3 Layer Lavish tin and a loner Smith Salve. I love how small and compact the tin container is. It actually has more product than Nivea Lip Butter lip balm as the Smith Rosebud Salve has a deeper pot than the Nivea one. I own both products and love both. Yeah, sometimes it is hard to open if your hands has something on it.

Scent - The scent is very soft and not overwhelming as I had first thought it might be, but when I opened it and smelt it, it's not a strong scent.

I like that it absorbs into your skin after a couple of minutes of wearing it on your lips or on your skin and it makes your skin feel super soft. It's no wonder it is a cult favorite. It is well worth the hype. I can't wait to try the other flavors. I will wait to use it all and most definitely repurchase it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tresbelle15 on 2/1/2014 8:48:00 PM more reviews by tresbelle15

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Packaging:
I really don't have any complaints for this product's packaging. I think it is super cute and easy to use! I personally like the idea of a potted lip balm, but if you don't this may not be for you!

Price:
Depending where you buy this from, it ranges from $3-8. It is most definitely worth it, especially because it comes with a ton of product. I've used mine every night for about six months and still haven't even hit pan!

Pros:
-Moisturizing
-Gives "glossy" effect

Cons:
-The "pan" makes it more difficult to apply than a stick form

Texture:
Creamy, but not overly greasy. It does make the lips shine!

Smell:
Rosy (Regular) or Minty (Minted)

Comments:
This is a great natural alternative to medicated lip balms. It really helps fix dry and peeling lips!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smith's Rosebud Salve products

More Lip Treatments products