Smith's Rosebud Salve Smith's Rosebud Salve (tin)

3.8

2263 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Petrolatum, Aromol (blend of 7 rose essential oils), Cotton Seed Oil.


on 7/15/2015 11:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

As I'm finishing my sixth or seventh tin, its no surprise I love this product. I use it every night before I go to sleep, and also before applying lipstick so my lips are smooth and the lipstick settles well. I feel really uncomfortable wearing matte lipsticks, my lips feel soooo dry I just cant stand it, so when I use them I after apply a sheer layer of this and the dry sensation is gone. Even when I was using my first tin I didn't notice any smell, as opposed to my friends who told me the smell was terrible. The only thing I don't like about this product is having to use my hands to apply it. I don't bother when I'm home, but I don't take it with me anywhere since I don't want to use it when my hands are dirty.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 7/6/2015 3:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Other

This is an OK lip balm. It does moisturize your lips (very lightly) and gives your lips a nice hint of color and gloss. This has a nice rosy smell. I don't feel like it moisturizes very chapped lips very well. Do I think this is worth the price? No, but you do get a lot of product for the money. If your lips are very dry this won't do anything for them!


on 7/5/2015 9:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This stuff does get a little messy while applying especially if you have dry lips like me. I slather this stuff on at night without abandon and use it like a lip "mask". I used to use during the day too but it was hot out one day and whole thing would get melty so on the nightstand it stays! I am a mouth breather at night due to allergies so this stuff protects my lips. Otherwise, I get cracked lips on the sides of my mouth which are oh-so-painful and the flaky lip look is just not cool. This stuff also seems to last forever. I have had my most recent tin for almost a year, but let's be real, this is just petroleum jelly with some extra rose oil in a pretty tin... And it works!


on 6/29/2015 9:31:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Number one issue I couldn't get this open. Twice had to ask DH to open it. Unfortunately you would have to open this several times daily as it disappears fairly quickly. The rose smell is very nice but the texture is like Vaseline. It will easily spread outside your lip line and look messy and a little silly. I could not wear this in public- maybe in bed where no one will see me except DH LOL.


on 6/27/2015 10:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

It has a nice tint, makes my lips glossy, works as lip gloss on top of my lipstick, but otherwise does nothing to make my dry lips better. Gone through half the tin now and my lips are still dry. On top of that, I have to re-apply a lot during the day. Definitely not buying another one.


on 5/23/2015 11:04:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is my absolute HG lipbalm! I have very very dry lips. I've tried basically every lipbalm out there, and none have worked as well as this salve. I was hesitant in purchasing as I never really cared for Sephora and thought that you could get products for the same quality at the drugstore. But I finally bought it, and I can say that it was the best decision of my life.
Pros:
-Moisturizes your lips really well
-Slight tint (I'll use this on days when I don't want to wear lipstick but still want slight colour on my lips)
-LASTS FOREVER (I've had this now for about 6 months, and I still haven't hit pan)
-Cute packaging, very vintage

Cons:
-Sometimes hard to open
-Becomes thinner in hot temperatures (it sort of melts? idk)


on 5/15/2015 9:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I really like this lip balm. For years, I have treated my chapped lips with Carmex, Blistex, and every other medicated lip balm you can think of (in addition to EOS, Chapstick, etc...)

While I suspect that this is nothing more than pink-tinted vaseline, it does keep my lips more moisturized and soft than anything else I've tried. Additionally, the packaging is really cute and the price is okay


on 5/15/2015 4:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I picked up this one because of all the good reviews and the lovely vintage packaging- big sucker for those! It does its job, it moisturizes my lips like any lip balms do. However, I find the texture too slippery and very similar to Vaseline, it's thick and doesn't sink it quickly. When I apply it before bed, I still find a thick film of this on my lips in the morning. It feels like it's not doing much to my lips during winter. It works better in summer, or when my lips are not severely chapped. I only use this at night as lipstick/ lipgloss doesn't go on with this lip balm on. I wouldn't repurchase it because I think there are better lip balms out there, but I don't regret trying it out!


on 5/8/2015 12:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a product to use sparingly; it's quite thick, as the name would suggest. It can be a bit messy to get out of the tin, but the lovely smooth texture and scent are worth it. I find it stays on my nail beds a while, which may mean I'm using too much, but it's very soothing on dry cuticles and skin.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I too gave into the hype after seeing this in numerous magazines and on other health and beauty retail sites. I'm pleased with the product and keep a tin on my nightstand and use it before I go to bed each night. My lips stay soft and hydrated throughout the day. I have also recently discovered a new use for it - I have mild rosacea on my cheeks, near my nose. This winter my skin was really red, dry and flaky. One day I took a chance and put a very light layer only on those patches while my skin was still damp from washing and I was amazed at the results! The flakiness has disappeared and the redness has almost completely abated! I will continue using it this way. I have no problem opening the tin - it works best if you "unscrew" the lid.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
Baby Lips Lip Balm
1532 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
Prep + Prime Lip
178 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
Beeswax Lip Balm
3611 Reviews

Top Rated Lip Treatments



Top Rated Smith's Rosebud Salve Products

Back to Top