Smith's Rosebud Salve • Smith's Rosebud Salve • Lip Treatments

rated 3.8(2231 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 fecktopia on 11/23/2014 9:11:00 PM more reviews by fecktopia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I can't fault the formula at all as it truly works wonders to treat and prevent dry, chapped lips. It's better than vaseline (absorbs rather than just seals), Carmex, blistex, soft lips, baby lips, nivea, lipsmackers etc. In fact I wonder if the people saying it's just veseline have actually tried it or are just reading the ingredients? I suffer extremely dry lips due to treatments, weather and less water intake than I should so I apply balms all day long. Previously the best products out there were paw paw ointments which would buy me a few hours each application, but despite being initially skeptical I must admit rosebud salve is even more effective. Once in the morning and once at night is all I do now, and I would do more but...

The packaging is really that bad. I cannot open the tin at all, and I'm no goose. No amount of prising or patience worked and my partner had to use his tools to bend it off as none of my friends could open it either. I thought I got a dud as I could open the tester in the store without any trouble, but reading the reviews here it seems very common to struggle with the tin. They don't sell the tubes in my country and I'm not buying another tin. I would love to carry it around to apply throughout the day but I can't as the lid has been distorted in the removal process, so it sits unsealed by my bed. It hasn't dried out and it won't because it's an occlusive that is constantly losing layers to my lips.

It pains me to give such an amazing product only 3 lippies, but that tin is a total deal breaker. If I can order tubes into my country, I will happily do so in bulk, it's that good. Until then, it's back to paw paw ointment, which I highly recommend to anyone who loves this but can't deal with the packaging or distribution.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chemyst on 11/16/2014 11:08:00 AM more reviews by chemyst

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Everyone who loves the product but hates the tin: Sephora has the original formula in tubes online if they don't carry it locally. That packaging is much like the Carmex tubes with an angled tip, and MUCH better than the tin, IMHO. A quick google search shows they have other formulas available in this packaging as well. Well worth the extra effort and cost of shipping if you are like me, a bit of a germaphobe about dipping your fingers in a tub.

That said, I've bought two tubes of this now, the second because I thought I lost the first and missed it so much no amount of Carmex, Softlips or plain Vaseline could make up for it. It's light like softlips, but goes on like and has the same beauty applications as vaseline with added bonus of a light rose perfume.

I honestly don't find it that great for chapped lips. The version I have in the tube is far too light to be much help if they are too far gone. What I do like it for is minor irritations, bits of chapped skin on my face and my cuticles. Unlike others who have found this too oily, I actually find it to be very light for a petroleum based balm, and as such I find it works a bit better on facial irritations without being being too greasy and setting off a breakout. (for the record, we are talking about a small areas of the face, like a tissue-chapped nose or a flaky spot from too much acne cream on the skin around a pimple, not my entire face, it would be far too heavy for that kind of application)
I personally adore the authentic rose fragrance of the original formula, but some might find it off-putting on their lips and prefer the flavors.




    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lydiaie on 11/3/2014 12:18:00 AM more reviews by lydiaie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

this is overpriced vasaline. what a stupid hyped up product. if you want to hydrate your lips this is hardly going to help, but it can be used to stick down glitter and turn eyebrow powders into a gel consistency...apart from that it is too oily and not emollient enough to moisturise you. as soon as you hit the tin too hard in your bag (when youre walking around and It bangs against a wall or something) the tin is closed shut FOREVER!! beware

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mooberry on 10/16/2014 12:51:00 AM more reviews by Mooberry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Yes, it is over priced for what it is. But I absolutely love this product and I intend to buy a back up for the office next week. This is the only lip balm I actually miss, to the point I will actually clean until I find it.

I love the smell, love the packaging, love everything, except the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 winnster on 10/7/2014 11:34:00 PM more reviews by winnster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I don't get the hype over this product. its basically Vaseline in a tin with a little bit of rose fragrance. The ingredient listed first is petroleum (=Vaseline). So this is essentially overpriced Vaseline.

The packaging sucks. the product is so goopy that when applied will remain on the finger. It feels awful on the lips, isn't very moisturizing and doesn't last very long on.

The only thing that this lip balm does right is the finish. It smooths over my lips and reduces the appearance of fine lines. the result is an ever so slightly rosy smooth glossy pout.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 spunj on 10/2/2014 11:52:00 PM more reviews by spunj

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product is great not only for lips but as an all-purpose moisturizing balm. I suffer eczema and chapped lips 24/7 as well as dermatillomania (meaning I pick at my skin - especially the dry peeling bits on my lips which contributes to the dryness) and upon my very first usage of this product I was amazed by how it soothed my lips as well as moisturized them. The texture is so smooth and the finish is nice and glossy. It also gives them a beautiful pink hue and smells amazing. The packaging is a bit tacky though as tins tend to loosen the more you use them but aside from that the vintage appearance is very attractive and I am also pleased by how much product they give you. Overall I am very happy with this product and would definitely repurchase it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mimiyu23 on 9/29/2014 10:34:00 AM more reviews by Mimiyu23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I like this for my dry patches,and cuticles;) but not so much on my lips. I find that the scents is to much for me and i prefer the minted rose one!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 formika8476 on 9/11/2014 10:17:00 AM more reviews by formika8476

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Another scented petroleum product. Good if you want a prettier tin of Vaseline, which has its uses. Packaging can be iffy-- sometimes the lid is hard to pry off, other times it comes loose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 snowflake1512 on 9/6/2014 1:47:00 PM more reviews by snowflake1512

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I like the vintage look of the tin and the rose smell is not too heavy and I actually like the smell
That's all

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BrunetteProductJunkie on 9/1/2014 10:18:00 PM more reviews by BrunetteProductJunkie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my eye cream, remedy for a sore and peeling nose during tissue season, cuticle cream, heel cream, and a lip balm. I love this product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smith's Rosebud Salve products

More Lip Treatments products