Smith's Rosebud Salve Smith's Rosebud Salve (tin)

3.8

2244 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Petrolatum, Aromol (blend of 7 rose essential oils), Cotton Seed Oil.


on 3/6/2015 3:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This product fixed my lips!

Yes, it includes petroleum jelly. No, petroleum jelly doesn't add moisture.

What petroleum jelly does is seal moisture in. The second ingredient is cottonseed oil, which does moisturize; then, the petroleum jelly keeps the moisture in.

Adding too much moisture to your lips can exacerbate a cycle of dry lips, because your lips rely on having more moisture. This combination of cottonseed oil + petroleum = moisturizer lips that stay moisturizer.

I also rarely have problems with the tin. They do produce this formula is a tube, which is sold on Amazon -- which I will probably get next time I place an order. This is an excellent product; I also use it on my cuticles, hands, etc. HG!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.



on 2/22/2015 3:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

This has become my go-to lip stuff. Lately, I've had really dry/cracked/bleeding lips, and it seems like anything I try only makes it worse. I tried this after hearing it was a cult favorite (and a cheap one!), and I'm very impressed. The tin can be pretty difficult to open, especially if you try to open it after putting on hand balm. But you get used to it. It's inexpensive, and quite honestly, I haven't found anything else that helps keep my lips moisturized. You get a TON in the tin for what you pay. I've had mine for maybe four months and I might be halfway through the tin. I'll be coming back to this.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

A nice, softly scented balm that is firmer in consistency and not as heavily scented as that "other" rose salve. I like to carry this as an all-purpose product to use on lips, hands, and face (if needed).


on 2/11/2015 6:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I LOVE THIS LIP BALM!!! I love how it smells and how it feels on my lips. I just don't like that the little tin is had for me to open sometimes. I once left it in my car (by accident) and it all melted!! But just 5 minutes in the freezer and it was as good as new!!


on 2/8/2015 11:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Love its quality, its smell and its packaging. It keeps my lips
soft with only 1 application for 8 consecutive hours in an AC room. And the tin jar is so lovely and not hard to be opened as many people complained, even when my hands are slippery after applying skin care products.



on 2/5/2015 1:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This lip balm is by far the best I have ever used, and I have used a LOT. My lips were never particularly dry or prone to chapping until I used the Eos lip balms, which absolutely destroyed my lips. Ever since, I've tried numerous different products like plain old chapstick, C.o. Bigelow lip balm, Vaseline, and Jack Black Intense Therapy Lip Balm, in an attempt to get my lips back to normal. Finally, I stumbled across a blogpost about Smith's Rosebud Salve and decided to give it a try, and I am so glad that I did. This balm is light and smooth, and absorbs into the lips immediately. It has a soothing effect on already chapped lips, and in my case at least, the lips were well on their way to healing in just a matter of hours of wearing the product. The balm is rose-scented, which took me some time to get used to, but it's not overly fragrant. Additionally, I've used this salve for small dry patches on my face and hands and for my cuticles. It worked wonders for the dry skin, but I didn't really think it was effective on the cuticles. Also, as I've seen many reviews complaining about the packaging, I'd just like to say that I absolutely LOVE the old-fashioned tin that it's in. It's cute and not really that difficult to open. If it does pose a problem though, I believe that the salve is also sold in a tube. Overall, I would totally recommend this product to anyone who has any degree of chapped lips. It's really just a miracle.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

It's literally just petroleum jelly with rose fragrance in an overpriced tin.
You can buy the same thing as jelly vaseline for much less.


Petroleum jelly also doesn't restore or create more moisture in your skin, it simply keeps in what moisture is already there, so if your lips are cracked in need of healing, it won't help.


on 1/14/2015 11:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Black

Yeah the tin jar is annoying but I find most lip balm tins tend to be. this is basically rose scented vaseline but i guess with the cottonseed oil it's slightly less thick. I guess this would last forever if you only use it as a lip balm (which as a lip balm aficionado it works pretty well) but I also use it as a hand creme and it's nice to keep around. I agree its overpriced for what it is but the scent is very nice and you can always find a use for vaseline.


on 1/13/2015 10:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

My night time and super chapped lip remedy. I always put a coat of this on before bed and wake up with the softest lips. Any dryness is gone when I wake up. Most compare it to Vaseline but to me it's a totally different texture it absorbs better than Vaseline plus it says it's. It's own special petroleum base so they did something to it because I can tell the difference in absorption because I use both. I love the scent so nice and light. This has become part of my bedtime ritual and when I have any dry patches this fixes them so quick. Great product that is a staple in my skincare regimen. Love it! Recommended!


on 1/3/2015 2:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product is really good although a tad too oily and slippery for my liking at times. It's great to wear on its own sometimes since it's quite glossy and plump and makes your lips kissable on its own. However I like to wear a balm before applying lipstick and this is where its oily-ness gets tricky. Otherwise, it's pretty decent. The scent is nice and not overpowering and artificial, and it glides on smoothly. I feel that it mostly helps to get rid of dry, chapped lips through flaking because I find my dried lips a little easier to peel off and remove after applying it. thankfully I haven't faced any issues yet with opening the tin, although I've seen the tube versions in the local sephora stores here. The tube version may be a better idea when it comes to hygiene though cos I don't believe it's a good idea to keep sticking your fingers in the tin every time you want to apply it. One major gripe though, this is so expensive here! It costs $16 a tin (same for the tube version) whereas it's less than $10 in the US and UK I believe.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
1466 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
3590 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
171 Reviews


Top Rated Smith's Rosebud Salve Products

Back to Top