Tocca Cleopatra EDP

3.7

56 reviews

53% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/1/2014 1:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have been on a quest for the perfect Tocca perfume this month, mainly to use up my Birchbox points. This one is the latest one. To Tocca's credit, I've noticed all Tocca fragrances are natural smelling fragrances, they do not smell like alcohol at all. While this one isn't completely awful, I also didn't find the scent appealing, or Cleopatra like. I envisioned Cleopatra as a sexy, strong, exotic fragrance. This could be called Slightly Off Floral Garden. I washed it off within an hour. Not due to a headache or nausea I sometimes feel from certain perfumes, but a general dislike of the scent. Not the Tocca for me. The search continues.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 10/1/2014 11:34:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

All I'm getting is a whole lot of musk, jasmine and patchouli. No grapefruit, cucumber, vanilla or tuberose, and tuberose usually jumps out on my skin.

This is a heavy, sexy, dusky, dirty scent, and what I wanted NR to be (NR was just STRONG sharp musk on me, quite unpleasant and headache inducing).

This came in a Meet the Girls Sampler, and it isn't bad or stanky. I'm into fresher, greener, more floral scents, with an occasional gourmand, so I wouldn't purchase alone or full sized.


on 9/20/2014 12:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Cleopatra by Tocca honestly reminds me of something that much a older person would wear . It has a classic old lady scent that is musky and strong, I do like some musky perfumes as long as they have sweetness to them, but this one is very a dated scent with little to no freshness to it, I am wouldn't recommend to anyone under 40, sorry but true.


on 8/31/2013 3:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

New favorite perfume. Sexy, stays all day and doesn't overwhelm you (or anyone around you). Lots of compliments on Cleopatra! I'm in love. Really hoping Tocca never discontinues this scent!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/12/2013 11:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Sexy, classy, mature, feminine, intelligent. Those words come to mind when I smell Cleopatra or its older sister, Narciso Rodriguez For Her. The grapefruit and cucumber here prevent the musk from being too fusty, and Cleopatra smells so fresh and sultry at the same time it actually gives me butterflies (and, okay, turns me on) when I wear it. If it melds beautifully with your body chemistry, as it does with mine, it will make you feel exotic. Sillage is wonderful and so is the lasting power -- I can smell it on me hours and hours later, even after showering! (It also sticks to my clothes and the aroma just wafts around and makes me feel extremely sexy). There is something addictive about Cleopatra -- I literally can't stop smelling myself when I spray it on. It does wonders with men as well, apparently! The only downside is that I smell it far too often on other girls, but heck, I haven't fallen this deeply in love and identified myself with a perfume since the old Miss Dior Cherie that was my signature back in high school. You HAVE to be in the mood to wear this perfume; otherwise, it will wear you!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 6/1/2013 5:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It smells spicy on me. Not a big fan, especially because it does tend to be overpowering immediately once you put it on.
I prefer the sweeter Tocca perfumes, but I wear Cleopatra when I feel like being a non-nonsense get-outta-my-face sort of mood.


on 12/20/2012 2:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I agree with the poster below: this is a slutty perfume. On me it dries down to a sweet, crushed petal muskiness that I find sexy/dirty and intrusive. For a hot date- sure. For the office? Heck no. Like many patchoulli based scents, there is something..."unwashed" about this. I'm sort of embarrassed to wear it in public.


on 10/15/2012 7:18:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've been wearing this perfume for a few years now, and love it. It smells more fresh when you first put it on, but my favourite part is how it smells after an hour or two - gorgeous and comforting and mmmm.
It lasts a really really long time as well. I like to spray it in the air and then the room smells like it for ages!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 8/7/2012 1:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Ive been on a mission recently to find the sexiest, skankiest fragrances that I can find and I think this could well be in my top 5 (along with Courtesan by Worth).

Top notes: Grapefruit
Middle notes: Tuberose and Jasmine
Base notes: Musk, amber, patchouli and vanilla

It is VERY reminiscent of Narciso Rodriguez For Her, only its dirtier and more intense. If For Her was Colin Firth, then Cleopatra would be Colin Farrell- you get the picture!
On first spray, it opens with a very sharp, fresh, crisp and almost prim burst of grapefruit. At this point you would be forgiven for thinking "Ah- it has a clean and fresh innocence". You would be quite wrong. Once it dries down, Oh God.........its orgasmic.
The dry down is pure lust- I smell figs drenched in molten caramel and honey. Amber and musk writhe lustily together whilst cardamom gives pepper a lap dance. Tuberose watches and becomes corrupted. To me, the dry down is extremely skanky and it LASTS!- unlike, NR For Her, which is beautiful, but gone in a puff of air.
This is right up there with Courtesan for being one of my all time sexy, skanky fragrances. If Cleopatra really did smell like this, its no wonder her beautiful legend has lasted as long as it has.



23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.


on 6/26/2012 4:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm not normally a patchouli lover, but the patch here is so well-blended that instead of giving a stale/dirty smell, it reads as "hot", like a dryer or an iron. When I wear this I feel like I'm wearing my boyfriend's freshly pressed shirt, drinking water with citrus slices and cucumbers floating in it. It's warm and fresh at once.

Sillage is low and it exudes quick, subtle whiffs of "what is that delightful smell?" over the course of a few hours rather than a constant presence. One of my favorites!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1358 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
339 Reviews
Light Blue
1407 Reviews
Pink Sugar
1878 Reviews
No.5
939 Reviews


Back to Top