L'Oreal • True Match Naturale Mineral Foundation • Powder

rated 3.3(184 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hayleyelwick on 2/26/2015 1:10:00 PM more reviews by hayleyelwick

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

When I was a youngster, my friends and I only wore mineral makeup, because we went to a very strict private school. Minerals covered the best while looking the most "natural", so all our imperfections were covered, but we didn't get any demerits. Between myself and my three girlfriends, we had tried every mineral foundation on the market almost. Maybelline, Almay, L'Oreal, Bare Minerals, you name it, we tried it. Every morning by our lockers, we would pull out our mineral foundations and mascara and do our morning makeup routines together. Those were much simpler times obviously! One day my closest friend pulled this bad boy out, and the rest of us were instantly intrigued, since none of us had ever tried it before. She let us all dip our brushes into her new powder, and let me tell you, the rest is history.

The reason I tell you this story, is to demonstrate for you how fundamental the packaging was for us. As middle school girls, we maybe had one brush a piece, and speaking for myself, the brushes I did have always came with the makeup, I never bought them separately. The brush is a little scratchy, and adds to the bulk of the packaging, but without it, I couldn't have used it as a tween. My mother used minerals for most of her life, and she would never buy one from the drugstore that didn't come with a brush. For a long time, her makeup routine was the same as mine, mineral foundation and mascara, so as a "makeup minimalist" this packaging was great for her. I feel like mineral makeup is marketed towards those who want a light, natural look, so most of the people looking for that look probably won't be too interested in buying a lot of brushes.

These days, I use a little bit more than Minerals and macara, to say the least! But never fear friends, mineral foundations still have a place in my routine. Now I use them to set my foundations, because I love how they keep my foundation looking flawless longer, and give a nice luminous glow, so I don't look completely matte. This is the best mineral foundation from the drugstore that I've found for setting my makeup. The lightest shade in Maybellines line leaves me looking orange. And even Bare Minerals (which is significantly more expensive) oxidizes a shade darker over my foundations.

My flawless face routine (which, lets be honest, is what I do everytime I put makeup on my face) consists of liquid foundation blended with a Sigma F80 brush, L'Oreal mineral foundation to set everything, then any finishing powder over the T-Zone, to really prevent oiliness. (for reference, the finishing powder I'm using now is a Maybelline age rewind finishing powder that I got from Amazon, I get it there because it's my HG and it's discontinued, I really recommend it)

For those that don't like the bulky packaging, it can be easily depotted into another container, but try to keep an open mind about how the packaging could be beneficial for others!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* applecour on 2/26/2015 10:07:00 AM more reviews by applecour

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

So, I have tried Bare Minerals, and I so wanted it to work for me and it just didn't. First off, I couldn't find a color that matched my skin. The palest shade was too pink, the golden fair was too yellow and the neutral light shade was much too dark. I also tried the matte to see if it would make a difference and it didn't - still no color match. The other issue I found with it was that it made my skin so flaky! I returned it ever single time I purchased it.

I used this foundation many years ago back when it was called something different. I really liked it. It could be as sheer or heavy as you wanted and it never effected my skin. I decided to try it again. I went with the lightest shade in the line up - soft ivory. It is literally a perfect match for my skin. It melts right in and looks super natural. I was really pleased with the results after doing my entire face. I did notice that it provides a semi-matte, natural finish which I love. The only reason for the four stars, is that I have a huge cystic pimple (hormones) on my chin right now and I've had to touch it up already today and I've only had this on for 4.5 hours. It's definitely not made for heavy acne like the Bare Minerals is. Overall I'm really impressed with this and would totally buy it again.

About the brush, it's much softer than I expected but I would prefer more product and no brush like a few others have mentioned.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tori497 on 2/6/2015 3:17:00 PM more reviews by tori497

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've only been using this for a week but it's long enough to know I am in love with this foundation!!

I just ran out of my Bare Minerals fairly medium original mineral foundation and was looking for a more affordable alternative. Of course I came to MUA to see what my options would be. The reviews were right in the middle but I took a chance and am so glad I did!

Okay, so the shade options aren't the greatest. I ended up with soft ivory and kind of regretted it. It looks a little light in the jar but it was the closest match to my skin tone. The packaging could definitely use some improvement. I agree with other reviewers that I would rather have more product and no brush. I have my own brushes that work perfectly for mineral foundation already.

Once I got this onto my skin, any reservations about the shade I bought were gone- this stuff literally melted into my skin, leaving a matte but not flat look behind with light, natural coverage. During the week I wear tinted moisturized, over primer, and then add concealer and finally a dusting of the minerals under blush. This stuff holds up better than BM (gasp); halfway through the day I don't need a touch up and no oil is peeking through at all and NO oxidizing! Yay!!

The price is great and I can see this lasting quite a while. I am very happy I found a cheaper, and in my opinion, better mineral foundation option.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nokebe on 1/31/2015 7:48:00 PM more reviews by nokebe

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Absolutely love this foundation. I have combination skin and it glides on perfectly every time. I love that it feels like I am wearing no foundation at all. No more breakouts. The only complaint I have is the package. I have to tap some out in an old loose powder cap I have and the brush is a bit small. I have a very physically demanding job and it lasts all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BeccaWillBite on 1/30/2015 4:39:00 AM more reviews by BeccaWillBite

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this in the lightest shade possible. Looking for my perfect foundation. Might of found it. My skin is oily and acne prone, uneven. This looks like my skin is perfect, not makeup. Doesn't cause me break outs and cost a wonderful $11. The brush is softer than I imagined, good for the price. I receive complements on how healthy I look and they ask what I've changed. I invested in alpha hydroxy cream and this lovely little thing. The packaging is sexy, fits in the hand well. Don't really take my makeup with me, so haven't had a mess in my purse yet. I like it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 missmac8312 on 12/21/2014 1:38:00 AM more reviews by missmac8312

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Let me first start by saying I was very excited at first to find this foundation because I like mineral makeup and I didn't want to have to pay a lot of money for it so I ended up getting this foundation. But Sudhakar started using it I realized it does nothing for my skin I have very very oily skin and it really just made my face very shiny and almost have a weird tan color to it. It made my skin more oily then it is with out any foundation on it . I was very disappointed with my foundation and I wanted to have such high hopes for it 😣

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BarefootedALIEN on 12/1/2014 11:55:00 PM more reviews by BarefootedALIEN

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Let me start with I love this formula. The packaging is terrible but I sprinkle it into an old Mary Kay foundation powder and apply with Ecotools powder brush and urban decay karma brush where I need extra coverage. This lasts all day on me. My problem is that I am W2 in the line, and they combine w1 & w2 in the powder. Color does not match me, and W3 is too pink! It's more work but I actually mix w1/2 with w4/5 (perfect level of warmth with no pink) and it's perfect!!! It's kind of a pain but with the money I'm saving compared to other mineral makeup, I'll deal with it. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sjholt13 on 12/1/2014 4:54:00 PM more reviews by sjholt13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This product was a huge disapointment, all around. it was pricey, sloppy and cakey. I'm totally bummed. I hate spending money on products that I just end up tossing. It was super cakey and felt like wax on my face. I tried a better brush and it was blotchy and waxy. never again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 purpletter5 on 11/29/2014 9:31:00 PM more reviews by purpletter5

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

So I bought this product when I had no acne scarring and I didn't find it necessary to wear foundation to parties, but I wanted to look even all over my face so I thought this was a good choice. And I LOVED IT!!! This gives medium to full coverage and every time i wear it i get so many compliments. It looks and feels like my skin and it does not cause me any breakout nor does it clog my pores. It does not last too long, however, it might last around 4-5 hours when there is a lot of humidity, but it doesn't completely wash off either which is good. But you do need to make some touch ups every now and then. It doesn't come out looking cakey or ashy in pictures, infact it looks blended in and natural. Overall, this product is GREAT! I would totally buy it again. However, I do have a question, which is can I use this over my liquid foundation as a setting powder?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CosmoFan12 on 11/7/2014 1:20:00 AM more reviews by CosmoFan12

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I would have given this 5 lippies across the board if :A-It wasn't, say ,so pricey and B: The brush was better. That done, this is a great product for women of any age who want their skin to breathe. It's gentle,has light/medium coverage,makes your skin look air brushed and easy to apply. Doesn't cake or look phony. Just like you have good,natural skin. Lasting power is pretty good. A nice product from the mineral genre for drugstore quality.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Powder products