OPI OPI Ink

4.3

106 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/8/2015 6:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I held off on this polish for awhile simply because it looks so close to Russian Navy, which I own. It's not exactly the same as Russian Navy but its so close you probably don't need both. On the first coat they look different but after 2 they look so similar it's hard to tell.

Ink has a better formula imo and is opaque in 2 coats. Ink is more purple with flecks of purple throughout it along with some blue and pink. Russian Navy has a blackened blue base with less shimmer and no specks running through it. Like I said, its so close you probably don't need both unless you are a polish junkie like myself lol.



on 12/19/2014 3:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This color is absolutely gorgeous! I recently got a gel mani and was deciding between this color and another one, and the nail tech told me I wouldn't regret going with OPI Ink. She was right! The pictures really don't do this color justice. I was afraid this color would be a little too childish and sparkly looking - it's not! It's a very dark purple with gorgeous speckles of purple, blue, and even a tiny bit of pink glitter when you look closely. Basing it off of pictures I saw online, I wasn't all that impressed, but once it was actually on my nail, it was an entirely different story. If you like purples and don't mind a tad bit of shimmer, you'll love this color!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/16/2014 3:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Ink is tied with Every Month Is Oktoberfest as my top OPI polish. One of the most amazing things about EMIO is how the first coat is this absolutely gorgeous purple, and that's the colour I've been lusting for ever since! Ink is the closest that will ever come to it. This is a really beautiful and interesting colour. Depending on the lighting it can be a deep, rich, velvety purple or it can shine true blue like Russian Navy. And under the sun, you can see the dazzling pink shimmer in all its glory! Also I'm Asian with fair skin and a cool undertone and Ink does not clash on me at all. However, this polish is not without its cons - I do need three coats to avoid visible nail tips, if I'm not careful this can chip and peel like crazy, and it is a pain to remove because of all the shimmer. That being said, it's still definitely a keeper for me!


on 8/13/2013 1:14:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a very nice dark purple color with some shimmer. It took two coats to get the desired coverage on my nails. There's nothing wrong with it at all, but it is a color that I don't use very often so no need for a rebuy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/3/2012 7:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this as a duo with another opi nail polish. This is my first time trying opi. This is a very pretty purple with sparkles. My impression of opi is horrible and because of the quality of this nail polish is very discouraging to go buy more. Am i the only one who hates the larger brushes!? i thought because opi was so high up there that they wouldn't change the small brushes, but i guess i was wrong. The wider brushes make the application messy and VERY hard to work with! And the drying time with the polish? Horrible!. I probably wont buy anymore nail polishes from opi and ill stick to my china glaze and essie,


on 11/14/2012 8:30:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

OPI's formula is perfect; application is very smooth, the pro wide brush is great, and there is no streaking at all. Coverage is opaque in two coats. The color is exactly like ink--beautiful purplish blue, but with fuchsia shimmer. It dried very quickly. The only reason I gave it a 4 is because it just wasn't the color for me; to me it looked like I used a ball point to color my nails--it was too "out there" for my taste. However, everything else about it deserves a definite 5.
Update: I'm trying it again a year later, and love the color. I guess my tastes have changed a bit :-).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/12/2012 10:35:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I've been trying to find a perfect purple nail polish for a while, and I bought this whilst on my quest. While it is not the bright, rich purple I was looking for, it's still a lovely colour.
It has a purple-navy base, with fine blue and purple glitter. In some lights, it looks navy, and in others, purple. So if you're expecting a navy, be prepared for purple, and vice versa. In all lights, it looks very sparkly, but in a classy way because of the fine mill of the glitter.
I love OPI brushes, because they're big, and easy to apply colour quickly and evenly. If you have smaller (less wide) nails, you may not like this feature. For me, it took two coats to achieve the colour you see in the bottle.
The only downside is, if you're the type of person who doesn't use a topcoat, this polish chips quite easily. I pretty much always use a topcoat, but with this, I think it is especially required. That being said, with a topcoat, this polish lasts really well. I also think it looks way better with a topcoat, because it makes the colour and sparkles more prominent. I used China Glaze No Chip Topcoat (really good, by the way).
I have taken one point off for the price ($19.95 in Australia) which is quite pricey for the average person.
All in all, it's really lovely, and pretty. So if you love navy and purple, and dont kind spending your money on it, this is for you.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/27/2012 1:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

All of my other navy colored nail polishes can move aside, OPI Ink has captured my heart. Perhaps it's because it isn't a straight on navy, with the hints of purple shimmer. My particular bottle had the perfect consistency. Two coats is all that is needed, with no fussy pooling or dragging. I could quite possibly wear this as my pedicure color for the rest of the year.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2012 10:27:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I fell in love with this polish at the salon. Very pretty as I love all things dark sparkly and blue. I was able to get opague color with 2 coats. On me, this looks dark navy in the shade. In the sun, it looks more purple and you can see all the little micro pink sparkles in it. I do however enjoy this color more when the sun is shining on it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/24/2012 11:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

So I was a tiny bit disappointed in this polish. I was soooo excited to finally try it, but it was a tiny bit of a let down. It took three coats for it to be opaque, it didn't go on very nicely. Once it was on though it looked sooooo good. It's a pretty navy-purple shimmer. Really gorgeous colour- more purple-y than Russian Navy. It chipped kinda of easily too.
So I would still say it was worth it, it is a gorgeous colour it just doesn't apply as well as some other OPI polishes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

74 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

153 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

76 reviews
image

Romeo & Joliet

87 reviews
Back to Top