Clean & Clear advantage oil-free Acne Moisturizer

3.6

116 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Salicylic Acid (0.5%) Inactive Ingredients: Benzalkonium Chloride, Butylene Glycol, C12 15 Alkyl Benzoate, C12 15 Alkyl Lactate, C13 14 Isoparaffin, Capryloyl Glycine, Cedrus Atlantica (Blue Atlas Cedar) Bark Extract, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Glucoside, Cetyl Lactate, Cinnamomum Zeylancium Bark Extract, Cocamidopropyl PG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Dimethicone, Disodium EDTA, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Fragrance (Parfum), Glycerin, Glycine Soja Seed Extract (Soybean), Isoceteth 20, Laureth 7, Methyl Gluceth 20, Pentaerythrityl Tetra Di T Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Phenoxyethanol, Phenyltrimethicone, Polyacrylamide, Polysorbate 60, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, PPG 10 Cetyl Ether, Propylene Glycol, Sarcosine, Steareth 21, Water


on 7/1/2015 2:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

My friend gave me this product to try because it didn't work for her but it might work for me. I should have known better as I began to use it, all of a sudden I realized that I had 4-5 zits all over my face ALONG with my existing acne scars. I'm planning to stop using it and hopefully all this clears up but I made no changes in my skin care routine besides this product.

It smells nice, but I noticed that it made my skin feel really tight. I don't really know how I feel about that, I know the acid is supposed to dry out the pimples but my skin feels uncomfortable.



on 5/15/2015 1:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This acne moisturizer smells good and makes my face feel soft.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

This moisturizer is alright and will leave the skin soft but the scent is too strong and it will most likely end up irritating the skin.


on 2/15/2015 7:31:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

Since I have acne prone skin, I use a lot of products which dry my skin and needed a moisturizer that wouldn't make me break out. This does de job, I wouldn't recommend it as an "acne reducing product" but it do think it's good for moisturizing without making me break out.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

When I read the label it said it helped prevent break outs. FALSE. It didn't do that for me!!! ANOTHER CLEAN AND CLEAR FAILURE!! But what I do like about it is that it doesn't leave my skin oily. That's about it. Other than that I wouldn't buy it again. I kinda like the smell... If that counts for anything. Wouldn't recommend it though.


on 7/24/2014 12:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I originally purchased this product last summer because my skin was a huge oil slick and I wanted to try a lotion that would help fight blemishes during the day as well. Fast forward to now, where I realize that Salicylic Acid really does nothing for my breakouts, but I like this for the nighttime because it's just a little something extra. It doesn't have an overly horrible smell, kind of medicinal if you ask me, but I like it. And the price isn't too bad. I'm on my third bottle of this and it probably will last me a few months.

I like that it's oil-free because I can get super oily and this helps to keep everything in check. Definitely keeping this part of my nightly routine!!


on 4/21/2014 11:20:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have super oily skin that has an extremely rough texture. I needed a moisturizer that would smoothen out my skins texture without making me an oily monster. This moisturizer doesn't clear up my active breakouts but it certainly doesn't make them worse. It allows my skin to be really soft and smooth without leaving me dewy or shiny. I wouldn't suggest this for super dry skin because the salicylic acid could dry you out & it probably wouldn't be enough moisture for you anyways seeing as it is non-greasy & oil-free. For me though, it's a skin saver :)


on 2/16/2014 7:58:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This was an okay moisturizer because it didn't really do what it claimed to. It claims to dissolve oil fast, preparing skin so acne medicine can penetrate into the pores. This moisturizer did not clear up my skin but it did lightly moisturized my skin. It has a pleasant scent and was well priced at around $8 usd. I liked the packaging because it didn't leak everywhere and was very sanitary, it didn't dispense too much product. Good if you have normal to slightly oily skin with an occasional breakout every month. Definitely not for me because my skin gets oily within 3 hours, even under the temperature of 6 degrees Celsius.

Update: I have stopped using this because I realized that it doesn't even claim to be non cosmedogenic, which worries me a little


on 1/22/2014 3:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Initially I was a little confused as to which Clean&Clear moisturizer to purchase (this one or the dual action oil free moisturizer.) I did a side by side comparison in the store, and to me it appeared to be virtually the same product. Both contain 0.5% salicylic acid. I ended up purchasing this one because I think it got slightly better reviews on MUA.

Anyways! On to the review. I use this as my day moisturizer (as a thin layer under my bb cream.) I have combination/oily skin and get the occasional large pimple or cyst. I haven't felt that this product has broken me out, but I haven't felt that it cleared up my skin either.

Pros:
Smells good!
Fast absorbing
Cheap and easy to find in store
Non greasy

Cons:
Don't feel like there's enough salicylic acid in the product to really help me skin
If you're looking for a lot of moisture for dry skin, look for something else.

All in all, I think it's a decent drugstore moisturizer. If you're looking for something cheap and non greasy that doesn't break your skin out, then try it! But if you need more moisture or have severely broken out skin, then I would look elsewhere.


on 12/8/2013 10:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

One of the only moisturizers that doesn't break me out. Soft feeling, light weight - yet moisturizes just enough even in the winter. Can't say enough great things about this product! I always want to try other moisturizers which I immediately regret and come back to this little gem! Also I remember reading something about this moisturizer having the right Ph-balance. Maybe that's why this rocks!


Back to Top