Laura Mercier • Cake Eyeliner in all shades • Eyeliner

rated 4.2(69 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 angiedairou on 1/4/2014 7:26:00 PM more reviews by angiedairou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

MY HG eyeliner. You don't need the activator, you can use water. It is so much easier to apply than gel based eyeliners and I find that it lasts longer. Love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NYCBeauty99 on 12/25/2013 5:06:00 PM more reviews by NYCBeauty99

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm super surprised at how much I hate this product. I would give it zero lippies if I could. It might be one of the worst products I've tried all year. I bought the black cake. I tight-lined with this and the results were beautiful for about one hour. After that, the fallout was horrible. I honestly looked like a panda after about 2 hours of using this (mind you I only put this on my upper lash line). Back it goes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kentauride on 9/21/2013 10:10:00 AM more reviews by Kentauride

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

These things are just fantastic. I own SIX different shades, I got one of those 6 slot custom palettes from this line to hold them all in. Custom palettes are only 10 bucks in the 3 pan or 6 pan size, and can also hold other LM products like blusher and eyeshadow. I think the cake eyeliners are pretty reasonably priced for a department store product, and since you really only need a tiny bit to line your eyes, they will last a long time.

These are cake eyeliners designed for tightlining. I find that tightlining only makes a big difference on my eyes if I curl my lashes, something I rarely do since they are so long that when curled they touch skin and leave little mascara marks. I mostly use this product as a standard liner on my upper lash line. I bought the LM flat tightlining brush when I got my first one of these, but I'm not a big fan of the brush. I think it is too big for tightlining - the brush head is too wide and the handle is too long. I use a small angled liner brush instead.

The formula is really great. I get my brush wet with water and work it into the cake until I have a fluid ink consistency on the brush. I just tap the brush against my lash line, gradually building up the line until I am happy with it. It gives a finished line like a liquid liner but I find it much easier to work with than even the fine point pen type liquid liners. The cake dries quickly and can go right back in the makeup bag, no mess. I don't use the activator as the makeup artist who originally put this on me said it works fine with just water and you only need the activator if you need it to be super waterproof. It stays put on me just fine using plain water.

The six colors I have are mahogany brown, dark teal, charcoal grey, forest green, plum riche, and a color called violet asphalt which was part of some Nordstrom's anniversary promotion. My favorites are the teal and the green, very true to pan color when applied, and great consistency. The plum seems to apply a little lighter than it appears in the pan. The charcoal grey is more of a dove grey with a hint of gunmetal - it is slightly bluish and is lighter than what I consider charcoal - great for bringing out the blue in eyes. Mahogany brown is lovely medium brown on the lids, but for some reason some of the pigment seems to separate into an orangey film as the cake starts to dry. Not a big deal, you just have to remix it if you are still applying. Still I think I'd have rather have had the deeper espresso shade. My least favorite is actually the first one I got - the violet asphalt, a deep purplish blue. It is is the only one that has some shimmer in it, and has a thicker consistency than the others. Looks fantastic on the eyes, though, and the shimmer is very subtle and stays put even when using to tightline.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bizworth on 3/11/2013 3:40:00 PM more reviews by bizworth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Hands down, this is my favorite piece of makeup I own! It makes my eyes stand out and I instantly look like I have twice as many lashes. When I'm in a hurry or don't feel like doing make up, I just pop on a little of this tightliner and some mascara and I feel beautiful.

Some things I've found about it:
It does not smudge as long as you are applying it correctly. This is supposed to be used at the base of the eylashes, not the waterline. If you put it on your waterline, it will transfer to your lower waterline. (I once did this by mistake when I was in a hurry. Oops!) There are lots of good tutorials on youtube for how to apply it.

I use water, not the activator, and like I said it does not smudge. And I work long, 11 hour shifts. It looks as good when I get home as it did when I left.

Getting the right ratio of water will make application easier. I use the Laura Mercier brush with it, dip it in water, quickly and gently blot a tissue, and usually that is the right amount of water. The more you use it the quicker you'll get at finding the right consistency. I can now mix and put on flatliner in under a minute.

It will last a looooooong time. I felt RIDICULOUS for spending this much money on an eyeliner, especially since I have a ton of them laying around. But none of my eyeliners tightlined and stayed in place very well, so I begrudgingly paid for this. Man do I not regret it. Not only is it awesome, but I use it all the time and it looks like I've barely touched it.

The colors go on dark. I have a set of three colors: turquoise, bleu marine, and a gray color... the turquoise is of course the brightest one but is still dark. The bleu marine and gray look like a soft black once applied. Perhaps you could make it more watery if you want it to look brighter? I personally love the darker look. I would have gotten black ebony but I felt the set of 3 was a better value.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bratirella on 5/12/2012 2:59:00 PM more reviews by bratirella

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Great for tightlining.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lynne9999 on 2/3/2012 8:52:00 AM more reviews by lynne9999

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Got this in charcoal grey bought the slanted brush as well. Goes on perfect and lasts all day on eye lid, looks fab, you can make a very subtle fine line or a make a statement line.

The only thing that I have not got the hang of properly is putting on the inside of the top lid. I suppose practice makes perfect,

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pissandvinegar on 11/29/2011 2:31:00 AM more reviews by pissandvinegar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely my favorite product to tightline with. I first got this 5 years ago and was not a huge fan, couldn't get figure it out and get it to the right consistency, etc. Now after some practice I lovelovelove it and usu it with LM's flat liner brush. It really gives your lashes that nice thick look if you use it for tightlining.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sophia1105 on 7/15/2011 2:46:00 PM more reviews by Sophia1105

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have used this in the older formula as well as the new tightline formula with activator. The older formula of the black seemed to bother my eyes, even though for the first 6 or so hours it was so smoldery, smokey and very sexy in that French, Bardot manner. The Bleu Marine is quite possibly the most flattering shade of navy I have yet to wear, (exceptions being Chanels' Marine kohl pencil, which is just a tad bluer). The Mahogany Brown was lovely, very natural and defined my eyes without making them look lined. My hair is espresso-brown and mahogany brown was just too light. I love black e/l and it just didn't have enough punch for me. The older formula did smear a tad on me. The new with activator is considerably longer wearing. If you don't mind the time to fuss with the activator, making it into a paste and all and want a crisper, longer wearing line, I'd highly recommend it. I took it on vacation with me b/c I didn't want to have to fuss with my liner consistently throughout the day. The new formula works without the activator and once you use the activator you can't stop and switch back to water; wish I hadn't started using the activator but it does last even longer than my BB gels so if you don't mind keeping one activator only and another water only, I'd do so. I find the new formula thicker and denser in terms of pigmentation; the older formula was like trying to get blood from a stone. The newer one doesn't drive me completely bonkers and is considerably easier to use. I do prefer Chanel's la Ligne over this simply b/c the finish is more of a soft, almost leathery look once my oils blend in, it takes a hint of water to use and it comes with a tiny (actually usable) brush. Just easier and less fuss overall. The LM formula is matte-velvety and gorgeous but more fussing. I have Illamasqua's and it is closer to the LM formula. I love cake liner and devour them like a kid in a candy store, so happy to try them all, they rotate in favoritism depending on my taste ATM, however Chanel wins out most often for formula, ease, etc. but LM's Bleu Marine is in a category by itself for shade alone. For brushes, I prefer an angled liner, tighlining is lovely but transfers too easily to my lower lash line and can make my eyes look tired or smaller. LM's pointed brush is a winner in the brush category overall, esp for her caviar formula (which I prefer in general).

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 7/1/2011 10:48:00 PM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is a great eyeliner for tightlining and waterline. It really lasts and makes the eyes pop. A little goes a long way...this compact has lasted me forever. If you're looking for a great cake liner, look no further!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rshim09 on 6/25/2011 3:29:00 PM more reviews by rshim09

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this eyeliner! I never tightlined my lashes but always wanted to start trying. After watching many YT videos on how-to's and reading wonderful reviews on this product, I gave it a try. It is very easy to apply (I just put my brush under running water to get it wet) and never smudged on me. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a great eyeliner and would repurchase when I'm out.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Eyeliner products