Paula's Choice • Skin Balancing Daily Mattifying Lotion with SPF 15 and Antioxidants [DISCONTINUED] • Moisturizers

rated 3.8(92 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 liseyloo on 5/12/2013 9:53:00 AM more reviews by liseyloo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Meh. I have combination skin; this wasn't moisturising enough, even for my oily areas. My skin felt parched throughout the day and I couldn't wait to get home and slather on my Avene Hydrance Optimale Riche. The consistency is very thin and I would only recommend this for VERY oily skin. Not impressed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 orderlyfashion on 3/18/2013 11:03:00 AM more reviews by orderlyfashion

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I really like this moisturizer! I used Coppertone Faces SPF30 every day for several years, which I liked very much, but wanted to find something a little more matte and with antioxidants. At first I was a bit dismayed at the small size of the tube, but this lotion is fairly liquid and glides so smoothly and lightly over the skin, you don't need to use too much... a dime sized blob is plenty for my face and neck. It looks a little shiny immediately after applying, but very quickly sinks in for a semi-matte look. I don't think this really controls oil as the 'mattifying' name implies (I still need to blot a couple times a day unless I have a primer or powder on top) but all is forgiven because unlike other 'dry-touch' sunscreens I have tried, it doesn't break me out, and it works well under makeup. My only other quibble is I really wish this had a higher SPF... fine for days when I'm mostly indoors, but anytime I'm outside for an hour or more is when it's time to pull out the stronger stuff. But for general daily use I'll continue to use this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 stefstefs on 2/20/2013 11:17:00 AM more reviews by stefstefs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

It has lightweight texture. So, no worries for those who have combo/oily skin, this sunscreen would do a great job for you. It certainly mattifies your skin.

It's easy to apply because of its watery liquid texture. But, yes, texture like this make this sunscreen not lasts too long. A-60-ml-bottle lasts me only 5-6 months if I uses it generously every morning.

the downside is this sunscreen is only spf15, I find my skin got darker if I don't reapply it. But, mostly I love this sunscreen. repurchase? sure will! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 frankyt on 1/31/2013 8:38:00 PM more reviews by frankyt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Very impressive suncreen. Broad-spectrum UVA/UVB protection with other helpful ingredients to mitigate sun damage and improve the appearance of skin. It doesn't make my face look shiny, doesn't burn and is even safe to use on my eyelids. I wish it had a higher SPF, though, although I suppose that would mean it would have a less elegant texture. I also wish it wasn't so damn expensive. I'm using Olay in the meantime but it can't hold a candle to this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jocky80 on 10/1/2012 9:46:00 AM more reviews by Jocky80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have so mixed feelings about this lotion. The texture is awsome for oily acne people, feels light/weightless onn the face. It goes on matte, but more satinmatte on my face, it does a great job of oil and shinecontrol ( with paula's shinestopper).
The not so good stuff is the low Spf. I put on my sunscreen early mornings, and I need it to work for 10-14h. A spf 15 goes maybe half of that time, and me with my oliy skin will break down it even earlier.
The other stuff is the Oxybenzone. Everything in the Eu that contain (0,5%->) that must have the text "Contains Oxybenzone" because of the cancerrisk. I have many sunscreens for the body that contain that and I use them, but not daily like this.
I'm trying 2 physicalsunscreens form skinceaticals, if I don't break out from them I'm going to use them. If not I can always fall back on this one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xding78 on 9/28/2012 5:25:00 AM more reviews by xding78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Simply put, it breaks me out! Whenever I use this product, the next day, redness and bumps coming on my cheeks. I've never got that bad break outs before. I don't have sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lalatrue on 8/30/2012 4:30:00 PM more reviews by Lalatrue

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is the best product for acne prone oily skin ever! It doesn't contain dimethicone and doesn't clog my big pores at all. There is nothing comparable for oily skin because all these oil-free SPF products out there are loaded with silicones and you pay a high price of totally clogged pores for the matte look. This lotion doesn't provide a totally matte finish, but it is not white or shiny either, very natural healthy skin. I use it under foundation with SPF16, so that I get enough sun protection in summer and if go for outdoor just reapply after each 1-1.5 hour, have never had any sunburns. Tried other SPF lotions for oily skin but always get back to PB. This formula is not very anti-aging, so I use a water based silicone-free vitamin C serum underneath to get more antioxidants on my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 haight on 8/7/2012 12:49:00 PM more reviews by haight

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is categorized as a moisturizer, but I wouldn't say that it is particularly moisturizing. It is mainly a sunscreen for the face that won't make you look shiny. This is what I use in the warmer months, when I don't need a moisturizer but want sun protection without my face looking greasy. I wish it was slightly higher in SPF, but as others have said, I think it's only SPF 15 because any higher amount of sunscreen ingredients would not make this as mattifying as it is. I like that it has antioxidants - it is a well-formulated product in my opinion. It is somewhat pricey for me, but a little goes a long way and there is a lot of good stuff in that little tube. I think it's worth it, because I haven't ever found a sunscreen I could use on my face that didn't break me out and didn't turn me into a grease pit. This one is the product for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Meriel65 on 7/15/2012 4:40:00 PM more reviews by Meriel65

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have mixed feelings about this product. It is very hard to find an spf lotion for oily skin that actually has UVA/UVB protection, and this is one of only a very few out there. Always read labels, and know which sunscreen ingredients are actually broad spectrum! The texture of this is somewhat matte, but not in a "powdery" sort of way that I am more familiar with in things like a primer or foundation. There is a slight sheen to it, which I attribute wholly to the sunscreen ingredients themselves, personally.

My problems with this are: the package--it's very hard to get out all the product with the pump, and at the price, you want every last speck. The cap cracked, too, which did not boost my confidence. Paula's Choice does have great customer service and I'm pretty sure that if I'd written about this, they would have replaced the product for free (but I wasn't fond enough of the product to do that). And: I just don't do well with any chemical sunscreens anywhere near my eyes. My eyelids get itchy, so for better or worse, I have to use the mineral sunscreens, titanium dioxide or zinc oxide.

I think that the spf is just 15 in this product because higher concentrations of the sunscreen actives would make this even harder for some skins to tolerate. I wish there were a dry-finish sunscreen with mineral actives in it--if any one were to formulate such a product, I would say that Paula Begoun would do it. I have contacted their customer service a few times over the years, and I always get a considered response, and Ms. Begoun herself has contacted me twice as a follow-up on my questions/concerns. This is impressive. She backs up her products with a 60 day guarantee; if you don't like it, you return it or exchange it easily. That is why I'll always love her company.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jungleesh on 7/15/2012 4:10:00 PM more reviews by jungleesh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know that I would call this mattifying, but I frankly don't think anything for those of us with oily skin is ever mattifying enough. This feels thick, but absorbs completely and doesn't make my skin feel oilier, heavy, or like I have sunscreen on. That in itself is fantastic for a moisturizer with sunscreen. I use this after Proactiv Repairing treatment and underneath Estee Lauder Double Wear Light, which is the foundation I seem to keep coming back to. It's fragrance-free and I let it sink in for a few minutes before putting the foundation on, mainly so I don't wipe off any of the suncreening abilities.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Moisturizers products