Rimmel • Colour Rush Quad in Smoky Brun • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(55 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lizzea on 2/26/2014 2:26:00 AM more reviews by lizzea

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Really nice quad.. lovely neutral colours that are actually sheer on application but buildable in a way that creates a lovely neutral, natural look. Sometimes eyeshadows that are very strongly pigmented can deposit too much product straight away and having a sheer shadow that builds smoothly can be good for people who are still playing with a look or learning to apply makeup. This is a very lovely selection of colours that should suit most people and works well for creating an everyday look on a budget.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Radchickee on 3/20/2012 10:23:00 PM more reviews by Radchickee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The colors here are too subtle to do a smokey eye. There's not enough pigment and too much shimmer. This quad is ok for a different sort of look, but not a smokey eye.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sofiej on 2/18/2012 4:56:00 AM more reviews by sofiej

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I wouldn't recommend this quad as I'm disappointed in the color payoff. I'm an NC35. However, the colors are pretty and show up a lot better when used with a neutral creme shadow underneath, such as Benefit's "Flatter me".

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Christinaann5 on 11/28/2011 5:14:00 PM more reviews by Christinaann5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

wowie! I have since repurchased since Rimmel finally upgraded & updated their shadows & i have to say, Much better than the older version but I still do like the older quad too since they are still decently pigmented & great to use for sheer looks or daytime more natural looks.
=PRICE/AVAILABILITY=
Rimmel selection varies for us girls in the US, we dont have some of the products like they have overseas but Rimmel products can be found at local drugstores like Walgreens, CVS, Rite Aid as well as Walmart & Target. Availability as well as price will vary depending on your location/sales/discounts but the quads cost around $4-5. the price is pretty good & Rimmel tends to run cheaper than some companies.
=SHADE/FORMULA/STAYING POWER=
The formula on the older version wasnt that great but it was pretty good so im just goin to review the new version of the quads. The shadows are super soft, buttery smooth. Some shadows in each are a tad better than some but overall, all 4 shadows are soft, pressed well with no chalkiness like before. apply & blend very nicely. The pigmentation has increased by 100%. They all show up very well. i was def surprised by how pigmented the shadows are. In this quad, you get 4 great shadows. They are all the same size in the quads and each quad has 4 coordinating shadows to make a complete look or use however you want which is nice to have so many options.. So onto each shade- In Smokey Brun ill start at the top shade & go clockwise-
Dark chocolate brown- this is the darkest shade so it does a great job of adding definition to outer v area as well as smudging out for smoky looks. Can also be used as liner, wet or dry. this is def a very pretty dark brown.
Bronze Brown- this is a midtone bronze brown shadow. great for crease work or making a brown smoky eye. Its very pretty & def get use out of it. Love using it along lower lash line.
Champagne- this is your highlighting shadow. its a golden champagne shadow. so pretty on the inner 1/3 of lid or tear duct area. def opens up the eyes. Wearable even on my cool complexion. can be a great h/l if you like a more satin finish h/l
Taupe brown- my favorite shadow of them all, its a great mid tone taupey brown with very little purple undertones. I love using this all over the lid by itself for a simple look or incorporating with these or other shadows. It reminds me of a lighter version of their "Backstage" shadow. Very nice lid color
This quad is def great. the colors slightly differ from the older version but the formula is a huge upgrade from before. They are more metallic or satin finish than matte. They do have a shimmer throughout but doesnt show up on the lid. No fillers or chalkiness like before and no fall out that i can detect. An overall must have neutral quad esp being so affordable! i love it and own the older & new version. The Glam Eye formula is amazing to play around with. Love this quad, simple & pretty looks. So many options with this quad!
=PACKAGING=
The quads come in a square hard plastic compact with a see thru window on the front. A step up from the previous packaging. The back is shiny black with labeling/info/ shade name sticker on the front casing. The compact snaps shut/open easily but doesnt feel loose or flimsy. Its sturdy enough where it hasnt broken or cracked. The shadows are triangular shaped and placed so the make a square. I like the triangles but some may hate that the corners make sticking a brush in sometimes difficult but the pans are decent size & run rather deep. you get equal amounts of each shadow. (the trios, theyre diff sizes) I love love love the quilted pattern on each shadow. Makes it look soo pretty that i dont want to mess it up since it dont run the whole way through. & on the bottom shadow, they have pressed their Rimmel Crown logo in the shadow- WOW rimmel sure stepped up with these. I love how pretty they look! simple yet effective packaging. I love how the shadows look!
Overall,

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PrettyDeath on 11/28/2011 3:19:00 PM more reviews by PrettyDeath

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This little quad is quickly becoming my HG eyeshadow. It's a much warmer version of Maybelline's "Mocha Motion" eyeshadow quad. It has a neutral taupe with pink undertones lid color, a darker taupe with more bronze/gold undertones crease color, a red toned dark brown outer crease color, and a ivory brow bone color. All colors have a very satiny finish, and only have a tiny bit of sparkle. The packaging, as with any Rimmel product, is not great. It's an improvement over their last packaging, but still not good. I will be repurchasing, and probably soon at the rate I'm using this little gem.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cchughes on 11/25/2011 7:26:00 PM more reviews by cchughes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

The colors are pretty and neutral, but they are sheer. The beige is almost invisible on me, and when I use my brush on the other colors, I get barely any payoff. Luckily, I got it in a kit with other products that I like.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 VivaViolas on 8/21/2011 4:03:00 PM more reviews by VivaViolas

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I heard they changed the packaging of the Rimmel quads; this review is for the version pictured above. The Smokey Brun quad, made up of brownish shades, was my very first try at eyeshadow. I have light brown eyes and the colors were great for a natural smokey eye. It lasted through a night of heavy dancing and sweat and didn't look smudged at the end of the night. The lasting power is great for daytime wear as well. My only wish is that they were a little more pigmented to create more dramatic looks (I don't currently use primer).

I bought this at Walmart for under $3 and every other month there's a $1 off Rimmel coupon in the paper. If you're looking for a quad to keep in your purse, and for cheap, I would definitely suggest this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 audrn787 on 7/24/2011 8:14:00 PM more reviews by audrn787

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

**This is for the newer packaging for Rimmel's Glam Eyes in 'Smokey Brun', not the older 'Smokey Brun' which seemed to be an older formulation**

Right now, this quad is perfect for me. To give you an idea of my skin tone this summer, I wear Light Tan and/or Medium Beige Neutral foundation from Everyday Minerals. The lid color is a gorgeous shimmery nude that even though it doesnt show up very strong, it is exactly the color i have been looking for my lids. The copper/gold color works great in my crease, and the darkest tone i use in the "V". I usually hardly ever dip into the highlight color in drugstore palettes b/c they are either too frosty white or matte (why a matte for a highlight color anyway???). But this highlight has the slightest golden hue to it, and i use it in the inner corner of my eyes, and a bit on my brow bone. I cant really say how this quad wears or looks without primer- but only because ever since i have discovered the wonder of Urban Decay's Primer Potion a few years ago, i do not bother to put eye shadow on without it. With UDPP, this quad gives me a beautiful amped up natural eye look, with the option of going a bit stronger with more use of the darkest color. I work 8-12 hour shifts and then take care of my two toddlers when i get home, and there are many days when i am washing my face for the night where i look in the mirror and think it's a shame to wash off my eye look! Excellent price for around $5, can be found at local drugstores, Target, etc with potential for BOGO deals. Try it! (and if you dont like it, i'll swap with you!! LOL)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* denns on 3/11/2011 4:43:00 PM more reviews by denns

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Amazing quad! Sounds dumb, I really love being able to use every color in a quad without having to dip into another eyeshadow. With this quad, I love the both the eyelid colors, the highlight, and the crease color.They compliment each other incredibly well. Beautiful light shimmer and gorgeous shades!

I dropped mine pretty soon after I got it, and some chunks fell out my top right color. Still a pretty durable palette, when is all is said and done, I'm just a klutz.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rachcraw on 2/11/2011 5:21:00 AM more reviews by rachcraw

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my every day eyeshadow! I have tried tons of high end eyeshadows, but I always come back to this quad. The colors are perfect for my eye color and skin tone, I'm tempted to stock up on these for fear that it'll be discontinued :P

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Eye Shadow products